We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average, less than very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
Ranked #46 of 327 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed here while on a business trip to Sao Paulo in January 2014.

The good: very helpful staff, they called me just five minutes after checking in to inquire whether everything was allright or not. When I said that the room was noisy the immediately sent somebody to help e move into another room.

The room was clean (and I have very high standards here), spacious (see pictures), with air conditioning.

The Internet connection works well.

Breakfast served in the morning is good and the fruits are delicious (well, I think that's because they get ripe on the tree and not on their way to the supermarket!)

The not so good: it takes forever from the time you order a cocktail at the bar downstairs and until you actually get it. We had to wait sometimes 15 minutes for our order and it was not a busy time. Also, I expected the personell to be able to speak some basic English, but with one exception (one youg lady from the reception who was speaking very good), the communication was rather difficult.

I cannot compare with other hotels from Sao Paulo but my experience there was fairly good and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baunataler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Mr. Baunataler,

Thank you for your kind review. It is a great pleasure to read that our accommodations.
Since you have mentioned that you will be staying with us more often, please allow me to present our loyalty program, LeClub, in case you are not yet a member. It offers exclusive benefits to our loyal customers, such as complimentary nights, free upgrades and much more. Our team of receptionists will be delighted to assist with enrollment on your next visit.
We look forward to welcome you back once again.
Alejandro Geis – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 1,363 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Aninha29
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alejandro G, Gerente geral at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Reserva: A conformidade da reserva
Emissão da conta: A conformidade da conta
Emissão da conta: Programa de fidelidade
Hotel: Os elevadores
Hotel: O serviço de Internet / Wi-Fi
Quarto: O sistema de abertura da porta
Quarto: A limpeza e o estado de conservação do quarto/banheiro
Quarto: A iluminação
Quarto: Odor(es) desagradável(is) do quarto/banheiro
Quarto: O ruído no quarto
Quarto: A cama
Quarto: A facilidade de trabalhar no quarto
I had 15 different issues when staying at that hotel recently for 3 nights. Some of the them were:
clogged drainage system, poorly maintained carpet (old and dirty), dirt all over the place in the room, lack of management when problems were reported (bad attitude and training of employees), doors and windows were not properly working (although I stayed in a high floor, I could hear the noise from down the road, poor location, etc.
Great breakfast though!

Room Tip: Check other rooms in São Paulo, there are many good options around the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, Gerente geral at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Sunny D,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to write a review about Grand Mercure.

At first, I feel very sorry for the inconvenience you mentioned on your review and I deeply apologize for that. We have already informed our entire team about your highlights regarding your stay, so we can prevent any similar situation like the one you reported from happening again.

Our breakfast is very special, with fresh fruits and juice and also with fresh products made by our bakery team.

I extend my apologies and hope that this atypical experience does not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Best Regards,

Alejandro Geis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Jo_Stuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alejandro G, Gerente geral at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Was disappointed in the hotel. Lobby was fantastic and gave a great first impression. The room was big but the carpet was dirty and the headboard has stains all over it. The chair in the corner of the room had a large cut in the wicker and was warn. The housekeeping staff did not do a good job of vacuuming the carpet as their was part of a cracker next to the night stand that stayed in the same position for my entire stay, five nights. The bed was big but broken down on one side. The mattress needed to be turned or changed. The staff at the bar were friendly but the front desk staff seemed to have an attitude during my visit. This was echoed by my boss who got the same impression. Breakfast was good along with the service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, Gerente geral at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Andy H,

First of all we would like to thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay at Grand Mercure.
Your contribution is very important to our search for excellence. Therefore, be assured that we have taken all the measures and arrangements in order to prevent incidents like this from ever happening again.
We would like to stress that such issues do not represent the standards of service our hotel is accostumed to render our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Mercure in the near future.
Best Regards,
Alejandro Geis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with good sevice, great large bed rooms good restaurants and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Great restaurant, and impressive bar area to discuss work has its own coffee shop. Great breakfast. Great for the local airport if you are making flights around Brazil which was approx 10/15 mins away. Not so good for the international airport which during peak times I would allow an hour for. This is a big hotel and you could be anywhere in the world here, does not feel like Brazil. To get anywhere you need to go by Taxi. The pool was closed for what looked liked a three month period so if you want a pool you better check that it is open during your stay. I much prefered their sister hotel Mercure Jardim Paulista. it was much smaller and walking distrance to really great bars, resturants and shops and you got the full Brazilian amosphere and it was cheaper. Still this is a good hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get an upgrade on your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noworrriesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, Gerente geral at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Noworriesuk,

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to register your valuable impressions about Grand Mercure.

Your contribution is very important to our search for excellence.

Our “Aboo Bar”, located at the lobby, is the perfect spot to enjoy a cocktail or snacks, as you mentioned, and perfect to have good moments with friends.

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you back more often in our hotel!

My best wishes,

Alejandro Geis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Good hotel, well located. Large rooms, but furniture looks a little old (not too old). It is being renovated, I think it will be greater. Good internet. Need more careful and deep cleaning in the shower area. Beautiful lobby and corridor to rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaniMM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, Gerente geral at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear DaniMM2013,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

Our location is just fantastic with so many things to see and visit. We are surrounded by great restaurants and also near to one of the most important parks in São Paulo, the “Parque do Ibirapuera”!

We are glad to know that your stay at Grand Mercure was great and you had time to relax and enjoy our facilities.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, and if your travels should bring you back to the city we do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Alejandro Geis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Vila Mariana
Pullman Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 327 in Sao Paulo
3,552 reviews
Hilton Sao Paulo Morumbi
#11 of 327 in Sao Paulo
2,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure SP Ginasio Ibirapuera
#143 of 327 in Sao Paulo
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera

Address: Rua Sena Madureira 1355 | Bloco 1, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04021-051, Brazil (Formerly Sofitel Sao Paulo)
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#42 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: $91 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera Park is considered one of the most upscale hotels in Sao Paulo, combining the international experience and a local touch with sophisticated and personalized services. Located 3.1 Miles (5 km) from Congonhas Airport, 21.7 Miles (35 km) from Guarulhos International Airport and next to Ibirapuera Park (green area in Sao Paulo), it also enjoys easy access to the city's main financial areas: Paulista, Berrini, Av. Brazil and Faria Lima. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sao Paulo Hotel Sao Paulo
Accor Sao Paulo
Sao Paulo Sofitel
Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing