We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rodizio japanese!”
Review of Mori Ohta Sushi

Mori Ohta Sushi
Ranked #162 of 38,318 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Jardins
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rodizio japanese!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Very good service, correct prices and a good food. Not the best Japanese I've tried in my life, but I liked the idea of a Rodizio. I will surly repeat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sylwia_Barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    837
    351
    131
    51
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average sushi restaurant”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is very much a neighbour place to eat in what is a lovely area of Sao Paulo. Even on a Sunday night, many of the local Paulistas were having their family meal there with many small children. It was packed - and the staff were hard pushed to keep up with demand. A large family seated next to us had quite an altercation with the waiter and left suddenly half way through their meal. My companion was slightly nauseated by having to sit so close to their half eaten sushi for the rest of the time we spent there as no one bothered to clear the table for well over 90 minutes. Quite a distraction on top of an atmosphere nearer Pizza Express than I had hoped this cool downtown area would have.

The food is fine, not exceptional. Portions are large so one sushi platter is enough for two to share and we had some very nice goyza and skewers.

Tip: avoid the Persian Lemon Caipirinha - it tastes like iced Lemsip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andreaontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good sushi, great staff”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I like Japanese food, sushi, sashimi and tempura in particular but I am not a big fan of fusion Japanese food...strawberries on sushi is quite an interesting idea..not for me, nor is cream cheese in any disguise.
My fellow diners enjoyed it, the place is buzzing, food is fresh and there is a great choice to be had...if you ask for it.
Like other reviewers, it's very good as a concept, particularly the service but its not excellent Asian food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frances-Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasse, France
Level Contributor
216 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“overhyped or wrong name....”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I read all this wonderful and poetic reports about this restaurant, so we rushed today to go there and experience a new way of Japanese sushi cuisine. Well, to be honest - we could not find it. The staff is very friendly, the salmon (plenty-full) and tuna (also plenty-full) are fresh as is all the other food. Some taste combination with strawberries or other sweet flavors - i.e. the ginger, very good b.t.w. - are special indeed.
But overall this restaurant failed to excite us. We have eaten many Japanese restaurants around the world, but this one is not any where near to the top - to be honest. The choice of fish is rather limited and although i went for their house specialty menu - it failed to excite my taste. It is simply a good average Sushi restaurant with friendly staff - so nothing wrong with it, but by all attempts i could not see where the many other reviews found the special aspect here.
So it will remain a one off visit, despite that the fish/price ratio was amazingly good - big portions!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank globaltravellerworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Had the executive lunch which consists of 3 courses. With the waiter's help I chose the "Executive Combination" as the main course. The items were arranged in a very attractive way it all looked fresh and tasted great. The service was optimal and I felt that I am sitting among people who are enjoying their meal as much as I did.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank svr43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mori Ohta Sushi also viewed

Sao Paulo, SP
Sao Paulo, SP
 

Been to Mori Ohta Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing