We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless chic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
Ranked #8 of 322 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spotless chic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed week at the porto Bay while on business trip to Sao Paulo.
This hotel is a delight.
Decorated in an old fashion british chic yet in perfect state, everything is cream, plush, calm and homy right in the middle of Jardim, one of the most fancy and cosmopolite part of the city.
Staff were helpful and discreet, rooms if not big, are well made and with all amenities.
Breakfast is very good and with plenty of choices. The spa/gym area is not big either but clean and modern.
The hotel helped make my stay an easy one!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palmiterro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    203
    56
    15
    8
See reviews for
109
371
64
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
1,055 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 709 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Being a guest at L'Hotel has ever been a dream for me. Friends that had stayed there enjoyed the experience. Now, under Porto Bay's flag, it's even better, I bet. Located right at the heart of São Paulo's financial and business area, it couldn't be more conveniently placed. Near everything and everywhere! It's chic, sophisticated and, at the same time, simple and cozy. Delicious breakfast at the best Brazilian buffet breakfast tradition. Complimentary WiFi will simplify your day and speed up your business. Friendly and helpful front desk personnel will spoil you with their kindness. And, finally, don't miss L'Hotel spa. Competent masseurs will bring you back to shape after a stressing day of work at Brazil's biggest metropole. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms at higher floors are always nicer and may provide a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuizDutraNeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I spent 5 days with my husband and one-year-old daughter. Service is outstanding. Although being known more as a business hotel, it's a place where staff treats you very warmly. It's located close to main São Paulo attractions and close to subway if you need to go farther. I'd like to send a special thank you to Robson and Tassiana (restaurant).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vantelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 15th wedding anniversay at L'Hotel and we lovedit! All the staff is very kind and efficient. We booked a special package of celebration that includes dinner and breakfast. It was perfect. I do recommend this hotel for a romantic celebration!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I spent 3 weeks in November 2012 and last two weeks in June 2013 and I have been always very satisfied. Their staff is numerous, kind and very efficient. Excellent service, very good breakfast (included in the price of the room).
Point to improve: some details in the bathroom ("robinetterie" that can be improved in some of the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pascal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I spent one night here at the end of a 2 week business trip where I had stayed at 3 other hotels in 3 different cities, so when I arrived at the L'Hotel Porto Bay it felt like a place I could finally relax before flying back to San Francisco the following night. I had also been recovering from a cold/cough that week, so I was quite happy to spend time in my hotel and rest. I had heard about having to take various security measures when walking around Sao Paolo, and I did not have the energy to be so guarded about my personal safety.

One comment that I wanted to share with the general manager: as a female traveler I am not comfortable when the receptionist announces my hotel room number out loud when they give me my room key. I understand that they have very good security at this property; however, I feel safer when my room number is written on the room key jacket and I am able to read it for myself. The same with restaurant staff that request my room number when I charge my meals to my room - I prefer to write my room number than announce it out loud in a public place.

The food and service at the restaurants were very good. The breakfast buffet is excellent. I used the spa in the evening (hot tubs/sauna) and had a shiatsu massage in the late afternoon before having to catch my flight. After staying in hotels for two weeks that did not have gyms, it felt luxurious to use their spa facility and have it all to myself.

I've heard that this part of Sao Paolo is really nice; however, I was at the property for less than 24 hours and did not have any time (or energy) to explore the area. I enjoyed my stay at the L'Hotel Porto Bay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel in the morning but could check in early which was much appreciated. The room was comfortable and service outstanding. The desk provided great advice about transportation, local attractions and museums. The staff at the front desk spoke English and some were very fluent which had not been the case at hotels in the four other cities we stayed at in Brazil. Everyone seemed dedicated to making our stay a pleasant one. The breakfast was delicious with many choices. We also had a late lunch at the restaurant which was excellent. The food was prepared well and attractively presented. The hotel has a small pool which we used once. It is more for relaxing than swimming. The Internet worked and was included for no extra charge. We loved this hotel!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 613Traveler613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Jardins
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#1 of 322 in Sao Paulo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardins
Tivoli Sao Paulo - Mofarrej
Tivoli Sao Paulo - Mofarrej
#11 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Jardins
Hotel Fasano Sao Paulo
Hotel Fasano Sao Paulo
#2 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo

Property: L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
Address: Alameda Campinas 266 | Jardim Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01404-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Bela Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#6 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#8 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#10 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosmopolitan city of São Paulo, the financial capital of Latin America, is the setting for the five star L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo. Situated on Alameda Campinas, 50 metres away from the corner of Avenida Paulista, and close to the best restaurants, bars, museums and stores selling the most emblematic brands in the world, L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers a central location without the bustle of the main avenue. Designed in a European style, the sophistication of this boutique hotel is perfectly complemented by high standards of service and comfort. Particular care has been taken with the quality of products and materials used in the hotel. Single pieces of Art can also be found, for example the presence of a Flemish tapestry woven in Brussels in the second half of the XVIth century bought at a Christie's auction in London. This 84 room boutique hotel has a restaurant, SPA, indoor pool, gym and offers a very personalised standard of service. Special occasions, weddings, shopping, art and culture... Special, personalised events designed to meets its guests' requirements. L'Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing