We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
156
83
18
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
83
18
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night lockers subway backpackers reais
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 264 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2018

I spent 15 days at Sampa Hostel back in January 2018 and it was a marvellous experience. The owners were attentive and caring. The rest of the staff were super friendly and cool. They made me feel like I was at home.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Filipe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017 via mobile

This is basically a hostel that seems to have been set up 10 years ago and no improvement has been done since then.

A classic Spartan backpackers with too few and dirty toilets, and nothing more than a bed to crash.

Unfortunately, on top of it, there is massive construction projects just next door. Starting to get noisy (seriously) from about 6-7am Monday to Saturday.

Location is about 10min away from Subway, in a safe neighborhood.

Lockers.

Poor wifi.

Not recommended, surely you'll get better beds for your bucks. Owners need to reevaluate the offering otherwise this hostel will go out of business soon.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Lightpacker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2016

I really like very much my stayed at this hostel: close to all the bars in Vila Madalena, cheap, clean (I really don't have any appointment to say about that) and nice. The breakfast is good, but could have a upgrade, showers is Ok, rooms is OK, but I do not sure about the security of the lockers. They could change for another kind of lockers, it will be very nice.
By the way, it was a great opportunity!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheoRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2016 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights and were happy to be able to park our car inside the area without surcharge. The staff is ok. it they don't do too much.... in general it's not a hostel for socializing. When it gets cold outside there is no space where you can feel comfortable, you just can go into your dorm because everything is outside. The kitchen is fine and on our departure day they have us breakfast at 5:30 which was really kind. It's ok to stay there as it is in a nice and safe area but don't expect to meet new people etc

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana S, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2016

Hi Nicole, thanks on your comments
We´re sorry you didn´t get to know many people.
We wish you had talk to us, so we could have pointed some event nearby the hostel.
Hope to see you again and make your staying much better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2016 via mobile

I spent three nights here and had a good time. The hostel itself is not the newest, the breakfast is ok, bread cheese some fruits, standard. The stuff was very friendly and they have a nice common area with hammocks and a tv were we spend some evenings watching movies.

The area of Vila madalena is perfect to stay. A supermarket and the metro are in walking distance and there are a lot of nice bars restaurants and coffee shops near by. Because of the nightlife I always felt safe walking around alone even as a girl. If you don't mind a little walking you can also walk the way into the center.

The hostel offers something to do every day, also at night so you won't get bored and you'll meet some great people there, I did.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank marlene_zaiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana S, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2016

Hi Marlene,

Many thanks on your comments.
We´re very glad you had such a good experience, felt safe walking around and enjoyed our common areas.
Hope to see you here again, so we can make your staying even better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews