We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are better ones”
Review of Sampa Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sampa Hostel
Ranked #15 of 559 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Araraquara, SP
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“There are better ones”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

In particular i had a bad stay in this hostel, i recomend you to not stay here. First when i came, an owner friend car´s was blocking the entrace and i had to wait 30 min to that man make me the favor of move his car! Later facilites are so deficient, i think they do not have the minimun idea of ergonomy. The smell is not good, they have problems with humidity! But staff were very nice with us.

Room Tip: Look for another place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yamiroqaou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah_Cavalieri, Proprietário at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
First of all, it is impossible to identify who you are. You did not sign your review or gave us the date that you stayed here at the hostel. None of the staffs remembers any situation like that. What means that you did not complain about anything to us, directly, at any time. And on March we were full almost the whole month with groups of guest from all over the world and the Festival (Lollapalooza).
Second, it is almost impossible that you had to wait for 30 minutes. Number one: there are Valet services at the restaurant beside us that help us with our guests. Number two: Our garage supports up to 6 cars!
So if you want to contact us and tell when all this happen to you we would love to here about it and correct it.
We do have a book of “Complains” and one of “Suggestions” for those who are not comfortable to speak up.
Hope to see you again and change your mind about us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    78
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
15
82
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A great place to stay, and an even nicer staff to help you get settled while enjoying time or work in Sao Paulo, Brazil. As an American traveling to Brazil for the first time it was nice to have the small details handled by the Sampa hostel, such as a transfer to and from the airport upon arrival. Also, having staff who could speak English, and also who can teach you a few words in Portuguese really went a long way with me. I recently stayed at Sampa and was greeted with a smile every morning, and some of the best bread I've ever had to go along with my fresh fruit and coffee in the morning. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, and I felt safe walking around the neighborhood at night. If it's your first time in SP, make sure to taste at least "um" Guaraná [Antarctica]

-JD

Room Tip: If you get the private room you may never want to leave!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JD_chopcertified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

nice hostel, great breakfast, super friendly guys at the reception in a nice nighborhood, you never thought it will exist in sao paulo!

besos a nataly ;)
the guy who forgot his shorts at this great place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sebb96w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I don't usually stay in hostels, but with the quality of service here it hardly felt like one at all. Very friendly staff, I was impressed by the little things - our laundry was left outside to dry while we were out visiting and it started raining- the staff took it down and folded it for us. A nice breakfast is included in the price, including a panini press. We received free tickets to a party that normally has a large cover. The hostel is very close to a metro station. And the staff was very helpful with maps and suggestions of what to visit! I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ismail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have a nice staying at this hostel. The staff is very helpful and I have noticed they have a good English since the place had many foreign travelers. But the best thing there is the location in the heart VIla Madalena - one of the better neighbors in São Paulo, surrounded by many pubs, restaurants and art galleries. And close to a subway station which takes you to Paulista Avenue in just a few minutes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luistesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I really like my staying at Sampa Hostel. The staff and place is great. It's located in one of the best and safe neighboors of Sao Paulo, Vila Madalena.
Staff is very helpfull and speak fluent english.
Gonçalo and Deborah are amazing as the rest of the persons who worked there.
If I come back to SP definitely I'll go to Sampa Hostel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaMargaridaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

I stayed one night with my girlfriend and Saturday in the mornig wake up was when they began to hit on the roof to fix some water infiltration.
I paid R$ 100 to haave a good rest, and they spoilt it. When I try to explain at the reception that for a 30 minute noisy repairing they could have waited the afternoon it didn't seem to make sense to them.
I wasn't informed the day before about the repair.
Conclusion is that guest here is just not considered as a customer.
Let alone icky breakfast.
Try another hostal if you like restful places with kid staff.
Jean

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jb_sampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah_Cavalieri, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Unfortunately, like the entire World, there are some storms in town on some seasons of the year. At that specific night, the one you slept at the hostel, there was a REALLY strong one. We never do repairs or maintenance on weekends or early in the morning, unless is extremely necessary, and that was the case! Because of the storm that night one part of the roof just flew away and we HAD TO ask the guy to fix it right away or the bedrooms on the first floor would be wet because of the rain.
When you came to the reception we tried to explain it to you, but you just didn’t let us do that. Instead of that you just kept screaming at the receptionist.
All our clients are important to us! The maintenance took just half hour and was done to help 30 people that were on the first floor!
We are very sorry that that happened while you were here, but we cannot control the weather and/or the storms.
Hope that you come back one day and enjoy all the other good things that the Hostel can provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Pinheiros
Hostel Brasil Boutique
Hostel Brasil Boutique
#37 of 559 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Viva Hostel Design
#9 of 559 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Pinheiros
O de Casa Hostel
O de Casa Hostel
#30 of 559 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Consolacao
Bee.W Hostel
Bee.W Hostel
#6 of 559 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Jardins
The Hostel Paulista
The Hostel Paulista
#11 of 559 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Vila Mariana
Sao Paulo Lodge
Sao Paulo Lodge
#1 of 559 in Sao Paulo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampa Hostel

Property: Sampa Hostel
Address: Rua Girassol 519 | Via Madalena, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 05433-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Pinheiros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 559 Specialty Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sampa Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place for people with young spirit who look for an environment of integration, with an affordable price and safety as if they were in a hotel.Sampa Hostel is part of Hostelling International and is located in the center of Vila Madalena, a super cool neighborhood full of bars, clubs, restaurants and art galleries.Offering single, double, couple and family rooms and also dorms, Sampa Hostel has a 24 hour reception, personalized service and bilingual staff ready to provide full information on what to do in the city, where to go and how to arrive.Sampa Hostel is certificated as one of the Quality Hostels from HI.We are waiting for you to show the largest city in South America, in a totally different way that you have never seen so far. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Sampa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampa Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing