We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service; meals at table served over an hour apart; never again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Jam - Jardins

Jam - Jardins
Ranked #10 of 38,207 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $38
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Jardins
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Terrible service; meals at table served over an hour apart; never again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

A group of us dined at JAM and unfortunately experienced their terrible service, high prices, and mediocre food. Two of our group received their main course around 8:30 pm and 5 of us waited until 10 pm before our food came (after repeated inquiries with our server) - no apologies and the automatic tip added did not help the impression. I would never go back. Although the mediocre food was acceptable and the live music exhibited some slight talent, there are plenty of great restaurants in São Paulo that dominate this 'experience'.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DavisCando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    216
    43
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Top Tier Sushi - Anywhere Worldwide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our international group (Argentine, Colombian, Canadian, and US) all tremendously enjoyed our evening at JAM.

The decor and atmosphere are excellent. The restaurant has an upstairs that is built on large bamboo beams and the ceiling is covered with woven bamboo mats. Even the floors are from bamboo. Jazz played throughout the evening.

The food was excellent. We had a wide variety of dishes - sushi, cooked salmon, and steak. The tuna appetizer and the salmon appetizer were incredibly good. The steak appetizer was very good. We all agreed that the best desert was the fried ice cream.

Very good service.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texas_forrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor food and bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I where there for dinner. I must say the architecture and decor are fabulous. There was also a very good live singer. Unfortunatly, that's the only good part. The service was horrible. On our arrival, we got served a plate of salmon and tuna to welcome us ( that we din't ask). We ask if it was from "la casa" and we where told yes. We where charged 12$US on our bill.... Wich we refused to pay. The starters where ok, but not impresive. We ordered 2 main dish, one for each of us (and we specified). Mine arrived at least 15 before my husband's. When his plate arrived, they took mine away because I was finihed! I must say my husband's sushis were good, but my soba noodles and vegetables was something I could have ordered in China town for 3$US.... And it cost 17$US. It was a plate of fried noodles, a few vegetables and hp sauce.

Also, total price for bad food and 2 beers: 120$US. I would have paid 40$US.

Overall experience: BAD!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie-Claude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprising few reviews here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were impressed by the single review on this restaurant, and by how good it was. We decided to check it out. Wow. This restaurant is amazing. Ambience and excellent service. We mostly had standard Japanese and sushi, and it was top quality. A little pricey, but not too bad for Sao Paulo standards. They had live music starting as we left, but unlike some places that have music that is in your face, or too loud, the music was a nice backdrop. Check it out - you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Expatexplorer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
155 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A true pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

JAM is one of those few restaurants that engages your senses and makes you an addict. The open spaces in the building allow you to appreciate the subtle decor and the sensuous live music. The staff is attentive and cordial. The food is superb. Take a seat at the sushi bar and enjoy the intensity of the show in the kitchen. I am eager to go back.

Helpful?
Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jam - Jardins also viewed

 

Been to Jam - Jardins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing