We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful nerdy hostel in Sao Paulo”
Review of Telstar Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Telstar Hostel
Ranked #112 of 590 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Close to the metro, amazingly friendly staff with the most useful tips on what to do in the city. The owner took us on a free city tour and generally people are just really nice! Good breakfast, clean place with a great vibe and a nerdy theme. If you want to party, there's potential, if you don't, get a room upstairs :). Even the big dorms are clean, the matresses really comfy, and sometimes there's even a (really good) dinner option.

The only negative I can find is that the bathroom-people-relation is a bit off when it is fully booked. That's fine in the summer when you can use the pool, in the winter you might have to wait to get in the shower for a couple of minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcbritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 105 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

The staff here was pretty relaxed...some other reviews I read said they are inattentive, but I found them to be really helpful if you just ask. Cleanliness was pretty standard though at the end of the day the bathrooms could get a little dirty and the kitchen could have used a cleaning. Otherwise the internet was free and reliable, common areas were nice to relax in, and the hostel is very close to the subway. I really liked the place and I'd stay here again!

Room Tip: I only saw the six and eight bed dorms, and stayed in a six bed. The eight bed dorm looked really s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bld1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I may be biased as I had just moved from what must be the worst hostel in SP (Saci), to this sanctuary of cleanliness and friendliness. It was clean, smelled nice, the staff were helpful (though forgot to tell us until the final day there was breakfast!!).

I recommend this place, and the lovely neighbourhood it is in. Don't forget to walk back down the street towards the art college as there are some lovely spots down there to hang. (Although the staff didn't tell us about it, we discovered it ourselves).

Room Tip: If you need a twin room, say 'twin means two separate beds' as they confuse twin with double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodbyeblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Telstar does a ot of things right, it`s certainly a good shout for Sao Paulo.

It`s in a very safe, residential area of Sao Paulo and is easy to reach using public transport, either from the airport or the bus terminals. The only downside of the location is that there isn`t an abundance of shops or restaurants around that would fit into the `affordable` (GBP10 per head) bracket. There are, though, plenty of restaurants about 5 minutes walk away, but expect to pay around R$50 for a simple dinner for two. It`s simple to reach the main areas (Jardins or Av. Paulista) too.

The hostel itself is new, clean and pleasant. Bathrooms are scattered around the building and offer decent and clean showers. Dorms are a little cramped, but have comfortable, clean beds and excellent secure lockers that are enormous (fit two 70 litre backpacks). The 10 bed dorm is actually probably a better bet than the 6 bed - far more spacious.

Fabio, the owner, is really helpful and a charming fellow. Breakfast is simple, but sufficient.

Other facilities (common areas, wi-fi, PCs, etc.) are all good.

I`d not hesitate to recommend Telstar as an affordable option in Sao Paulo that is otherwise horribly overpriced (R$9 for a cup of coffee at Starbucks! Please).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAUER12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Generally a very good hostel! Very nice staff
Not many people when I visited so not so fun not what I was looking for anyway. Cleanliness in the bathroom could be better. Many bathroom don't have soap nor towels to dry your hands and it would be nice to replace those tiny bins with bigger ones and with a food pedal because they fill up very quickly and it is unhygienic to open them by hand. There is almost no space to hang things in the main bathroom upstairs because all hangers are broken.
Breakfast was a bit light for me although they offered a la carte kind of service with different options

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guyju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I stayed at Telstar hostel in the first week it opened and really liked this place. It has a sleek design with lots of nice areas to sit in. Rooms are super clean and large. The area is safe and close to cafes and shops. There is a pool, great video screen and video selection and books to read. If you are a sci-fi fan like me you will find plenty to read. Your hosts will make every effort to help you enjoy your stay and are always around for a chat. The hostel has a friendly atmosphere and although travelling on my own I felt very included there. The free breakfasts are great and there is also a cafe menu to purchase from. I can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janettea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lilian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Vila Mariana
Sao Paulo Lodge
Sao Paulo Lodge
#2 of 590 in Sao Paulo
174 reviews
Hotel Residenza
#11 of 198 in Sao Paulo
42 reviews
Vila Mariana
Brazilodge All Suites Hostels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vila Mariana
Blau Hostel
Blau Hostel
#63 of 590 in Sao Paulo
8 reviews
Vila Mariana
Purple House Hostel
Purple House Hostel
#41 of 590 in Sao Paulo
86 reviews
Vila Mariana
Roca Hostel Vila Mariana
Roca Hostel Vila Mariana
#55 of 590 in Sao Paulo
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telstar Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telstar Hostel

Address: Rua Capitao Cavalcanti 177 | Vila Mariana, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04017-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Vila Mariana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 590 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range: $40 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Telstar Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in a calm and safe neighborhood, Telstar is a cool hostel situated only 200 meters far from Vila Mariana subway station, perfect located to explore the best that Sao Paulo has to offer. Graffiti on the walls demonstrates a young and artistic atmosphere of the place, extremely similar to the urban and cosmopolitan lifestyle of Sao Paulo. Telstar is more than just a hostel, transcends the concept of simple accommodation service and becomes a stage for art, exhibitions, graffiti and artists everything shows that Telstar is not indifferent to the creative and art life. Also, we are surrounded by bars, restaurants, museums and in a short distance of Ibirapuera Park and Paulista Avenue.Telstar offers:Chill out area with swimming pool.Living room with comfy sofas.Two different options for breakfast.Free computers with fast internet access and wi-fi connection.Bar with cable TV. Optional services:Laundry.Transfers from Congonhas and Cumbica airports.Choose from:6 bed female dorm 8 bed mixed ensuite7 bed mixed dorm8 bed mixed dormDouble bed private ensuiteFree Linen.24/7 hot showers.All beds are equipped with huge security locker. (padlock no needed) If you have to cancel your booking, you must do it at least 72hrs before arrival.Check in: 14:00Check out: 12:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Telstar Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telstar Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing