We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont book at this Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo
Ranked #10 of 324 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dont book at this Hotel!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We made a reservation to stay at this hotel.
My brother checked in on 27 December and discovered that your pool is under construction. The hotel agreed to move them over to the Renaissance Hotel on the same terms their booking was made under.
They asked the staff of Tivoli to arrange the same for myself.

Upon my arrival on the 28th, we found out that your staff never made my reservation.
This caused us to do the booking via the internet. Your staff assured me it will be the same booking terms as at Tivoli hotel. Now I encountered a few problems:

• My brother is paying a much lower rate at this hotel as I am.
• The rate I am paying is also much higher than what I would have paid at your hotel.
• My wi-fi is not included.
• I did not receive a R$ 100 voucher from your hotel as promised

This whole issue has been very inconvenient for all of us! We had no issue using your hotel if you complied with your advertised facilities and standards.

I wrote an email to the hotel manager, and they just don't respond!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TivoliHotelsResorts, Gerente geral at Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Mr. Louw,


Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Tivoli Sao Paulo - Mofarrej and I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

In regards to the swimming pool’s unavailability we apologize for not having informed you of the pending New Year’s Eve preparations. Recognizing that fact we wanted to assist as much as possible to ensure that the rest of your experience in São Paulo would be a memorable one. The actions taken, were to make you a reservation in an alternative hotel and provide transportation to that hotel. When your brother arrived later equally upset about the swimming pool’s unavailability, we offered all the same services that were offered to you. When offered though it was declined and he made his reservation directly with the hotel. The fact that he made the reservation directly through the hotel meant we had no influence with the rate and cannot be responsible, because of the fact that it was not made through our staff and channels.


Nevertheless, we do apologize for all the inconvenience encountered and we appreciate the time you took to share your concerns.

To further understand your thoughts upon the experience, I will contact you directly by email.


Sincerely,
Renaud Pfeifer
General Manager Tivoli Sao Paulo – Mofarrej
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    482
    154
    47
    37
See reviews for
155
398
69
890
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

I can say that this hotel has one of the worst internet connections I've ever seen in Latin America. They charge you around 20 dollars per day and you can barely access to your email. No way to access videos and even less trying to use skype. Perhaps it is a good hotel bacause of its architecture and the location but prepare to not having any internet connection.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JuanIsaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great business hotel, stayed here for an event -with a lovely pool and gym.
Rooms are huge and clean, staff very friendly.
Hotel food is good but with a variety of some great restaurants nearby.
Rooms are expensive

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SG-092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

At first glance, this is an awesome Hotel, the lobby grand and classy, service so personal, helpful and ‎warm, and all together an initial awesome welcome experience. The hotel has lots of things going for ‎it, great location, fantastic English speaking staff, looks and feels like an international 5 star, sumptuous ‎breakfast, the restaurant, common areas, rooms, bed, cushions, towels, everything totally amazing. ‎This is by far, the best bed I have slept in any hotel in Brazil, saying this after sleeping 7 months straight ‎in Brazilian Hotels. The room, large, comfortable, big shower, simply divine, plenty of cupboard space, ‎total indulgence in luxury (Collection class Room). Truthfully, when you enter the hotel initially, you are ‎like, wow, this is the real deal, a real 5 star.‎

However, the Hotel losses lots of points on small stupid things, they could easily be the absolute best, ‎but instead lose it on petty matters, which with time changes the whole outlook, and this is such a ‎shame, since I really liked this Hotel. ‎

When you start being petty about little things that a normal 5 star Hotel includes, that’s when you start ‎pissing people off, things like, charging for Internet $15 USD per day or pouncing on you after ‎breakfast, for you to sign for a $60 price tag per couple, which you were not initially made aware of, ‎since apparently, breakfast is not included for all rooms. They also have other ways of penalising you ‎with various charges, like charging for the gym facilities, this also gets peoples back up. Generally ‎speaking, in a hotel-not a hostel-all facilities and services are included besides food and beverages ‎‎(besides breakfast which is included as a standard). It’s petty, short-sightedness and all these so called ‎‎“extra’s” should be included in the room price even on the basic room price of $400-$500 dollars per ‎night, not to mention the more expensive rooms of $600-$700 pn, whereas it’s really a cheek to ask for ‎extra’s!‎

They try and cut corners where they can, so, you have a stunning room, but the air con, does not allow ‎you to go below 21 degrees, truth is, during the day, it never reaches as low as 21, so, you are in a ‎room of 25-26 degrees and no matter how long you have it on, it will not get cooler. Two teams ‎checked the air con and said it’s fine, it’s “just” limited to 21 degrees. A typical Pousada trick to keep ‎costs low, but, these guys need to get out of the Pousada mentality, if they are charging $400 and ‎southward for the most basic room.‎

Another cheeky way of cutting costs is the room service, you pay $50-$70 USD for a main meal from an ‎uninspiring short menu (which often became even shorter, as they constantly didn’t have various ‎dishes available.) I invite you to look at the pics I attached and see for yourself if you have ever seen ‎such a tiny Club Sandwich or any of the other stingy main dishes. Basically, they hit you twice, the room ‎services prices are restaurant prices, but at the same time, the portions are tiny. Leaving your guest ‎hungry, on top of those aggressive food prices, is a sure way to alienate them.‎

Another example, of cutting corners, whilst the room and bathroom are stunning, they had a real ‎cheap looking, wobbly toilet installed, looks like such a dodgy job, that it has been fixed crooked, the ‎whole thing is lopsided. Maybe that’s why they need to constantly maintain it, with the water never ‎flushing adequately, even after un-blocking, looks like a really lousy plumbing job. I suspect that the ‎water in the sink that took 30 minutes to go down is somehow connected to the poor plumbing ‎system too.‎

The problem is, that the prices are already sky high, so, they feel uncomfortable to make it ‎even ‎higher to include the basic things, so, they make it look like the prices are lower, then ‎they basically ‎penalise you for anything you do. Truth is, when you make your guest feel like crap, they will ‎not come ‎back, when you are petty and charge all kind of extra fees, yes, they will pay, “once” they will never ‎come back. Hence the poor rating too, even though it is such a stunning Hotel.‎

I hope someone in the management is reading the sign on the ‎wall, since this Hotel has the potential ‎to be nothing less than awesome.‎

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hidden01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

They have different levels of rooms, some are not very good or clean. I wouldn't recommend taking your shoes off in the one I am in right now.

The wifi does not work in the corner rooms.

Had to ask for a kettle to make coffee in the room, they charge to include coffee and tea when/if they bring it.

Employees seem to be indifferent to guests' needs with some language problems.

There are much better hotels with better service within walking distance-Recommend The Intercontinental.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Bulent I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very clean and nice rooms. Good location in nice neighborhood. Elevator a little noisy in 1113 next to elevators. Internet worked well in this room. Internet did not work well in room 705.
No complimentary in room coffee and no tea kettle in room. A/C worked well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank london412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was here on business. Location is great, and as expected the staff was very warm and helpful. For the very high price of this hotel, internet was not included (and cost $40+ for three days), and you have to pay 15 reals to use the gym. Crazy. When I'm traveling for business, I need a hotel that is going to make my stay easy. In addition, the elevators are extremely loud and I could hear them easily from my room. Yes, the room was the size of a small apartment, which just isn't important to me. I would not recommend this hotel unless one wants to stay here simply because of the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 324 in Sao Paulo
1,567 reviews
Bela Vista
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
#8 of 324 in Sao Paulo
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bela Vista
Maksoud Plaza
Maksoud Plaza
#35 of 324 in Sao Paulo
2,177 reviews
Jardins
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#1 of 324 in Sao Paulo
471 reviews
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 324 in Sao Paulo
3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo

Property: Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo
Address: Alameda Santos 1437 | Cerqueira César, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01419-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#18 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#26 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to São Paulo - the economic and cultural capital of South America, its largets city and home to over 70 nationalities. Vibrant, diverse and utterly fascinating. In the exclusive Jardins neighbourhood, minutes away from the acclaimed São Paulo Museum of Art Assis Chateaubriand, the luxurious Tivoli Mofarrej São Paulo Hotel is an urban oasis. With its soaring lobby, stunning pool and frequent showcasing of contemporary artists, the hotel attracts celebrities, heads of state and royalty alike. Among the wide range of rooms, discover the one that suits you best. Inspire your taste buds with our indulgent cuisine: the lively Bistrô or the poolside Narã lounge. Take advantage of our world-class Conference and Events Centre with its 7 meeting rooms, renowned for hosting seamless meetings and one of a kind weddings alike. Once the working day is done, unlock the secrets of the city with our Experience Teams, shop till you drop in the stunning JK Iguatemi luxury shopping mall, or unwind by the hotel pool and semi-tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Sao Paulo Mofarrej Hotel Sao Paulo
Tivoli Hotel Sao Paulo
Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing