We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prodigy Berrini by GJP
Ranked #16 of 327 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was there on a business trip, and it was a great location as our office in Sao Paulo is just one block, great walking distance to avoid terrible Sao Paulo traffic.
The building itself is really cool, modern and all, staff really friendly and restaurants are good, so dos breakfast. Disappointment starts when you leave the elevator heading to your room, there you start to see a less care about comfort and a minimum standards for what a 4 to 5 stars hotel should have, every where you look makes you remind of a 2 star road hotel, cheap roll carpets in the floor, cheap finishing, and when you get to your room... OMG such a waste of space, my room was pretty big but awful in all senses, from the cheap carpet to the horrible even cheaper furnitures, the sofa was so cheap that you could feel the wood from the structure when you seat, the curtains were ild, cheap and full of dust, the bathroom, OMG cheap cheap cheap, the installed this water saving system in old toilets so it really doesn't work you need to flush 5 times.. so where is the saving, the mirror was as cheap as possible.
For me was a total disappointment, there are very over rated for the comfort they delivered, but as a friend said, why they would care to provide something better if they are always full due to the lack of rooms in Sao Paulo hotel chain.. Shame on Blue Tree. Cheap over rated hotel!

Room Tip: as for rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lubonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 857 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Clean and comfortable hotel, covenient for short stays if you work close by. Otherwise, I would not particularly recommand it.
Rooms are large with a separate desk / working area.

Breakfast is standard and food at restaurant not the best in town.

The area is pretty crowded during the day with plenty of lunch places for workers. But there are few nice restaurants at walking distance at night.

Be aware that it is a dead area on Sundays. All restaurants are closed leaving you only with the hotel bar / restaurant, unless you take a cab.

There is a spa service with a small pool and sauna on the roof top. It was crowded by teenage girls for a private party when I wanted to relax there on Sunday ...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler78705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a good hotel if working in the area. Breakfast is a buffet that is good but does not change in variety much from day to day or week to week. There are many reasonable restaurants within walking distance, but for higher quality restaurants one needs transport/taxi. The staff are very helpful and nice. Although I have stayed here for weeks I have never tried the restaurant for lunch or dinner. I do not watch TV but have heard that some feel that the TV sets and programs are not good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC&SBrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here for a conference held at the nearby Hilton. The Blue Tree was much cheaper and I was very comfortable here. It is a 3 block walk to the Berrini train stop which will get you to the metro and into the city. The Pinherios River which runs by the neighborhood and is next to the train smelled revolting--much stronger and worse than any sewage plant I've smelled anywhere else. You literally have to hold your breath or breathe through a shirt. Note that I did not smell the river in my room or in the hotel. The municipal and national governments should address the issue and clean up the river!! It really takes away from an otherwise modern city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank er22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Located at the business center of Sao Paulo. Easy access to most of the fairs and night life.
The bad part is that the restaurants around it closes early compared to others in town.
The food that I ordered was not what I expected having in mind the looks of the restaurant down stairs.
Recomend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisafaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Staff very friendly, good buffet breakfast, good location if you need to be near of Av. Berrini, near of good shopping centers (JK Shopping and Morumbi Shopping), big rooms but with an old decoration, comfortable and clean bed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I was on a business trip in Sao Paulo and my company choosed this hotel because it is close to my office. The standard of the hotel is simple and less than average. I paid around 350 Real plus internet 24 real per day. The breakfast is simple and with less quality. After office working time the area is quite with less people. Walking in the darkness is not suggested and maybe danger because you would be one of the only person on the street.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TommyHK888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Itaim Bibi
Hotel SAO PAULO IGUATEMI BY MELIA
Bom Retiro
Luz Plaza Sao Paulo
Luz Plaza Sao Paulo
#22 of 327 in Sao Paulo
559 reviews
Radisson Blu Sao Paulo
#15 of 327 in Sao Paulo
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 327 in Sao Paulo
3,627 reviews
Itaim Bibi
Blue Tree Premium Faria Lima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prodigy Berrini by GJP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prodigy Berrini by GJP

Address: Rua Quintana 1012, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04569-011, Brazil (Formerly Prodigy Grand Hotel & Suítes Berrini)
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Itaim Bibi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#13 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#24 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: $64 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prodigy Berrini by GJP 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Prodigy Berrini by GJP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tree Towers Berrini Hotel Sao Paulo
Blue Tree Hotel Berrini
Prodigy Berrini By GJP Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing