We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
$650
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
$652
No prepayment needed
Skyscanner.com
$420
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Joy
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts

AMAZING BUILDING

Review of Hotel Unique
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 6, 2016via mobile
I looove this Ohtake masterpiece. One of my favorites in São Paulo. I wasn't staying at the hotel. I only went to the bar on top called sky bar which was really cool. Great view of the city, and nice ambiance. Too poshy though.
Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa O, Gerente geral at Hotel Unique, responded to this review
Responded Sep 17, 2016
Dear Joy,

Thank you for your visit to our hotel and for your evaluation of your experience.

I am glad the beautiful work of Ruy Ohtake has astonished you as much as it astonishes all of my team and I, everyday! It is a true masterpiece and a landmark.

I hope you visit us again soon. Try and stay one night with us, to enjoy the experience of being a Unique guest :)

Kind regards,

Melissa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
Booking.com
$54
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $44
  • ibis Budget
    $54
1.7 miles from Hotel Unique
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$93
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    $62
  • Hotels.com
    $75
4.1 miles from Hotel Unique
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$47
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    $28
  • Expedia.com
    $44
3.7 miles from Hotel Unique
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$48
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $29
  • Expedia.com
    $38
3.4 miles from Hotel Unique
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ibis Styles
$59
  • Booking.com
    $59
  • ZenHotels.com
    $49
  • Priceline
4.3 miles from Hotel Unique
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
ibis Styles
$61
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $51
  • Booking.com
    $61
5.3 miles from Hotel Unique
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
ibis
$51
  • Booking.com
    $51
  • Agoda.com
    $40
  • Priceline
1.1 miles from Hotel Unique
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
Booking.com
$61
No prepayment needed
  • ibis Budget
    $61
  • Trip.com
    $56
  • Expedia.com
    $61
1.9 miles from Hotel Unique
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $70
  • Agoda.com
    $50
  • Hotels.com
    $88
1.9 miles from Hotel Unique
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $40
  • Agoda.com
    $32
  • Expedia.com
    $38
3.2 miles from Hotel Unique
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Sao Paulo
Reviews (1,614)
Filter reviews
1,614 results
Traveler rating
1,233
296
50
20
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,233
296
50
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool veuve clicquot stunning architecture top floor hotels in sao paulo avenida paulista skye samuel business concierge turndown hyatt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 1,614 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2016

Interesting Hotel, great interior design on public / common areas. Good Restaurant, wonderful outdoor terrace by an unusual red-lit pool on the rooftop; excellent views of the São Paulo Skyline from the lush Jardins area. Location is good; peaceful at night, decent connections to most places in the city. Only thing that prevents me from giving the 5th star is how cramped the rooms are for 2 people with suitcases. Otherwise, a very chic hotel choice in São Paulo.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WWtravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa O, Gerente geral at Hotel Unique, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Dear WWtravelman,

It was a pleasure having you with us! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for having evaluated our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

I am glad you enjoyed our design and restaurant. Our entire hotel was built to represent the spirit of our city, and Skye Bar & Restaurant definetely honors it by offering a stunning view of São Paulo's skyline, along with a cosmopolitan gastronomy that represents the myriad of nationalities that shaped the population and history of our metropolis over time. Our chef, Emmanuel Bassoleil, for example, is French but masters Brazilian cullinary :)

We are more entitled in providing personalized and unforgettable experiences to our guests rather than rating ourselves with stars; however we fully understand that our guests have different expectations. We have standard rooms that are compact, built for a businessman's needs, but we also have much larger rooms and suites. Next time you visit our city, please let us know and we will definetely help you find a room that better suits your space needs.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Melissa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Modern architecture, contemporary interiors and exemplary service make Hotel Unique a truly unique destination.

A little more expensive that your average hotel but you get champagne on reception, complementary Havaianas and truly exceptional service. There's even a wonderful turndown service - the dessert was excellent!

The rooms are modern, clean and extremely comfortable. The beds were the best we slept in while in Brazil. Extremely welcome after spending the previous week in the Amazon!

Fantastic finishing to the bathroom with an excellent jacuzzi bath, separate shower and fold down glass wall so you can enjoy the view via the bedroom's circular window. Complementary Bulgari toiletries are also provided.

The rooftop pool had fantastic views and at night the restaurant and bar was great. The food was very good, not unreasonably priced and served quickly and with a smile. The Caipirinhas at the bar were great afterwards. There is also an excellent bar downstairs in the lobby with a very impressive drinks display.

The indoor pool, sauna and spa were also great. I would definitely recommend if you're after somewhere a little bit special to stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dso1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile

Unique was recommended by our ad agency when we visited SP for business. I only wish we had stayed there longer. The place is amazing - bold architecture, creative contemporary décor, perfectly appointed guest rooms, impeccable service. The place is calm and vibrant at the same time. You immediately sense that every detail has been thought through. My room was very quiet, away from elevators as requested, and it was fun walking through the dimly lit hallway only to peek at the city view through a circular window here and there. I had lunch and breakfast at the hotel restaurant and each visit was very enjoyable. The service was prompt and friendly, but not imposing. The food was absolutely delicious, the chef did a great job creating unique taste experiences, plating was creative and picture perfect. I had octopus for lunch and it was so tender, it almost melted in my mouth. One evening, our group went to the rooftop bar for a drink only to discover stunning city views. As great as the hotel is, the rooftop bar is a must, an amazing place to enjoy a drink and a great place to watch people... This hotel is at the top of the list of places to stay in SP.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank 1FlyingFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa O, Gerente geral at Hotel Unique, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Dear 1FlyingFrog,

We are stunned by your wonderful review :) Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for having translated our company mission into these fabulous words :)

Our hotel was designed to be different, a.k.a. "Unique" - not only because of our "inverted-arch" shaped building, built to be a landmark in our city, but also by focusing in offering a personalized experience to our dear guests throughout their stays with us.

My team and I will be very happy to welcome you back during your next trip to São Paulo!

With kind regards,

Melissa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Most lovely place to stay in Sampa!

We travel often and often using designhotels.com. For the Unique Hotel, I just can say: Little bit more expensive than the average, but lovely staff, lovely rooms and lovely rooftop pool&bar! Breakfast was perfect. View over Sampa is amazing! A lot of stylish people there - and no problem, that we just travelled very simple and using shorts/t-shirts, because we thought we have to be very careful in Sampa.

Staff can tell u all about the city and its regulatories / where it is safe to go and where not that much.

Staff helps u with any wish or need you have. They organize everything in less than 30minutes!

Thanks so much, especially to Sérgio and Samuel. All the best to you!

Lots of Love, M&O

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank manumarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa O, Gerente geral at Hotel Unique, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2016

Dear Manuel M,

It was a pleasure having you with us! Thank you for your stay and your kind review of our hotel here on TA. It is great to travel around and stay in design hotels, where you can feel the spirit of the city you're visiting. We're no different. In fact, our hotel was completely designed to make our guests feel the spirit of São Paulo - this can be seen, felt and tasted, all in one place :)

I am glad my professional team (especially Samuel and Sérgio, who are impeccable concierges) helped to set the tone of your experience.

I hope you return soon for a new visit. We will all be glad to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Melissa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016

Iconic and dramatic modernistic hotel. Glass of champagne on arrival set the scene nicely. Service and staff are excellent and could not try harder but they are up against it..... 50% charge for an early check in after overnight transatlantic flights - never had this before and we have stayed in hotels all over the world. They usually take the line that if the room is ready you can have it. Worse still - a £2 charge for in room Nespresso - we are happy to pay for quality, but management needs to know where to draw the line and cut out petty charges!
Our first room (310) overlook was a dump so we asked to move. Next room (608) had a much nicer view but still really austere rather than ultra modern. Very comfy bed and jacuzzi bath though. We wanted to love the experience but really didn't.

Room tip: High floor - front of building
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WelshToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa O, Gerente geral at Hotel Unique, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2016

Dear WelshToGo,

Dear WelshToGo,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for taking your time to evaluate your experience with us!

Our mission as a company is to always exceed our guests' expectations and this is why we love to spoil them throughout their stays - as you mentioned, we serve Veuve Clicquot Brut champagne upon arrival. We pamper our guests in several other ways - our guests are greeted in their rooms with natural coconut water, and, every night, our chef prepares a different treat for turndown service - never the same. Our hotel boasts one of the fastest high speed internet connections in the city, at no additional charge (surprisingly, many hotels still charge for internet). We offer Bvlgari amenities in all guest rooms, which is one of the best luxury brands available in the market. Our rooms have the best linen brands, kept immaculately by our housekeeping staff (and I am very glad you enjoyed our beds :) ). Regarding the Nespresso capsules, they are part of the in-room amenities that can be consumed separately. In our suites, they are offered complimentary. Next time in our city, I invite you to try one of them - they are truly amazingly designed rooms!

I am glad my team was able to offer a room with a better view. Although São Paulo has a beautiful skyline, it is sometimes hard to have a nice view from all floors, as we are surrounded by buildings, and not by natural scenery :). We are, above all, a company, but we are very much interested in making our customers happy with our hospitality. It comes to us a surprise regarding your view of our early check-in charges, as this is a very standard procedure in many hotels all over the world. My team is by no means instructed to use standard speeches but rather to help everyone feel welcome. However, as I mentioned, our check-in time is at 3pm, as most hotels worlwide, and if a guest has an early arriving flight, it is optional for them to enter the room prior to the regular hours. Our early arriving guests have the option of using our fitness center, go to Skye restaurant to enjoy the pool or our gastronomy for breakfast or lunch.

Once again, thank you for your comments, and I hope we are able to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews
<