We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, safe, clean aaaaaaand friendly staff”
Review of Olah Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olah Hostel
Ranked #67 of 590 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After 3 weeks backpacking in Brazil it was a delight to stay at this hostel. It was in a great location near to the metro station. Was superclean compared to the other hostels we stayed in Brazil. Service just amazing: staff was not only helpful but very attentive with all their guests. The generous breakfast was just the cherry on the cake :) Keep in mind, we stayed there after staying in various Brazilian cities. Thank you for this nice experience!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 79 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

Not a party hostel, which is great for a good night's sleep, but not great for meeting people.
- Great location, in a safe area (there is a neighborhood watch guard on the street hired by the residents) and about 5 mins walk to the metro: take Dr. José Queiros Aranha street 2 blocks downhill and turn left.
It's on the right.
- Supermarket and pharmacy right next to the metro.
- very comfortable beds, shelves and reading lights in the bunks!
- Breakfast is ok, not amazing.
- Bathrooms are spacious but could be cleaner...
- Very friendly and helpful staff

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rh584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

When I stayed here, I wondered whether I just had high expectations as most of the hostels I have stayed in have been in Europe, but on reflection I think I was being fair. The breakfast was good, lots of choice and nice coffee. There was one very friendly host, but apart from that I did not find them to be very welcoming, particularly compared to the Brazilians I encountered on the streets of Sao Paulo, who were incredibly kind and helpful. There didn't seem to be a sheet on my bed either. The showers were fine though.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EloiseNeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I loved this Hostel. I booked a couple of nights, as I usually do where ever i go, but stayed more than a week before i went to Santa Catharina. The hostel is super clean, quiet, peaceful, wonderful and friendly staff. I want to send a big hug to Rodrigo and co. The location is just wonderful in one of the best neighborhoods in Sao Paulo. Not a place for party lovers or heavy drinkers.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matteus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Had an amazing stay at Olah Hostel! Friendly staff, great location, great spacious rooms and amazibg breakfast. The bathrooms are ok for shared bathrooms and the sheets are very clean!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Almeneses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Everything was fine until I developed tiny red itchy dots on my arms and legs which the owner said "maybe you´re allergic to something." Being in the medical field, I know this is NOT an allergy but bed bug bites. When my friend found the actual bed bug crawling slowly on his right forearm, then they acknowledge that we were telling the truth and the cleaning lady said "oh again." It seems whatever they did to the room two weeks prior to our stay was inadequate and inappropriate for us to stay there. If we had known, we would not stay. Also, instead of letting us use the washer-dryer, the receptionist lady told us to not use it anymore. They rushed us out of the room.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ersu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

came here with friends having a good time... girl i came with had a couple bites the next day which we thought were mosquito bites. they actually worsened the next day followed by me finding an actual tiny bed bug on my arm. at first they thought the girl had an allergy (we didn´t believe them because we are all medical professionals & know what that looks like). once they saw the bug they believed us, refunded us & allowed us to use their washer\dryer, until that female receptionist revoked that privledge from us due to their need to wash clothes (very poor service). The worse part was the maid who was very nice actually said "oh, they`re back again!" so apparently they fumataged incorrectly.. I don`t think they did it correctly (with very dry heat & intense professional exterminators). Anyway, due to the bites & me finding a bug on my arm, i highly recommend NOT staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilligan707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Vila Mariana
Upper Hotel
Upper Hotel
#273 of 326 in Sao Paulo
83 reviews
Vila Mariana
Yellow House Hostel International
Vila Mariana
Brazilodge All Suites Hostels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vila Mariana
Sao Paulo Lodge
Sao Paulo Lodge
#4 of 590 in Sao Paulo
174 reviews
Vila Mariana
Nomade In Art & Hostel
Nomade In Art & Hostel
#53 of 590 in Sao Paulo
45 reviews
Vila Mariana
Roca Hostel Vila Mariana
Roca Hostel Vila Mariana
#56 of 590 in Sao Paulo
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olah Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olah Hostel

Address: Rua Alceu Wamosy 40, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04105-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Vila Mariana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 590 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range: $11 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olah Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estrutura: O Olah Hostel possui um ambiente familiar com clima de casa. Nós somos conhecidos por ser um hostel calmo e tranqüilo, ou seja, aqui sua qualidade de sono é garantida. Para sua comodidade todos estes itens são inclusos nas diárias: - Café da manhã - Cozinha equipada onde você poderá preparar suas próprias refeições. - Recepção 24 horas. - WIFI forte e estável inclusive nos quartos e área externa - Internet super rápida com 2 links redundantes para garantir sua navegação. - Roupa de cama e tolha de banho. - Depósito de malas/Lockers - Quartos com chaves individuais - Computadores conectados à internet na recepção - Sala com TV a cabo e DvD. Nossa localização é privilegiada, estamos localizados na Vila Mariana, um dos bairros nobres de São Paulo. Ficamos a apenas 5 minutos a pé da Estação Ana Rosa de metrô, que possui as linhas - azul e verde. Além disso, estamos: - a 10 minutos de ônibus ou 20 minutos caminhando até o Parque Ibirapuera. - a 15 minutos até a Avenida ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Olah Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olah Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing