We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel ever”
Review of Hotel Gran Corona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gran Corona
Ranked #172 of 326 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

a four stars hotel with dirty rooms, small and unconfortable beds, very noisy and old air condition machines, dirty carpet, no shampoo and hairdryer, unfriendly personneel.located in the very center of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemmy16it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 94 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

Old and tired hotel, no upgrades were made for the last 30 - 35 years... It is definitely not a 4 star hotel, but rather 2/ max 3 stars. We were not provided even with the shampoo (for the suites only...seriously). Very uncomfortable bed. Crib for the baby was old and smelled like urine. Not recommended at all

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed on this Hotel on the first week of March, The location is excellent if you want to reach everything from the downtown, the Republica Metro is near, and the rooms are confortable.
One thing that they have to fix is the Wi-fi conection, on the room 404 I couldn't conect my hole stay, They told me the first day that they will fix it, but until I leave the hotel the problem persist.
Great Breakfast buffet, I will recommend this Hotel if they fix the WI-Fi.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocha2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

ok, the hotel is not new, but certainly in good condition, in an excellent location, 150 yards from Republica Metro and our 11th floor room was absolutely clean, new large bathroom and
very comfortable large living area something "new" hotels would charge 3 times as much for . Anything comparable we looked at in the area cost 50 to 80% more. The staff was courteous and helpful and while the wifi connection was not always the best there was no reason to get frustrated. Free breakfast was decent. We did not try the restaurant otherwise. I would definitely stay here again, it cost just 5 bucks between 257 bus and Subway to get here from GRU and we enjoyed the downtown Sao Paulo location every day.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cineasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in The Gran Corona Sao Paulo. The hotel itself is very central and clean but looking slightly dated and tired. The staff were all very friendly and tried as best to help in English. I don't think we will be in Sao Paulo again , not a lot to do or see, just happened to have an international flight to Europe from here, but for anyone needing to stay in the area - don't pass The Gran Corona by.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddieGCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

No hesitation in recommending this hotel which is perfectly located 1 minute from Praca da Republica. The metro station is that same one minute away and the stop for the airport bus is just 4 minutes away on the other side of the square. Everything was just so easy. Thanks to the location of the Gran Corona, we arrived via airport bus. Toured the city by Metro. Easily walked to many of the main sites. Caught a cab late at night. Enjoyed the life that surrounds the square. All this just outside the hotel door When out Stay Aware. Such is the homeless situation in Sao Paulo, there are many poor souls sleeping on the street. Take care when moving around. It’s OK in the day but at night and on Sundays when it is quieter, be extra vigilant Some say it is an hotel that is a little past its prime and maybe some of that “gran” has gone. But with older hotels you do get some advantages. Large spacious rooms complete with office area, seating area, mini bar with fridge, large bedroom area and big bathroom shower. It was spotlessly clean, had fast free internet and a breakfast buffet spread that was excellent. Some of those old fashioned values were apparent in the staff who were polite, helpful and so willing to help. Put aside your prejudice of old. Try the Gran Corona – it really is worthwhile. And hey, you may get lucky (?) and get a room with an avocado bathroom suite. Now there is an antique worth seeing!

Room Tip: Do not take a room above the 10th floor. Above that and you'll hear every clunk of the lift mach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is practically a hotel with a very good location. During my first day I just walked for 15-20mins to Praca Da Se (Catedral Metropolitana) and Liberdade (Japanese quarters). The next day I also walked to the area where Edificio de Altino Arantes is located. The hotel is also just near the metro station of Republica which I took in going to places like Avenida Paulista, Vila Madalena & Museu Paulista. The hotel is quite old but I like its rustic charm and squeaky cleanliness. The staff were ever helpful and kind. Wi-fi internet access was definitely fast and available for free anywhere in the hotel. Add to that the two cozy, Victorian-style receiving areas (lobby). Breakfast was included in the rate and the food was above average.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kielwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Republica
San Juan Business Sao Paulo
San Juan Business Sao Paulo
#131 of 326 in Sao Paulo
223 reviews
Republica
Hotel Boulevard Inn Sao Paulo
Hotel Boulevard Inn Sao Paulo
#87 of 326 in Sao Paulo
317 reviews
Republica
Nobile Hotel Downtown
Nobile Hotel Downtown
#61 of 326 in Sao Paulo
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vila Buarque
Hotel Calstar
Hotel Calstar
#88 of 326 in Sao Paulo
363 reviews
Republica
Hotel Excelsior Sao Paulo
Hotel Excelsior Sao Paulo
#104 of 326 in Sao Paulo
380 reviews
Republica
Maraba Hotel Sao Paulo
Maraba Hotel Sao Paulo
#105 of 326 in Sao Paulo
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Corona

Address: Rua Basilio da Gama 101, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01046-020, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Republica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 326 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Price Range: $58 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Corona 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Gran Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Corona Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing