We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise”

Souths Place Churrascaria
Ranked #1,746 of 38,608 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Barbecue, Brazilian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Panama City, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This restaurant was a great surprise. We asked the Front Desk at the hotel (located next to the Transamerica Expo Center, far from everything) about dinner options. They called the restaurant and they sent a car to pick-up us. That was the beginning of a very positive experience.

The area near the restaurant is not the most beautiful but the restaurant's decor and the friendly of the staff makes you feel comfortable as soon as you step-in.

The quality of the meat was very good and the salad bar was not limited to just lettuce. It offered a big variety of vegetables, salads, side dish options: potatoes, rice, puree, .... If that is not enough, at the table the water is constantly serving delicious varieties of bread: pao de queijo, garlic bread, etc. etc. Very good quality for a decent rate compare to other Churrascarias. This one even include dessert!

After a good dinner we were driven back to the hotel with no extra charge.

Strongly recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tbaurez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    174
    83
    36
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Lunch”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

South's is the best Churrascuria to eat in Sao Paulo. They always give a great price and the food is always the same. Delicious. Fresh juices, sodas, salad bar, sushi, and the Meat is Amazing!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank patimt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great meat”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've been here several times now, and am generally quite happy, I use the free shuttle bus to collect and drop me back off at my hotel, and I find the price quite reasonable, especially for São Paulo.
The big downside for me is always the buffet, I find much of it at either end of the spectrum, either tasteless or too many different tastes in one dish, I'm not Brazilian so maybe it just does not suit my palate?
The service is always more than adequate, and even though I cannot speak Portuguese, I still manage easily.

Even though this restaurant is in a safe area, make sure you get a cab as a group or use the shuttle bus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GBSDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,008 reviews
617 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
“Dissapointing.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Yes the meat is quite good. The problem is the rest, in this huge restaurant, starting by the buffett: avoid the Sushi - for example - old, dry and with sticky rice - the taste also, was....missing. The rest of the buffett is on the low side (strange as in SP it is usually fresh & good). The service is...almost apsent, slow and non motivated. Good beer, ok deserts. Dissapointing, but maybe it was the wrong evening....

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Romanbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“They think of everything”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The Brazilian barbeque is an assault to the system with waiters appearing at your side brandishing enormous knives to slice meat from long skewers on to your plate. The meat varies from very tender to quite chewy but very enjoyable when washed down with an excellent glass of Brazilian beer - and believe it or not they even have dental floss and mouth wash available in the washroom!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Watsonsgotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souths Place Churrascaria also viewed

 

Been to Souths Place Churrascaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing