We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good BBK ''Eat as you Want"”
Review of Fogo de Chao

Fogo de Chao
Ranked #50 of 38,607 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Cuisines: Barbecue, Brazilian, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Still a good BBK ''Eat as you Want"”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The original family that owned the place sold the whole Fogo de Chao chain in 2011 and, since then, the standard quality has gone down. The service is still excellent, but the meat is not as it used to be. Avoid Sundays and holidays, too crowded. Better options in Sao Paulo are Barbacoa and maybe Jardineira.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaioDamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    891
    297
    109
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellence in Meat”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I`ve been to Fogo de Chão in São Paulo for a dinner with my work peers after a whole day of hard working in a show..I must say that it was a delightful experience like finding an oasis in the middle of a scorching desert. Select wine list, good cuts of meat and a very attentive service, if it is up a suggestion here it goes: increase the variety of the salad buffet...something interesting I`ve noticed is that you can talk with your table colleagues without yelling for them to listen because although it is a very busy plase, believe it or not, it is quiet.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattosleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“All you can eat top quality meat!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a proper steakhouse / all you can eat meat (Churrascaria).

Be aware it is expensive, but totally worth it. The waiters walk around with the meat on the stick and offer different types of Brazilian cuts of meat. For example: Rump steak, top side, ribs and even exotics meats.

Vegetarians: you also have plenty of really good options on their buffet so don't be afraid to go there!


Recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RLuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“This Has Got to Be One of The All Time Favorites”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Ok, so as a Business Man, 4 times a year in Brazil, going from sophisticated city, to renting a car and driving thru Parana, where good restaurants are few and far between, this has got to be one of the all time BEST!

The service is unbelievable, really great.. They are on you, on top of it.. When you want, whatever you want..

Rodissio:

The secret is to take your time, refuse what you don't want, and ask for what you do..

That is how the locals do it, believe me, I have observed quite a few..

I used to go in and scuff it down, now, I look, see the cuts, and choose... That is the secret...

Great place, they have it down..

Much better then State Side, in The US, where the same chain, doesn't do it as well.. So its good you have to travel there to enjoy it, and its good I get to do it for business..(lol)

Its pricey, but worth it..

Hint: try not to fill up on the buffet, all though I always fail on that...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2lifeadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top One for a Meat Fan”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Fogo de Chao is my favourite barbecue house. Despite being really expensive for an all-you-can-eat restaurant (I guess it's around US$ 70 / person - no drinks included), I think its food quality is really superior, comparing to other restaurants of the same kind.

I am not sure if it's worth for kids. You really eat a lot there. It's common to see lots of foreigners there in workdays - maybe the majority of the clients. Also, in my opinion it's not a restaurant for a date.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Masaishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo de Chao also viewed

 

Been to Fogo de Chao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing