We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property and business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
Ranked #39 of 321 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
St Louis, MO
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good property and business hotel”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I enjoy the mid sized hotels with quality service. This was just right for the value and offering. Staff was efficient and helpful at check in; they managed the currency exchange, directions to mall, and got us the rooms at the morning check in prior to noon.
The area has the big park and a busy avenue to walk but it is not quite commercial enough to have many restaurants /shops nearby. One really needs a car or to take a taxi to go anywhere. The advantage of being near Paulista Ave is having all the eating/shopping/nightlife nearby. Then again, you get that noise and traffic. The Mercure had the right blend of quality, suburban feel, and just enough removed from the city to feel a relaxed vibe. The lobby is not large but every area has a quality feel or design to it: bar, cafe nook, room is spacious, etc.

The cafe /bakery was quite awesome in pastries and coffee. The full breakfast was good but not fantastic in food quality and service. Overall, the price on food was a bit high these days in Brazil, the room cost was ok, and same for taxi. Inflation is hitting Brazil and prices are too high for general services, in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JES006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for writing a review about our hotel!
I am glad to know that you enjoyed our services and structure
Please, if you have the time, it will be a pleasure to hear more about this situation to be able to clarify any doubt. My contact is h0578-gm@accor.com

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions.
It will be a pleasure to have you back to our hotel.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    486
    247
    79
    34
See reviews for
190
252
111
661
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The strongest point is the location. This hotel is very close to Ibirapuera Park and Congonhas Airport. The street where this hotel is located is very calm. The building is old and deserves a refurbishment. You can hear some disturbing noises inside the room. Considering the price, I would say this is a bit expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms turned to the Sena Madureira Street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViaggioRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goiania, GO
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Altough the hotel is nearby the Ibirapuera Park, it´s not close to the business zones. Really small rooms, regular linen, regular beds, paid breakfast (R$ 31,00) and other reasons make you feel as if you were in an Ibis, the "poor cousin" of Accor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EFIATKOSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

During my stay I experience some health problems, and I experience that phrase "like in home". The hotel service was very efficient and call me several times to check my state. I dont remember the name of the person who was in charge of the hotel front desk at that time...but excellent service. Apart from that the hotel is beautiful and with class.

Room Tip: Sao Paulo is veri tough to drive, and the hotel is located in a very nice place but is difficult to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MemoRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro G, General Manager at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
Dear Mr. Roberts,

Thank you for your comments and review. We do appreciate your nice observations and we hope to host you again in your next visit to São Paulo. We look forward to having you back again to enjoy our fabulous bedding!

Do remember that we value your feedback. Thank you very much indeed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Just arrived at Sao Pauolo Sofitel on R. Sena Madureira after a long flight from USA. Great service from the time arrived at the airport, great room with all comfort of the Ritz Carlton that we are used to. I highly recommend them.

Room Tip: The higher level corner suites have excellent view of all the landscapes and sky scraper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yekta3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter S, General Manager at Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera, responded to this review, December 25, 2011
Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your comments at Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Sofitel São Paulo Ibirapuera. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback which will serve as an encouragement to all our staff as we strive to continously improve our quality of services. We thank again for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back soon in São Paulo.
Sincerely yours,

Walter Strub
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Vila Mariana
Pullman Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
Bienal Suites
#160 of 321 in Sao Paulo
148 reviews
Mercure SP Ginasio Ibirapuera
#155 of 321 in Sao Paulo
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Sao Paulo Morumbi
#11 of 321 in Sao Paulo
2,691 reviews
Green Place Flat Ibirapuera
#144 of 321 in Sao Paulo
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera

Property: Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera
Address: Rua Sena Madureira 1355 | Bloco 1, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04021-051, Brazil (Formerly Sofitel Sao Paulo)
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#42 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#47 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera Park is considered one of the most upscale hotels in Sao Paulo, combining the international experience and a local touch with sophisticated and personalized services. Located 3.1 Miles (5 km) from Congonhas Airport, 21.7 Miles (35 km) from Guarulhos International Airport and next to Ibirapuera Park (green area in Sao Paulo), it also enjoys easy access to the city's main financial areas: Paulista, Berrini, Av. Brazil and Faria Lima. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sao Paulo Hotel Sao Paulo
Accor Sao Paulo
Sao Paulo Sofitel
Grand Mercure Sao Paulo Ibirapuera Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing