We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why is this hostel number 2 in Sao Paulo? It's not very nice.”
Review of LimeTime Hostels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
LimeTime Hostels
Ranked #20 of 590 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here after reading the good reviews on Tripadvisor. The dorms are ok, although pretty overpriced. The guy behind the reception, it was his second day, was really cool and friendly. We still felt pretty unwelcome though, with one girl of the staff screaming all the time like this was here personal property.

While working on an article I had to finish suddenly a guy turns off the lights and puts on the music. Together with two girls eating I was the only one sitting in the bar. He didn't even look at me. People had to ring the bell several times at every occasion while I was there, because the staff was drinking beer in the yard.

Rest of the hostel is pretty OK, but nothing special. Small communal rooms and you can only sit on the concrete floor outside. Toilets were pretty dirty.

While making the clients feel unwelcome with loud and underground house music the staff seemed to have a really good time among each other though. At least they were having fun...

If this hostel is number two in Sao Paulo, other hostels must be pretty bad...

Room Tip: The 6 bed dorm is cramped, the 8 bed is actually nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 568 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

The hostel is conveniently located. It is within walking distance to the subway station Verqueiro (blue line) and to the Paulista Avenue (both about four blocks away). Banks and ‘different places to eat are also within easy walking distance.
The hostel occupies two buildings with a fairly large courtyard in between them. My four-bed dorm was in the back building, on the second floor together with a six bed dorm. On the main floor there was a bar, WC and a shower. The dorms I have seen were spacious, renovated, brightly painted with nice floors. The beds in my dorms were newer, clean and comfortable. The bottom bunk-beds even had curtains. The linen was clean, once of decent quality, but now in a very, very bad shape. Cleanliness in my dorm and the rest of building in the back was poor. During my five-night stay my dorm was not cleaned once. Judging from the rubbish and dust below the beds, it looked like it had not been cleaned for a while. The WC and shower rooms in this building looked cleaned only very superficially and the WC room at times was quite disgusting. But the front building and its bathrooms appeared much cleaner. I have tried three of the four showers (all with electric water heaters), but only one (the middle one in the main building) had warm enough water for showering (…it was, apparently, unusually cold weather during my visit…). Three out of the four reception staff I had experience with were very n ice, hospitable and helpful. My only incident was with one staff member who at the check-out asked me to pay for my last two nights again, even though I already paid (her) for these two nights. I met a friend I made in this hostel later on in a different city. He told me he had similar experience with the same person during his check-out as well. But at the end neither of us had to pay again. This may be a coincidence; but it is something to watch out for. The hostel doesn’t give receipts for your payments (because apparently “it is in their computer”).
The kitchen was smaller but well equipped. There was a smallish reception area with TV and some computers. The inside common areas were a bit small but the courtyard in summer will make up for it. I visited in the off-season and it was very cold and rainy. But in summer the courtyard must be a nice space to hang-out. The Wi-Fi was good and reached my dorm. There was no breakfast offered.
I was not thrilled with this hostel. After seeing the high rating and the great reviews on this site I expected better. I would neither, discourage somebody from staying in this hostel, nor recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank povetron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Lime Time is very centrally situated in Sao Paulo and easy to access using public transport. It´s also really easy to get around on foot to Liberdade (Japan Town) and close to the metro.

Paulistas are very friendly and helpful and the staff at Lime Time are awesome. They are friendly and know where the goos places are and even teach you how to mix cocktails while you are there. The facilities are great!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bianca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Had a nice time at the Limetime; staff was well informed of the fun things happening around town, and kept a whiteboard of the daily & nightly suggested outings. Having the Limetime wristband also gets you into place, so that's pretty cool.

This hostel is advertised as a party hostel, but thankfully when the night came, I was still able to get some sleep! I recommend it, as it is very important to get the right guidance in a city the size of Sao Paolo.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexJ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Overall, the staff was very friendly and helpful -- even ensuring that I got a taxi to take me to the right bus terminal -- and the rooms were clean. It was nice to gather in the bar/patio area in the evenings and socilaize with other travellers. They also posted a number of things you could do each day and gave good advice as to how to get around, etc. I felt save in the location and it had good access to the Metro.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Great staff and a clean hostel for sure. Could do with a more communal area in which to socialise, but on the whole a good experience.

Room Tip: choose one of the bigger dorm rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I like stay in the hostel Lime Time, there good room, good TV-DVD, good internet!!! ;)) But need make breakfast for morning free!!! Thank boss!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russia1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Grand Plaza Sao Paulo Jardins
#62 of 326 in Sao Paulo
469 reviews
Bela Vista
Hotel Mercure Sao Paulo Bela Vista
Bela Vista
Maksoud Plaza
Maksoud Plaza
#33 of 326 in Sao Paulo
2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bela Vista
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
#9 of 326 in Sao Paulo
1,026 reviews
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 326 in Sao Paulo
1,608 reviews
Jardins
Ibis Paulista
Ibis Paulista
#48 of 326 in Sao Paulo
2,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LimeTime Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LimeTime Hostels

Address: Rua Treze de Maio 1552, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01327-002, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Bela Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 590 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range: $11 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LimeTime Sao Paulo is taking a break! If you're looking for a party, LimeTime Hostel could be the place for you. Along with having a bar on the premises and no curfew, the hostel staff goes the extra mile by taking their guests out clubbing and even providing discount admissions. The hostel provides private rooms and dorms, with one dorm designed for women only. Bed linens are included in the price. Other amenities include a guest kitchen, free Internet access and a TV with DVDs in the reception area. Bathroom facilities are shared with one designated for women only. LimeTime is located two blocks from Avenida Paulista. This hostel is lively and fun but if you're not into the party scene, it might not be the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your LimeTime Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LimeTime Hostels Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing