We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is all you will need in São Paulo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
Ranked #9 of 321 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This is all you will need in São Paulo”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Being São Paulo a city oriented towards business, there are several options for Hotels here. The 5 star hotels, however, are all on the expensive side, especially on week days. Being a carioca myself, I had my share of São Paulo business trips and found at L'Hotel the best option. Attentive and professional service, nice rooms, a very good breakfast and a decent restaurant. All of this for a fair price (which is more than I can say for other 5 star hotels in São Paulo). Central location is perfect for business and they have good promotions if you wish to spend the weekend (São Paulo, with its restaurants and museums, is a good place to be for tourism as well, especially on weekends or holydays when you don't have the annoying traffic and everything is less crowded).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBerba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCastelo, General Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is true that Sao Paulo became a great option for weekends and holidays, and with our location, half block from Paulista Avenue, we are sure every guest will have easy and comfortable access to the best sites in the city. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Your sincerely, Jorge Castelo – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    212
    59
    18
    8
See reviews for
113
385
66
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

It's very difficult to find a decent and affordable hotel in Sao Paulo. I was on a business trip and this hotel has exceeded my expectations. The staff were very good, service was great and the hotel restaurant was good too. There is only one disappointment though - the bathroom toilet does not flush properly and the shower tub, the drainage wasn't so good. But overall, it was a good experience. I will stay there again if the price is right.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieMay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCastelo, General Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at L’Hotel Porto Bay. I apologize for the inconvenience you had at the bathroom, we are taking actions immediately to solve this issue. We are glad that you enjoyed our staff and service. If you need further assistance, do not hesitate to contact me at jorgecastelo@portobay.com.br. Yours sincerely, Jorge Castelo – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 days for R&R following a business trip (at another hotel in the city). I would recommend this hotel based purely on the high quality of service. From the front desk to the restaurant, every member of the staff was courteous and extremely helpful. In 20 years of travel have never encountered a better hotel staff.
The hotel is quiet nice for the price... a clean room with tile bath and oversize rainshower head, and a comfortable bed. The spa while compact has most everything necessary for exercise and relaxation including a small wading pool and hot tubs. the fitness center was just updated with 2 treadmills and a bike. As for the restaurant, the breakfast was excellent.
The location is ideal, half a block off Paulista ave. and near a metro stop. There's also a very nice cafe around the corner with a wide selection of fresh pastries.

Room Tip: Am a light sleeper so typically prefer offstreet rooms. My room was particularly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globalsurferSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We are so glad with your kind comment regarding our hotel and staff. As you noticed, we are improving our fitness center, and until the end of July, everything will be done. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, Jorge Castelo - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed here for one night during a business trip and can only echo the other reviews: very friendly staff, great breakfast, excellent beds.My room was very reasonably spacious, everything is well maintained even though nothing appears to have been modernized in a quite a while.

My fellow female travellers will appreciate: a really good hairdryer, good make-up mirror and uni-sex toiletries.

Over the past years I have failed to come up with better alternatives in Sao Paulo (excluding the two very high-end hotels) so might stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueDolphinBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review regarding our hotel, especially those items which will be good for female travelers. If you have any suggestion, do not hesitate to contact me by the email jorgecastelo@portobay.com.br. We hope to see you soon. Yours sincerely, Jorge Castelo - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights after a long business trip, treating myself to an airmiles upgrade on my usual 3/4 Star accomodation. Frankly I came away disappointed.

THE GOOD:
- One of the most comfortable beds I have slept in in a long time - I wish I could have walked away with the wonderful cotton sheets!
- Powerful shower (but see below)
- Fancy lobby
- Bread rolls at breakfast were outstanding, as were the proper (not mush) scrambled eggs

THE LESS GOOD:
- There seemed to be a problem with maintenance. I expected better in a 5-Star
- My television didn't work. After 30 minutes of trying, late into my first night, I asked them to give up. Hotel offered a change of room but frankly by then I had unpacked and just needed to sleep
- The shower was wonderfully powerful, but the drains weren't up to it and the bathroom floor flooded

- Poor room design for a business trip
- Small desk
- No power socket at desk
- one of those annoying wifi networks that you have to keep logging on to via a web browser (fine on a desktop, but irritating on an iPhone)

- Seemed nearly empty
I can't really blame the hotel for this at a weekend, but given the previous comments about work facilities it didn't seem as if the hotel was set up for business guests either. I never saw anybody using the bar or common areas.

Room Tip: Room 14 misses a view, but is one of only 3 that has an outside terrrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeBee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
I would like to thank for your detailed review, this is really important information for our improvement. Unfortunately we are not having positive answer from the cable television company, so we are looking to change it. Also, you have stayed in one of our six new guest rooms, and your topics will be considered. If you come back to Sao Paulo, please do not hesitate to contact me by the email jorgecastelo@portobay.com.br, I can guarantee your stay will be much more pleasant than the last one. Yours sincerely, Jorge Castelo - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
381 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed in the hotel over a long weekend on my way to business elsewhere in Brazil. Porto Bay is a very nice upscale hotel with all the usual high level amenities. Staff was very attentive to our needs and very, very friendly. The reception desk people spoke excellent English and the rest of the staff could get by. Since the hotel was not full, they let us check in upon arrival in the early morning which was great after the overnight flight. Shortly after arriving we received a complimentary tray of fruit and chocolates which was a nice touch.We stayed in one of the small suites which was formerly two single rooms. The bathrooms were small but having His & Her bathrooms more than made up for that! Rooms are very comfortable, hotel is impressively elegant and it is obvious that they are much experienced in catering to those travelers who expect the best. The only complaint we had at all was that the wireless connection was extremely poor with disconnections every few minutes. Porto Bay is not inexpensive but I would have no hesitation at all to stay there again or recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review regarding your stay with us. It is good to see that your enjoyed our staff and amenities. I apologize for the inconvenience you had with our internet connection, it was caused by some inconstancy but with some improvement we had this month, our free internet connection is working much better. We look forward to welcome you back again. Yours sincerely, Jorge Castelo - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed here at the end of May 2012 and overall the experience was fine though the price is expensive by non-Brazilian standards. The location is great for access to Avenida Paulista and for getting pretty much anywhere in metropolitan Sao Paulo.

The staff were very friendly and helpful though the housekeeping was a little inconsistent - shampoos and soaps were often not replaced with new.

The rooms are not really to my taste as I like modern clean design but the private patio attached to my room on the 1st floor was a great addition.

The hotel provides free wifi but it was so slow that it wasn't really a benefit. I also would have liked some coffee making facilities in the room but these weren't made available.

My major gripe was that the hotel do not provide any ironing facilities for guests to use. Given the hotel is used by business people I feel that this is unfair as the only choice you have is to use the hotel's pressing/laundry service, which is expensive and slow. Express service costs 100% more than the standard service and only gets your pressed shirts back by 8pm the same day, though they did manage to iron a shirt for me in 60 minutes when I phoned them panicking. The standard service is almost a 36 hour turnaround so you are pretty much stuck with the express service.

Breakfast is good and the bar was well stocked and well managed though dead on the 2 times i ventured in.

If you don't need to use an iron or want to have coffee in your room then the review would be a 4 out of 5 but for my needs these things are important hence the 3 out of 5 rating.

Room Tip: Choose one on the 1st floor and request a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timothymarkwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
I would like to thank you for your review and for complimenting our staff. I apologize for the inconvenience you had, but we took your suggestion and since July we have ironing facilities available to our guests, free of charge. If you have any other suggestion, I kindly ask you to get in touch with me by the email jorgecastelo@portobay.com.br, it will be really important to our improvement. Yours sincerely, Jorge Castelo - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Jardins
Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo
Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo
#10 of 321 in Sao Paulo
1,620 reviews
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 321 in Sao Paulo
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bela Vista
Maksoud Plaza
Maksoud Plaza
#41 of 321 in Sao Paulo
1,994 reviews
Jardins
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#1 of 321 in Sao Paulo
451 reviews
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 321 in Sao Paulo
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo

Property: L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
Address: Alameda Campinas 266 | Jardim Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01404-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Bela Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#8 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#10 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosmopolitan city of São Paulo, the financial capital of Latin America, is the setting for the five star L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo. Situated on Alameda Campinas, 50 metres away from the corner of Avenida Paulista, and close to the best restaurants, bars, museums and stores selling the most emblematic brands in the world, L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers a central location without the bustle of the main avenue. Designed in a European style, the sophistication of this boutique hotel is perfectly complemented by high standards of service and comfort. Particular care has been taken with the quality of products and materials used in the hotel. Single pieces of Art can also be found, for example the presence of a Flemish tapestry woven in Brussels in the second half of the XVIth century bought at a Christie's auction in London. This 84 room boutique hotel has a restaurant, SPA, indoor pool, gym and offers a very personalised standard of service. Special occasions, weddings, shopping, art and culture... Special, personalised events designed to meets its guests' requirements. L'Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing