We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a short break”
Review of Melia Ibirapuera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Ibirapuera
Ranked #107 of 325 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Tunbridge Wells
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for a short break”
Reviewed January 26, 2009

A newer hotel in downtown Sao Paulo. The staff at reception all speak good English and are most friendly. Not much of interest in the immediate vicinity but taxis are reasonable. Best to be on your guard if venturing out after dark. If using a cash point/ATM there is a Citibank just a block away which will accept Visa and Mastercard, unlike the bank across the street from the Hotel which only accepts local cards. My friendly cab driver told me to only use the ATM during daylight hours. My suite was massive and immaculate, but although a coffee percolator was provided you need to supply your own coffee, tea, milk and sugar. No big deal but a little annoying on your first morning. The bar was okay but not much character. I only used the restauarant once : tried their lunch, which was an overpriced, disappointing and very bland vegetarian buffet. However room service was excellent and the food well prepared (the Rump Steak is delicious) but not a great selection.

  • Liked — Clean rooms. Friendly staff.
  • Disliked — No in room tea/coffe making facility in room-unless you provide it yourself.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank johnbursby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    333
    194
    51
    53
See reviews for
151
171
48
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

This hotel looks very good from the outside (and the inside of the lobby). The rooms don'rt quite live up to the external image. Then you notice a nice basket on the bed with some bathroom products and a dressing gown and some slipppers.but in truth these are what you normally get inside the wardrobe and bathroom. Could not get the wireless internet connection which always annoys me but the staff were good and spoke english well. The breakfast was good and not disguised or faked in any way (looked good and was good). I hear from my collegues who live in sao paulo that his is the place to be for restaurants and safety ( i also here this from other visitors who i know). price was good. overall OK but not quite what it appears

  • Liked — location and breakfast (and in hindsight value)
  • Disliked — fooled by the appearance from the lobby
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricksterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

In what is an understatement, Sao Paulo is a huge city. There are so many restaurants to dine at and museums to see. However, Sao Paulo is primarily a business hub in South America and the Sonesta fits for business users.

I stayed at this hotel for two nights. I was in Sao Paulo for pleasure and I just wanted to see the city. The hotel was in a great area - there were plenty of restuarnts, boutiques, a large shopping mall, and was about 25 minutes by foot to Ibirapuera Park. We stayed in an executive suite, which was nice. It had a lot of area, an open desk, a large closet, bathroom, and bed. The room was clean and we had a safe. The bed was not as comfortable as I hoped, but we managed. There was rooftop observatory at the Sonesta and you could get a glimpse of the hundres of buildings in Sao Paulo. Everybody at the hotel was friendly and most spoke English. There was a grocery store close by and about 10 banks / ATMs within a 5 minute radius walk of the hotel. The food is okay, but there are a lot of restaurants to enjoy in the surrounding area. Without traffic, it is about 50 minutes from the GRU airport. We spent over two hours in traffic getting to the hotel, but if you have ever been to Sao Paulo, you will understand.

It is hard to recommend this hotel if you are looking for a certain attraction to be near. Traffic makes everything in the city hard to do. I will say I was near some of the sites you see in tour guide books. My favorite restaurant of the whole trip, the Sky at Hotel Unique, was about 10 minutes by cab, which in Sao Paulo, is nothing.

  • Liked — The location was good for what we were doing. The service is great and everybody was friendly.
  • Disliked — The bed was the only real downfall, however, it was still relatively comfortable.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

I first located Sonesta hotel through trip advisor. I booked it through my agent and im currently here.
I just wanted to say that for the money I paid, this hotel gave me 110% back.
Its in a very nice location close ( as in right the corner close) to more than 20 restaurants and bars. It is also close to Ibuirapuera Mall which is huge 3 level mall.
The rooms are large and comfortable, the service is very good and there is always someone on the front desk who speaks english which makes things better and easier.
The staff is very friendly and eager to help. The rate they offer includes a delicious breakfast buffet that is really good and satisfies all tastes.
The hotel is never out of taxies since they seem to be contracting with many cabs as the cab drivers have thier business cards on the back of the hotel card.
It is in a very nice nabourhood and close to the park, even though the park is not really great but worth a visit.
There are independant stores close to the hotel within 10 min. walking distance which makes the stay really nice.
I really enjoyed this trip and would come to the same hotel if I pass this way again.

  • Liked — The rooms are large and always clean. the location is in a safe and interisting naibourhood
  • Disliked — Sao Paulo is not very interisting.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Reem74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

I have been on this hotel twice both times for attending business events. It is good, generally speaking. Try to book a renovated room, though. Regular rooms (see pictures) are small and wornout. Before unpacking, use your nose and check out if the room assigned to you is really a no smoking one. Any particular great view: it is just downtown buildings before you.

Breakfast buffet is really good and hotel facilities are pretty modern and well-done. Internet is free but you need to bring your own network cable. Service is OK, but they make some basic mistakes because staff is young/green in average. Location is good for business: heart of Sao Paulo. Very nice restaurants from half block distance.

  • Liked — Iron and Iron table available
  • Disliked — Size and general aspect (too worn out)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PMTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2008

We stayed at the Sonesta for four days prior to a cruise. The hotel is located in the Moema district, a nice area near good shopping and a 15 minute walk to the main Park. There are good restaurants near the hotel and we felt comfortable walking around at night.

The hotel staff was friendly and they were helpful in giving us directions when needed. Rooms were clean and nicely appointed. Although the Sonesta seemed to be primarily a business hotel, there were always some english speaking tourist present during our stay. There is also an excellent night club (Bourbon Street) about 1 mile from the hotel.

I would definitely recommend the Sonesta and would have no problem staying there in the future. Room rates were good too.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, nice area, clean
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fruebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2006

Located in the trendy Moema area near restaurants, shopping, and entertainment, the 4-Star Sonesta Hotel offers excellent accommodation, service and value. Accommodations are spacious and include a desk, minibar, cable TV and more; some offer Jacuzzi tubs and other upgrades. Guests will enjoy dining in the Tabu Restaurant where the complimentary breakfast is served. For a bit of diversion guests can enjoy the pool, health club and spa. Complimentary in-room Internet, business center, and meeting room make it the prefect business destination. Check for special promotions, especially on the weekends

Helpful?
3 Thank sanscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
HB Hotels Ninety
HB Hotels Ninety
#155 of 325 in Sao Paulo
530 reviews
Itaim Bibi
Blue Tree Premium Faria Lima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Jardim Europa
#30 of 325 in Sao Paulo
959 reviews
Bela Vista
Intercity The Universe Paulista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Ibirapuera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Ibirapuera

Property: Melia Ibirapuera
Address: Avenida Ibirapuera, 2534 | Moema, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04028-002, Brazil (Formerly Park Inn Ibirapuera by Radisson)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 325 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Ibirapuera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Melia Ibirapuera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn Ibirapuera By Radisson Hotel Sao Paulo
Sonesta Hotel Sao Paulo
Sonesta Sao Paulo
Melia Ibirapuera Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing