We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
Ranked #9 of 321 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent business hotel”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights at the end of our holiday with friends. Good place, decent value for money. With 69 pretty identical rooms and a nicely furnished but relatively "old" look, I would type this a business hotel rather than a boutique hotel.
Excellent service at the front desk, continuing to treat you as a valued guest even after you have checked out.
Good room service, very good breakfast, nice gym and spa (although the pool was out of order without any idea when it would be available again). The beds in the rooms were the nicest that we had in our entire holiday.... The internet was a bit spotty (there were 4 of us in 2 rooms, and we had to keep logging in as the "maximum number of connections" was apparently always exceeded). If I travel for business to Sao Paulo I'd certainly stay here again, but if I travel with my wife or friends again I'd look for something more intimate/'specialized'.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for your comment regarding your stay with us. I apologize for the inconvenience you had with us, we will improve some areas of the hotel and I hope you can enjoy them in your next visit. Yours sincerely, Jorge Castelo - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    212
    59
    18
    8
See reviews for
113
385
66
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I wouldn't describe this as a boutique hotel per se, as although relatively small, it was quite traditional and conservative. The service was generalyl excellent (apart from trying to get Coffee at Breakfast) with staff doing their utmost to help. I was charged 50% of a day rate for early check-in as I arrived at 8am from Europe. The rooms were clean, but a little old fashioned. In all, a great hotel, but I'll be looking for something funkier next time in São Paulo.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LambkinBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for your comment regarding your stay and praising us as a great hotel. L’Hotel Porto Bay is decorated with original European masterpieces from XVII and XIX centuries, supplemented with traditional gifs, like the French amenities from L’Occitane, looking to create a boutique experience from Europe. If you have any suggestion that could improve our hotel, please do not hesitate to tell us. Yours sincerely, Jorge Castelo – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Location is hard to define in Sao Paulo, so if you have flexibility I highly reccommend this hotel. We hosted a group of 16 people that met here for 4 days. The food was wonderful, the facilities beautiful and modern, the staff were terrific yet respectful. I only wished they would stop changing my towels everytime I used them. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Businesswoman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
I am so glad hearing such kind comment about L’Hotel Porto Bay. I apologize for any inconvenience you may had with us. I hope to see you again soon for another pleasant visit. Yours sincerely, Jorge Castelo – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed here with my family for two nights in December 2011 before travelling to other parts of Brazil. It was a great hotel - clean and modern rooms, great breakfast that had a great range of foods, friendly and welcoming desk staff and excellent gym/pool facilities. Great location as its close to Avenida Paulista, close to the Sao Paulo metro station and a short taxi ride away from a great range of restaurants. Overall a little pricey, but so are most hotels in Sao Paulo. Highly recommended if you're staying in Sao Paulo.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahamau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
You are so kind in sharing your experience at L’Hotel Porto Bay, thank you very much. Our location is definitely great, Avenida Paulista is in the heart of Sao Paulo. We will wait for your next stay with us. Warm Regards, Jorge Castelo – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Remember to take breakfast in the hotel . Great fresh fruits and good fresh juices.

Room Tip: Take breakfast . It is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrlandoAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind comment regarding your stay with us. It is a pleasure that you liked our breakfast. Hoping to welcome you back soon, with best regards, Jorge Castelo - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Friendly staff, centrally located whilst still quiet, lived up to expectation. Breakfast was my highlight English breakfast tea & perfectly poached eggs made to order, plus a great range of hot & cold buffet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gungadin3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Many thanks for your kind feedback. Our breakfast is really good, I’m glad that you enjoyed. Looking forward to welcome you back. Yours sincerely, Jorge Castelo - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

My wife and I spent just two nights here before departing for Paraty and Rio. It was Carnaval, and all the buses to Paraty were booked, but the concierge, Alexandre Esnarriaga, spent the better part of a day exploring every possible solution before suggesting one that saved us a lot of money: he not only booked us seats on a bus to Ubatuba but also lined up a cab driver to pick us up there. He even wrote out instructions for us, not forgetting to include a letter in Portuguese directed to the driver. Clearly, this was above and beyond the call of duty, but it appears to be business as usual at this hotel. The receptionists were all incredibly friendly and helpful, and all spoke perfect English, in a city and country where that is definitely not a given. I highly recommend L'Hotel Porto Bay not just for business travelers but for tourists like ourselves who want to stay in the vicinity of great restaurants and points of interest.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCastelo, Manager at L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially about our staff. I look forward to welcoming you back in a near future to enjoy São Paulo and L’hotel Porto Bay. Yours sincerely, Jorge Castelo - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Jardins
Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo
Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo
#10 of 321 in Sao Paulo
1,619 reviews
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 321 in Sao Paulo
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bela Vista
Maksoud Plaza
Maksoud Plaza
#41 of 321 in Sao Paulo
1,987 reviews
Jardins
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#1 of 321 in Sao Paulo
451 reviews
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 321 in Sao Paulo
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo

Property: L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
Address: Alameda Campinas 266 | Jardim Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01404-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Bela Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#8 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#10 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosmopolitan city of São Paulo, the financial capital of Latin America, is the setting for the five star L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo. Situated on Alameda Campinas, 50 metres away from the corner of Avenida Paulista, and close to the best restaurants, bars, museums and stores selling the most emblematic brands in the world, L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers a central location without the bustle of the main avenue. Designed in a European style, the sophistication of this boutique hotel is perfectly complemented by high standards of service and comfort. Particular care has been taken with the quality of products and materials used in the hotel. Single pieces of Art can also be found, for example the presence of a Flemish tapestry woven in Brussels in the second half of the XVIth century bought at a Christie's auction in London. This 84 room boutique hotel has a restaurant, SPA, indoor pool, gym and offers a very personalised standard of service. Special occasions, weddings, shopping, art and culture... Special, personalised events designed to meets its guests' requirements. L'Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing