We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stylish & comfortable”
Review of Hotel Unique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Unique
Ranked #3 of 326 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2008

Great experience at the Unique. Service was attentive (if a bit slow), rooms were comfortable and stylish, and the great rooftop bar made up for the lack of walkable restaurants and night spots. No business center, but complimentary internet access in the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank venustar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,314)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Unique
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2008

Hotel Unique was apositive expereince. The hotel is geared towards the casual traveler not every good for the business traveler. Accomdations was somwhat surprising with a comfortable room, awesome IPOD speakers in several ocations in the room, great bathroom with a rain shower.
What I found lacking was closet space, diversity in the food menu and high prices hotel services such as cab and FX conversions. If you need to use a the hotel business center, there isn't one. Using the two computers connected to a dial up ISP was a joke, the printer was located behind the bar in th lobby.
Te hotel seems to be geared towards the 30 something set, lots of open "embracing and fondness" from young couples, pehaps this is germaine to Brazil.

The hotel pool and gym services was extremely unique and pleasant. I loved the sound system under water and the pool slide to enter the pool. The roof bar and the outdoor pool was fun at night.

What I found weird was the darkness of the hotel. The halls were black and dark. Black and purple is the theme.

If you speak english only, communication might be a challenege for some.

I would recommend the hotel in general.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank xolo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

I choose this hotel based upon the greater balance of positive reviews versus negative reviews in Trip Advisor. However, after my recent stay at this 5 star Sao Paulo icon I would almost certainly never stay there again, and doubt that I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Architecturally it is amazing; totally stunning – both outside and internally. It is like no other hotel – it is unique. It has curved corridors; dark elevator lights, electric wooden blinds for porthole windows and an overall design which delights and stimulates the creative side of any person. The bed was very comfortable with a range of pillow types. The bathroom included an electronic Jacuzzi tub and a separate shower with a both a rain and hand shower. The quality of the fittings, furniture and the overall atmosphere within the room and throughout the hotel is truly impressive. There were great extras such as remote door opening (make sure you know who is at the other side!!); an LCD TV which twists for viewing from any angle; and a window to the bathroom that lets you soak and watch the TV.

The rooftop restaurant and pool have stunning views across the city. Breakfast offers a great panorama as you eat.

So with all the positives – why wouldn’t I recommend this hotel? First of all, the love of design does get in the way of practical hotel living – there is very little storage for clothes, and where do you put your suitcases?? The rooms are comparatively small and that dividing glass wall which holds the futuristic TV does get in the way.

The staff is efficient, to a point – and there are lots of them. But they don’t understand service. At a top class hotel in Asia, you receive amazing service with a smile, a willingness to help and an attention to detail which can rarely be faulted. The young staff at the Unique has an unfortunate arrogance; a tendency towards surliness and a definite hint of “I’m doing you a favour”. They wouldn’t take a reservation by phone – I had to send an e-mail, which took them 3days to reply to. It took 3 calls to get 4 aspirin at 6.00 am – including one excuse of “I had something else to do”. If you’ve appreciated great service at an Oberoi or Peninsula hotel – you’ll also understand why the staff at the Unique, just don’t make the grade.

So what’s the real problem?? This hotel is grossly over priced and just doesn’t offer anywhere the value it should for the exorbitant prices it dares to charge. For 2 nights I paid USD 1600 – and that included a room, dinner for one night, some room service and two breakfasts. USD 32 for breakfast in your room is extreme. USD 120 for an airport transfer is just beyond belief. Cocktails start at USD 12. A 3 minute local call will cost you USD 6.

For me, they added to my bill USD 60 for a 10 minute call to the UK - made from reception, at their request, during check in to address a problem which they created on my credit card. And did I have to argue to get that removed!!!

I enjoy travelling. I’m fortunate to be able to afford some great hotels – but this hotel was just not worth the money. They are taking advantage of their guests in the prices that they charge – it’s just plain bad value. If you have so much money that you have it to burn; or work for a company that isn’t concerned about the size of your bank account – then you will love this place. But for those of us who hate being taken for a ride – my advice is “give it a miss”, and try somewhere else. This is my first experience of Sao Paulo, so don’t have an alternative option to suggest, and don’t know if the other top end hotels would treat you just the same. I do find it hard to believe that there couldn’t be much better value, top end places to stay in a great city such as Sao Paulo.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Peter_R_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2008

This hotel is absolutely one of the best in SouthAmerica.
The building is a design icon in sao paulo.
The room are simply sophisticated.
The service is v good and careful (I travelled there for my birthday and I had a free room upgrade plus a chocolate cake the day of the birthaday).
The rooftop swimingpool lounge is real trendy with a fantastic view over the paulistano skyline.
The restaurant is contemporany international not pricy.
The gym is a real gym.
ROOM: 5/5
BATHROOM: 5/5
SERVICE: 5/5
PRICE: 4/5
STRUCTURE: 5/5

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Giancarlo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2008

We booked this hotel using TabletHotels which has never failed me with finding trendy, hip hotels to stay at. The architecture of this hotel is stunning when you first pull up - very "unique" as the name of the hotel claims.

The hotel staff was incredibly friends and accomodating and poured us glasses of champagne upon arrival. They also upgraded us for free to a bigger room. The room was quite spacious and extremely clean. They've really paid quite a bit of attention to making it a unique experience. Each room is equipped with a cell phone that works only inside the hotel -> great if your travel companion is at the pool and you're still in the room and you want to chat. They also have towel warmers, big fuzzy robes, flat panel TVs, etc.

The rooftop pool is KILLER! It has 360 degree views of Sao Paulo which is incredible at both day and night. It also turns into a Sao Paulo hotspot at night which is fun.

The only thing that keeps me from giving this hotel 5 stars is that the location is just mediocre. But taxis in Sao Paulo are easy to catch and fairly inexpensive so its worth it to stay at such a great hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GlobalJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

I'm really surprised at the review that claimed the service was bad and the rooms dirty. I'm in Sao Paulo several times a year and always stay at the Unique - and can tell you that their rooms are impeccable, service outstanding, and facilities world class. All of the employees speak english and they bend over backward to be helpful. Check-in and out is slow and frustrating - lots of things to sign and info for them to enter, that's my only real frustration.

I guess the only other complaint I have is that there are no clocks anywhere in the hotel. Nothing in the rooms, restaurants, spa, really - no clocks. You wake up in the middle of the night and need to fumble for your watch. If you ask them for an alarm clock or something similar, they just tell you to dial 1 and the desk will tell you what time it is. I find it kind of funny. I've started bringing a travel one with me.

It's certainly not for everyone. There are plenty of standard American style Hotels in Sao Paulo. If you don't like the funky, W-style hotel, you won't like the Unique. But it's a step up from the W, with large, innovative rooms, clever electronics, and amazing architecture.

I would rate the Skye Bar and Restaurant as one of the top in Americas. The cuisine is fantastic, with top European and Brazilian chefs who often come spend time with you while you eat, and the view is simply breathtaking. I have seen many cityscapes in my life, but none so amazing as the one from the restaurant. It makes New York look tiny.

The gym and spa are equally impressive. The pool is large, rarely used, and heated - it's semi-open air. The gym is modern with most machines and a good selection of free weights. The treadmills are on glass over the pool, which is kind of neat. The steam room is great, but for some reason, they keep the sauna at a very low temperature - it's often warmer outside than it is in the sauna.

Bottom line is that this hotel is really more for people looking to relax than the business traveler. But if you can live without a business center and clocks, you'll probably enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ca26o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2007

Room was dirty, staff was unprofessional. Money went missing after my room was cleaned. Then they tried to charge me an extra $400 on my credit card after I left claiming that an ashtray in the room was missing when I dont smoke.
Den of thieves. Plenty of good hotels in Sao Paulo
Steer clear of here

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank nyctraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#1 of 326 in Sao Paulo
480 reviews
Jardins
Hotel Fasano Sao Paulo
Hotel Fasano Sao Paulo
#2 of 326 in Sao Paulo
580 reviews
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 326 in Sao Paulo
3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 326 in Sao Paulo
1,591 reviews
Jardins
Tivoli Mofarrej - Sao Paulo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unique

Address: Avenida Brigadeiro Luis Antonio 4700 | Jardim Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01402-002, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#2 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#3 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: $350 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Unique 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Unique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unique Hotel Sao Paulo
Unique Sao Paulo
Hotel Unique Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing