We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel, but a tad expensive ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
Ranked #8 of 325 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Montpellier, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel, but a tad expensive ...”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed at Porto Bay in Sao Paulo for about 10 days, enjoyed the staff, the breakfast and the ideal location (few meters from Paulista)

Room is luxurious and hotel is in great standing. Airconditioning works very well , and can be turned on/off at will with provided remote control (why not all hotels are like this one !)

Receptionists speak English, Spanish and Portuguese of course.

Room Tip: "Pair" (stayed in 32) rooms look north so are colder and see no sun through windows. On th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuigiL77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rúben L, General Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at L’Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo. It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and approved of our service. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon. Yours faithfully, Rúben Leme – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    214
    60
    19
    8
See reviews for
118
395
66
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I spent one night at this hotel to celebrate my birthday. Not a very spoken of hotel among paulistas but a very nice surprise. A sum of different nice little touches by the staff and the facilities - havainas on the room for the the three of us (myself, my wife and our daugther), a basket of fruit and chocolates, good food at the restaurant, a nice (but not fancy) spa area and very friendly staff. Good location and a quieter part of teh busy Paulista.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southtraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rúben L, General Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review regarding your stay at L'Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo. It is good to see that your enjoyed our staff, facilities and location. Being next to Paulista Avenue is a really nice opportunity to know the best of Sao Paulo, in a cozy and elegant atmosphere. We are glad you enjoyed your birthday in our hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, Rúben Leme – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Really friendly and welcoming staff. Reception and concierge and outside door staff all fantastic fellas. A bit 80's in decor but a nod to being grand. Kinda hidden away just off Avenida Paulista which I found an advantage. Very comfortable beds. Broad selection at breakfast, perhaps smaller range but more quantity of each item would help any disappointment of buffet. Eggs benedict were superb every time. Evening drinks in the bar can be quite a solitary experience with very little atmosphere. As a music professional, I'd say that some background music could help here. Prices optimistic too. Staff in gym/jacuzzi/sauna could be more attentive. Overall feeling is very relaxed and quickly establishes itself as 'home'. Great base to work from. Recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rúben L, Gerente geral at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review and comments about the L´Hotel Porto Bay´s team. Our location is definitely a great attribute and this is a major factor when you are choosing a hotel in Sao Paulo. We already made some improvements at the spa area and also modified the song selection to provide a delightful experience. I look forward to welcoming you back in a near future. Your faithfully, Rúben Leme – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Good business Hotel with excellent location. Room nice and clean. Good Restaurant with excellent service. Small limited Gym. Good choice for business travel. Bathroom space very tide but is ok for a single traveler.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rtrujillo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rúben L, General Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay at the L´Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo. Our guest's opinion is always important for our improvement. It is good to see that your enjoyed your business travel with us. We look forward to welcome you back again. Your sincerely, Rúben Leme – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here and had a lovely stay. The hotel is great for business travellers, good location and friendly staff. Rooms are a good size with complementary WIFI. Beds are comfortable however pillows could be softer as I do not care for feather. The buffet breakfast had a good selection and they also offered dishes a la carte and wait staff would come around offering items as well. The rooftop pool are was small but had 2 loungers and couch and the water was always warm, spa also nice and clean. We had 1 dinner in the hotel which was also good. Overall a nice, quiet hotel for both business and pleasure travel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rúben L, General Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your experience at L’Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and to make it even more enjoyable we are in process to create a Pillows Menu in order to cover all our guest's preferences. We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future. Yours faithfully, Rúben Leme – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Overall this is a very pleasant, top class hotel, nicely located near Paulista Avenue.
It has many good points and a few minor ones.
The beds are the main feature. Wonderfully big and top class linen. A real heaven to sleep in. The cleaning staff deserves an accolade. They do an excellent job.
The people at the reception are very friendly and always willing to help. Especially Alexandre is great. He is friendly, quick, attentive and very knowledgeable. The guy is simply a gem for every hotel.
The rooms are nicely decorated, the bathrooms are fine (good shower) and the turn down service is attentive.
Breakkfast service is fine. Good fooda and fruit. Although it is nice a waiter is going round with coffee and milk, I rather have it on the table.
Some minor points: There is no guest directory in the room which is confusing. Only a room service menu. And the food I had was not so great. But there are plenty of good restaurants nearby.
The (rather slow) elevator smells as if it has drowned in soap which is bit too much. If you’d ask me if I would cone again, I wouldn’t hesitate to do so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gomp001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rúben L, General Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
I would like to thank for your kind detailed review about your stay at L'Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo, this is really important information for our improvement. We are glad that you enjoyed our service, location and staff, and I will pass along your complement to Alexandre. I apologize for the inconvenience you had with our room service, we are working on a new directory for the rooms, which will make our facilities more clear. We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future. Yours sincerely, Rúben Leme – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I must admit, I had to double check the hotel name when I logged in to write this review. I have never seen such a discrepancy between my personal view and that of the Trip Advisor community. This hotel is - for the price - probably the worst deal I have ever had. We paid around $450 to stay there. We had to climb the stairs to get to our room as the elevator had problems. The hotel itself is on the old side, a bit run down and all in all nothing like the pictures on the website. Service is sub-par. The receptionist were neither polite nor efficient.

I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemies.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelfiend_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I apologize for the inconvenience you had during an outage on our neighborhood. Fortunately our electric generator comprises most of the lighting and immediately turned on. In just 10 minutes we were able to reactive the elevator, offering safely transport to the floors. Please do not hesitate to contact me at the email jorgecastelo@portobay.com.br to give us an opportunity to make a fair deal. Yours sincerely, Jorge Castelo - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo
Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo
#10 of 325 in Sao Paulo
1,670 reviews
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 325 in Sao Paulo
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bela Vista
Maksoud Plaza
Maksoud Plaza
#33 of 325 in Sao Paulo
2,185 reviews
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 325 in Sao Paulo
3,291 reviews
Jardins
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#1 of 325 in Sao Paulo
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo

Property: L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
Address: Alameda Campinas 266 | Jardim Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01404-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Bela Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#8 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#10 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosmopolitan city of São Paulo, the financial capital of Latin America, is the setting for the five star L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo. Situated on Alameda Campinas, 50 metres away from the corner of Avenida Paulista, and close to the best restaurants, bars, museums and stores selling the most emblematic brands in the world, L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers a central location without the bustle of the main avenue. Designed in a European style, the sophistication of this boutique hotel is perfectly complemented by high standards of service and comfort. Particular care has been taken with the quality of products and materials used in the hotel. Single pieces of Art can also be found, for example the presence of a Flemish tapestry woven in Brussels in the second half of the XVIth century bought at a Christie's auction in London. This 84 room boutique hotel has a restaurant, SPA, indoor pool, gym and offers a very personalised standard of service. Special occasions, weddings, shopping, art and culture... Special, personalised events designed to meets its guests' requirements. L'Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing