We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Garden Convention Nortel
Nearby Hotels
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Melia Paulista(Sao Paulo)
$108
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$162
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo(Sao Paulo)
$152
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$257
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melia Jardim Europa(Sao Paulo)
$129
$101
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Emiliano Hotel(Sao Paulo)
$378
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (739)
Filter reviews
739 results
Traveler rating
265
333
97
23
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
333
97
23
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexpo center nortenearby shoppingspoke englishwi fiexhibitionairportguarulhosapartmentpaulocurtainsneighborhood
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 739 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The room had a broken fridge which was never fixed even though we asked. Location is not convenient and most taxis will charge at least 15 usd to get to any nearby place. Room is ok, three star type.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My company made 3 reservations for 3 rooms and each of us had a different reservation confirmation code. Upon arrival, we each filled in a guest form and received, all of us, a magnetic card key, all for the same room. When we questioned the fact that we were all in the same room, the receptionist curtly told us that it was a triple room - and that the hotel was full. I explained that our company has never ever asked to stay 2 or 3 in the same room, and that we had 3 different reservation codes, and asked to speak to the manager. Since that got me nowhere, I got onto the phone to try and contact somebody in our travel administration to complain. And I made the calls nice and loud so that all in the lobby could hear. While I was doing this, suddenly a couple of rooms were freed up.
Later, the manager turned up and excused himself because they had more guests than rooms - he simply tried to get us 3 to stay in the same room as a way to diminish his mismanagement problem.
I presume that this hotel uses the Mercure name as a franchise from Accor and has absolutely no pretense as to any minimum quality controls which one would expect from Accor hotels.
My advice - keep away from this hotel, even if it is quite comfortable and close to the Nortel Expo Center. You can't be sure that your reservation will be honored and you might find that you have been given a room to share with strangers...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alf_Bacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia A, marketing at Wyndham Garden Convention Nortel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

Us an excuse for any inconvenience caused to Mr and your team.
We hope to have them at the Mercure SP Nortel again to remove the constraint.

graciously

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Qingdao, China
1
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Pls supply the guests with cook untensile, such as the boiler or pan, not only the dinnerwares. The temporary accommodation prices during the convention season can be even higher than a 5-stared hotel in the downtown, it is not justified. The location is very ideal for the businessmen who assist in the international fairs around the north center of this city.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia A, marketing at Wyndham Garden Convention Nortel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

Dear guest,
We appreciate your suggestions, through them we mlhorar our service.

graciously

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Morton Grove, Illinois, USA
1
Reviewed September 13, 2011

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patricia A, marketing at Wyndham Garden Convention Nortel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Friendly staff. There was always at least one person manning the counter who spoke English.

Room was clean. Desk, and dining table provided ample room for work. Internet access available through provided wired connection as well as free WiFi. Contrary to some travel sites, the WiFi is indeed free. The WiFi connection was unstable at times, but when it was working properly, the speed was fast.

A/C functions well and is controlled by wireless remote. Water pressure good in the bathroom/shower. Hot water was hot. Toilet flushing power was weak and the seat would not stay up, sometimes crashing down in the middle of the night causing some scares.

The door to the room is quite flimsy. Any noise in the hallway is easily heard in the room.

Location is convenient for Expo Center attendees. Approximately 20-30mins from the International Airport and 5-10mins from the Expo Center. Free shuttle service to the Expo Center is provided by the hotel during convention dates. Taxis are always available in front of the hotel. This hotel is not in the downtown area.

Room Tip: The double twin rooms in tower B (where the check-in counter is currently located) are bigger than tower A.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NinjaExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews