We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money in a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
Ranked #46 of 327 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel has a very good value for money considering the offer that exists in São Paulo.
Plus:
- Breakfast has a good variety of food and well supplied
- Free wifi on the room and common areas
- Nice French bakery
- Spacious rooms and bathrooms - they need to be updated but still they are nice
- Friendly staff that sometimes it compensates for some slow service (eg. bar)

Minus
- despite central location it's not a very good area to walk around

Room Tip: My room had good wifi signal, it was close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulacns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Paula,
Thank you for your comments and review. We do appreciate your nice observations and we hope to host you again in your next visit to São Paulo. We look forward to having you back again to enjoy our fabulous bedding!
Do remember that we value your feedback. Thank you very much indeed!
Cordially,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

This area is not safe after dark. You should not walk anywhere after dark in this area. Take a cab. The hotel itself is very nice. The rooms are updated, but remember that this is a European chain, not US. No in room coffee or ironing board. WiFi is weak and the hotel eatery isn't open every evening. No executive floor for those with status. No free breakfast. That said, the coffee shop in the lobby, the staff, the rooms, and the service are all great. Just don't expect what you get in a USA style business hotel and don't expect to walk to dinner near by.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Joelinda

At Mercure Grand Hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We thank you for your comments concerning the "hotel place". We are constantly improving our guest's services, especially when we receive comments that make us the opportunity to act in this way.

Regards,
Alejandro Geis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed at the hotel while on a business trip. It was a nice surprise as I have stayed in many hitels in Sao Paulo and few give you this kind of value for the price. Very well located, clean and tidy, excellent breakfast and food in general.
Service is also good.
Conveniently located in front of the big Ibirapuera park in the neighborhood of Itaim.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear Eduardo,

Thank you for your comments and review. We do appreciate your nice observations and we hope to host you again in your next visit to São Paulo. We look forward to having you back again to enjoy our hotel. Do remember that we value your feedback. Thank you very much indeed!
Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have recently stayed at Mercure Grand Ibirapuera and it was so nice to see that the same quality and warm reception are still there, even after the rebranding. The rooms are very clean and well equipped. The fitness center is quite decent for a hotel and the front desk staff is extremely dedicated and well prepared. I would say that the strongest points of this hotel would be its location (very close to the ibirapuera park) and the warmth of the brazilian staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony, because those are the ones with the Ibirapuera view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugo-Hemato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your comments through TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Mercure Grand hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback which will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Many thanks again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit to São Paulo will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,
Alejandro Geis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Staying on the 8th floor but it feels like my room is right next to a busy highway! The hotel is surrounded on 2 sides by very busy roads and the street noise is extremely loud. The room itself is nice and spacious with a nice bathroom and comfortable bed. But the windows must be thin and poorly sealed. And I asked for and was apparently given a quiet room!

Prices for room service and breakfast are extremely high so best to avoid eating at the hotel if possible. For example, $16 for a bowl of chicken soup or $23 for a cheese pizza. $28 for the buffet breakfast.

Service is efficient and professional, but not overly friendly. Carpeting in the room is badly stained.

Gym is a little hard to find and small, but the machines are good.

I think this used to be a Sofitel and has gone downmarket when it was turned into a Mercure.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room that is not over top of the highways
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

At Mercure Grand Hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We thank you for your comments concerning the "aspect of our F&B prices and Noise". We are constantly improving our guest's services, especially when we receive comments that make us the opportunity to act in this way. For an example, you can be certain that we are taking the appropriate measures to change prices and improve our noise, it is essential for our services.
I am sorry that your stay was poor however I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future and I will be more than happy to make all the arrangements for you to ensure your next stay is of a higher standard.

Sincerely,

Alejandro Geis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I had being there for two days with my eldest son . It’s a fine hotel offering quality service, very friendly and helpful staff .
All them work to make the guest comfortable, being solicit and cheerful when one of us ask for anything.
It’s located near Ibirapuera park, 3 km from Congonhas São Paulo Airport .
But it’s just in front a large and busy avenue and is not possible to walk around it’s not commercial zone. You will need a car or taxi ( it’s not expensive ) to go anywhere. Nearest commercial zone there is Paulista Avenue, it’s fine place to go – you will find = eating, pharmacies, museums, shopping, nightlife nearby.
The hotel lobby very nice having cozy design, there you will find a very fine bakery- having awesome fresh pastries , cakes and coffee.
The rooms are large clean and nice decorated, having cable TV, air conditioning.
The bathroom is also spacious having shower and bath .
There is also swimming pool, which is surrounded by sun loungers. The hotel also features a tennis court and a modern gym.

Room Tip: You will need a car or taxi ( it’s not expensive ) to go anywhere. Nearest commercial zone there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLORIAGRAZZIOTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for writing a review about our hotel!
I am glad to know that you enjoyed our services and structure

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions.
It will be a pleasure to have you back to our hotel.

Regards,
Alejandro Geis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Very nice room and accommodations. Friendly and helpfully staff.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank HEBERSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and review. We do appreciate your nice observations and we hope to host you again in your next visit to São Paulo. We look forward to having you back again to enjoy our hotel. Do remember that we value your feedback. Thank you very much indeed!
Cordially,
Alejandro Geis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Vila Mariana
Pullman Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 327 in Sao Paulo
3,550 reviews
Hilton Sao Paulo Morumbi
#11 of 327 in Sao Paulo
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure SP Ginasio Ibirapuera
#143 of 327 in Sao Paulo
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera

Address: Rua Sena Madureira 1355 | Bloco 1, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04021-051, Brazil (Formerly Sofitel Sao Paulo)
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#42 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#47 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: $92 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera Park is considered one of the most upscale hotels in Sao Paulo, combining the international experience and a local touch with sophisticated and personalized services. Located 3.1 Miles (5 km) from Congonhas Airport, 21.7 Miles (35 km) from Guarulhos International Airport and next to Ibirapuera Park (green area in Sao Paulo), it also enjoys easy access to the city's main financial areas: Paulista, Berrini, Av. Brazil and Faria Lima. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sao Paulo Hotel Sao Paulo
Accor Sao Paulo
Sao Paulo Sofitel
Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing