We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff - Cleanliness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
Ranked #43 of 326 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hotel was very clear and staff does a great job making sure you feel at home. Loved the amenities and location, mostly from coming and going to the local CGH aiport is perfect.

The rooms are perfect size, Internet works fast what can be a challenge in certains areas of Brazil. Make sure you stop by at the coffee shop outside.

Fully recomend!!

Room Tip: Privillege rooms
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Alex,

Thank you for sharing your kind comments about the Mercure Grand Hotel São Paulo with us and other TripAdvisor users. It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and approved of our service, premises and food. We hope to continue being your choice in the city and welcome you back again to our hotel soon!

Sincerely,

Alejandro Geis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,333)
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just arrived at home after my 3rd stay at Novotel Ibirapuera while doing business in São Paulo.
This Accor hotel does not deserve the Novotel brand (as it was supposed to be a better option than the good value budget hotel Ibis).

Although it is well located, Novotel Ibirapuera has too few to offer:
Old building, outdated furniture and (again) my room was infested with ANTS which was very annoying because they insisted to climb my bed while I was sleeping.
On the 5th floor with the windows closed I could still hear the noise from the street and the corridor lights escaped from under the door.

That's enough for me. I will ask my company for another hotel in São Paulo.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VComper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I travelled to São Paulo for a vacation and I stayed at Mercure Grand. This is one of the most beautiful hotel in São Paulo, the main lobby is like a dream.
The recepcionist was very kindly and did the chek-in quickly. The room was very big and clean. Breakfast is great, with a lot of options of fresh fruits, cheese, cold cuts, breads and so on... And they have a unique service, they bring to the table freshly baked brazilian pao de queijo, wonderful.
The location is also very good because you have the Ibirapuera Park just walk distance from the hotel and its near also to Paulista Avenue.
This was a great experience and I spent good times at Mercure Grand, for sure I'll come back.

Room Tip: Choose the apartment with Ibirapuera Park view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Rodrigo,

Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your kind words regarding our service and F&B quality. We do whatever we can to make each and every guest experience a great one and we love to know that all our efforts.

There is nothing better than hearing that you like to stay with us! It is great that you experienced this upscale product as you commented. We really appreciate this positive feedback, and thank you for recommending us to the other travellers! We really hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Alejandro Geis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I travel often for business and decided to stay in this hotel since the price looked fine. It was a terrible experience. I pre-paid 2 rooms and when we got there at 2:00PM they could not guarantee that we were going to have our rooms! Finally around 4:00PM we got our room. It seems they didn't even care. Usually when this kind of problem happens the hotel gives an upgrade or a gift or something.
Then I get to my room and the internet was not working! It did not work for at least 6 hours. Again, they didn't care, they didn't wanted to answer my calls for assistance.
The location is terrible, there is nothing close by to the hotel.
Customer service is essential for any kind of business and this hotel has to teach their staff what that is.
My recommendation, avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel. Learning about the perception of our guests is a key issue for us because it is the only way we can know whether we are on the right track to excellent service and what we should adjust to make sure we do provide it to all of our guests. Thank you also for choosing Mercure Grand Hotel, we deeply regret that your stay at the Mercure Grand, did not correspond to your expectations of service. Managers from all areas have been informed and have passed on comments to their teams, seeking to address and resolve the faults identified by you. As a consequence of this, we are adjusting some of our procedures to meet this new demand. I know that this explanation cannot reverse the mistakes you mentioned, but once again, I would like to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, as this is the only way we can take corrective action to remedy them. Also, we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mercure Grand Hotel in Sao Paulo and be given the chance to reverse the bad impression you took with you on departure.
Warm Regards,
Alejandro Geis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmando
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Good: Coffee shop in the lobby and very friendly employee's.
Bad: Internet is very slow and difficult to connect. All outlets 220 volts and room amenities are minimal. Poor location for restaurant's and groceries.
Ugly: Carpet looks like an episode of CSI, someone may have been killed in this room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triple7Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions with the other travelers of Trip Advisor.
We are truly concerned about your comments.

It is important to comment that, because of the hotel location we have been much commended: we are pretty close by the Ibirapuera Park and with easy access to the downtown or the domestic Airport. Also close from Paulista Avenue, good restaurants, shopping malls, etc.

We appreciate your highlight for some of our services: Breakfast Restaurant, Rooms, and all our Mercure Grand staff attitudes.

Thank you once again for your remarks, and we hope to see you soon during your next visits to São Paulo city.

Cordially,

Alejandro Geis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

An apartment hotel near to the financial district, around the hotel was a good selection of restaurants and a supermarket. I was on the 12th floor, the room had a bedroom, lounge area/kitchen and bathroom. The room was tidy and functional with air conditioning, my only complaint was there was not a kettle or coffee, you had to boil the water in the microwave.

Breakfast was excellent value and a nice selection, the breakfast staff were very friendly, as were those on reception.

In summary good value hotel in a safe area

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions with the other travelers of Trip Advisor.
We are truly concerned about your comments.

We appreciate your highlight for some of our services: Room Kettle and all our Mercure Grand staff attitudes.

Thank you once again for your remarks, and we hope to see you soon during your next visits to São Paulo city.

Cordially,

Alejandro Geis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Vila Mariana
Pullman Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
Mercure SP Ginasio Ibirapuera
#152 of 326 in Sao Paulo
479 reviews
Bienal Suites
#161 of 326 in Sao Paulo
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Green Place Flat Ibirapuera
#164 of 326 in Sao Paulo
218 reviews
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 326 in Sao Paulo
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera

Address: Rua Sena Madureira 1355 | Bloco 1, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04021-051, Brazil (Formerly Sofitel Sao Paulo)
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#42 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#47 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: $92 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera Park is considered one of the most upscale hotels in Sao Paulo, combining the international experience and a local touch with sophisticated and personalized services. Located 3.1 Miles (5 km) from Congonhas Airport, 21.7 Miles (35 km) from Guarulhos International Airport and next to Ibirapuera Park (green area in Sao Paulo), it also enjoys easy access to the city's main financial areas: Paulista, Berrini, Av. Brazil and Faria Lima. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sao Paulo Hotel Sao Paulo
Accor Sao Paulo
Sao Paulo Sofitel
Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing