We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pestana Hotel Sao Paulo”
Review of Pestana Sao Paulo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Sao Paulo
Ranked #165 of 321 Hotels in Sao Paulo
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pestana Hotel Sao Paulo”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is one of the worst Hotels I hve ever stayed in. I went to Brazil for business. The country, Sao Paulo and Rio are amazing and the people great - but this hotel is an exception. The staff were just plain rude - and seemed to work from the french textbook to ignore the guests. Brazil is not short of manpower and there are a lot of people working everywhere - but at the Pestana Hotel Reception would leave me waiting for ages without even acknowledging that I was there - whenever I came back to the hotel in the evening despite a number of porters or door staff hanging around - no-one smiled - no one said good evening, no-one opended the door. The room was damp - the air conditioning did not work. This was like a bad movie - compared to other Pestana Hotels which are usually nice - but the service and the attitude was really poor.

Room Tip: find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Sao Paulo, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Hastings,
Primarily I would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Pestana São Paulo. I am sorry that your experience did not meet completely your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Pestana São Paulo, we strive to provide a superior quality service for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems you mentioned and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that your will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Walter Strub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    326
    199
    72
    47
See reviews for
175
122
49
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
326 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Pestana Hotel is well located, just a few blocks away of Av.Paulista. The zone Jardim Paulista is nice. The hotel is quite old and needs renovation. Rooms are simple but all right. Check In took me 20 minutes with no reason. Price is ok considering how expansível Hotels are In this town.

Room Tip: rooms facing rua tutoia are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tozepinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Sao Paulo, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Google Translation
Prezado,
Aproveitamos a oportunidade de agradecê-lo pelos comentários dos bons momentos vividos em nosso hotel. Prezamos pela excelência no tratamento com hóspedes e futuros clientes e, ficamos felizes por termos correspondido às suas expectativas. Comunicamos a modernização total dos quartos, incluindo melhorias na conexão da Internet (sem custos adicionais), televisores de LCD, entre outras comodidades para melhor acomodação.
Esperamos revê-lo em breve e agradecemos a sua escolha em se hospedar no Pestana São Paulo Hotel.

Cordialmente,

Roberto Magario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel belongs to the Pestana group but it´s not at the same level of quality and comfort.
It smells old! In the apartment everything is old and not working very well.
But the staff is always trying to help you. They´re very polite and this is the good point about this hotel.
I will not be back there.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the 14th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Sao Paulo, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Adriano

First of all thank you for the feedback provided and know that this semester we are carrying out a ambicious remake project in our Sao Paulo hotel including investments of about 1 million reais to reach the same standards that Pestana hotels have around the world as you know well about our chain. We hope to see you back then in august so you can give your opinion again with the apartments renewed and redecorated. But I am very happy on the other hand as you noticed that our service is ok and our cordiality impressed you positively.

Cordially

Henrique Vendramin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sao Paulo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
199 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have stayed in other Pestana Hotels, such as the Covento do Carmo in Salvador, and was used to a certain standard with this hotel chain. The Sao Paulo version tough is a total deception, run down rooms that havnt been fixed in over 10 years. The whole hotel is old, but the rooms is a cathastrophy: My linen had holes, the chair at the desk was dirty all spotted with probably vomit, the telephone didnt work, there is no isolation, you could here everyone passing in front of the room, as it was inside the hotelroom itself. The windows havnt been cleaned in ages, and also the street of the hotel is ugly and has nothing. Overall I cannot recomend this hotel to anyone, the price is totally overrated, its badly managed and needs and urgent overlall renovation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhoenixSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Sao Paulo, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for the information and I would like to tell you that this year we are carrying out a remake project in our hotel including investments of about 1 million reais to reach the same standards that Pestana hotels have around the world. We hope to see you back then in august so you can give your opinion again with the new facilities and decoration.


Cordially

Henrique Vendramin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH-2206 Les Geneveys-sur-Coffrane
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Very good hotel, with a resonable restaurant available and a terrasse for the aperitive on the street. Rooms are well equiped, clean , and quiet. To be recommended for business or family stay. Not especially cheap but Ok for the place and the category

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chasseral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Sao Paulo, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Chasseral

Thanks for choosing Pestana during your visit to Sao Paulo. It was a great pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you back soon.
We are glad you liked our hotel and services and your comments were transmitted to the personnel and will be used in our internal meetings for service improvement.

Thanks very much!

Henrique Vendramin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed in Sao Paulo for 4 days and 3 nights. It was the nicest hotel we stayed in during our visit to Brazil (previously in Rio and then Paraty) The breakfast is amazing with all the choices you could hope for. The staff was very professional and the hotel amenities were clean. The beds were comfortable, the room was big enough for the three of us (but could fit four). I'm glad we treated ourselves to staying here. The location was great as well and we could walk to many of the attractions; Parque Ibirapuera, Avenida Paulista and shopping. I highly recommend this hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharmineh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Sao Paulo, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear LuckyNomad

We are honoured to receive your comments about our hotel facilities and service. We hope to see you back here soon and be looking forward to it.
To achieve your total satisfaction is our main goal and we are very happy to see that we have made it this time.

Thanks for your feedback

Best Regards

Henrique Vendramin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valinhos, SP
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Pestana's hotels are very classy around the world... São Paulo's is not different. People are very kind from the reception frontdesk to the bellboy and so on. Went with my wife and my parents in law (over 80 years old!). All personal were so kind with the elders!
Room were clean, the fabrics great, air conditioning working and with a nice view of São Paulo City. 29 flat TV with some cable channels (not much...)
The breakfast had a lot of fruits of the season, lots of breads and loafs.... scrambled eggs, sausage and everything, you can even get a nice expresso!

at the lounge you can have a very cold draft beer at the Brahma Quiosque open through the day and night!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nicer view of São Paulo parks (Ibirapuera)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarceloValinhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Sao Paulo, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Marcelo

I would like to thank you for your beautiful words about our service and facilities and also for choosing Pestana São Paulo. It was a pleasure for us to have such a beautiful family in our hotel. That is what we try to do all day long, to make guest feel like home and we are happy to know that you and your parents in law felt that too. They will always be welcome here and we from Pestana love to have the whole family together, children, parents and grand parents!

Thank you again for choosing us!

Cordially

Henrique Vendramin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Grand Plaza Sao Paulo Jardins
#65 of 321 in Sao Paulo
449 reviews
Jardins
Estanplaza Paulista
Estanplaza Paulista
#32 of 321 in Sao Paulo
891 reviews
Mercure SP Ginasio Ibirapuera
#153 of 321 in Sao Paulo
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardins
Hampton Park Sao Paulo Jardins
Hampton Park Sao Paulo Jardins
#163 of 321 in Sao Paulo
370 reviews
Bela Vista
Paulista Wall Street Suites
Paulista Wall Street Suites
#79 of 321 in Sao Paulo
505 reviews
Jardins
Golden Tulip Sao Paulo Jardins
Golden Tulip Sao Paulo Jardins
#108 of 321 in Sao Paulo
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Sao Paulo

Property: Pestana Sao Paulo
Address: Rua Tutoia 77 | Jardim Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04007-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#118 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana Sao Paulo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Sao Paulo Hotel Sao Paulo
Pestana Hotel Sao Paulo
Pestana Sao Paulo Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing