We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will keep ordering the gin tonic...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Vin Bistro

Le Vin Bistro
Ranked #282 of 38,109 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $76
Cuisines: French, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Jardins
Description: Authentic bistro, serving classic French dishes in a cosy and charming atmosphere. From early morning until late night.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I will keep ordering the gin tonic...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

And complaining about the fact that they still have the gin tonic price in the menu but when you order the thing they will charge you this value + the tonic.

Complained already once, they said process had been fixed, but unfortunately it happened again today.

It seems they are not happy with the huge margin they already have, so they are trying to get a little bit more. My husband always has a Negroni when we go there (they have the drink in the menu) and I am already surprised that they don't charge us separately for the Campari, the gin and the vermouth.

Helpful?
Thank fernandabuonafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela F, Public Relations Manager at Le Vin Bistro, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear fernandabuonafi,

We're very sorry to hear that, despite our efforts, you were once again charged wrongly.

After your first complaint, the management was informed and the waiters and bar staff received extra training so it would be clear when a client ordered the cocktail gin and tonic or, separately, the gin and a can of tonic.

Unfortunately it seems that not all of them got the message and so it happened to you once again.

In order to address the problem accordingly it would be very important if you could let us know the time and date of your visit, as well as the name of the person that served you (or what he or she looked like). You can write to gabrielasampaio@levin.com.br.

We thank you in advance and hope to hear from you.

Best regards,

Gabriela, on behalf of Grupo Le Vin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    249
    68
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

It was between lunch & dinner time & we weren't sure we could find a good place to eat.
Found this spot packed with locals.
We are vegetarian which can be problematic in Brazil but were pleasantly surprised.
Food delicious & fresh.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OferShel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela F, Public Relations Manager at Le Vin Bistro, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear OferShel,

We're very pleased to hear about your experience at Le Vin!

Thank you very much for your recommendation and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An average experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The food is in general good at the same time with solar price the choice for food and environment in São Paulo is much wider.
Good for causal time. A little bit noisy for business dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Renato28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela F, Public Relations Manager at Le Vin Bistro, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Renato28,

We are sorry to hear your experience at Le Vin was only average, as we aim to deliver the best to our clients.

If you would like to let us know more details of your visit to Le Vin - such as the time and day, as well as your orders - we would be very grateful. You can write to gabrielasampaio@levin.com.br

We look forward to hearing from you and thank you for your review. Our clients' opinions are very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as good as it thinks it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Having read some favourable reviews we went with a positive attitude but were broadly disappointed.

The restaurant/bistro is clearly popular with locals, which is normally a good sign, however, we were not overly impressed. I ordered beef carpaccio as a starter and salmon as a main course; both were quite bland and instantly forgettable.

What annoyed me most, upon presentation of the bill, was that the bread which had been put on the table (and replenished once) was charged at BRL25 (£7). Call me a miser if you like, but that seems a lot for a few slices of bread and butter?

There’s nothing actively wrong with this restaurant, but given the choice locally, I would not bother going again as it is not only unimaginative cooking but also overpriced in absolute terms and in comparison to the local competition (try Jam for a fantastic and reasonably priced Japanese or Piza Na Mao for a great pizza).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela F, Public Relations Manager at Le Vin Bistro, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear JamesDenver,

We are very sorry to hear that after reading favourable reviews on TripAdvisor your expectations were not met.

The couvert (homemade bread, butter and pate de foie) is indeed not complimentary, and is charged per person, as in most restaurants like Le Vin in Brazil. It is not mandatory and only served after the client agrees. From then onwards it is served as many times as necessary/requested and only charged once. This information, along with the price (R$ 9,40 at lunchtime and R$ 12,70 for dinner) is available on the menu and also is repetead by our waiters.

Our prices reflect our choice of ingredients: all carefully sourced so we can offer the best of bistro cuisine. Nevertheless, we aim to offer our clients a wide variety of price ranges, with set lunch menus and the Plats du Jour at competitive prices, especially amongst French restaurants in São Paulo.

More than anything, our waiting staff and maître d' are always available to answer any doubts our clients may have and have feedback on the orders. If this wasn't your case, we sincerely apologise.

If you would like to let us know more details of your visit - such as the time and day and your experience with the waiting staff - we'd be very grateful. You can write to gabrielasampaio@levin.com.br

Thank you for your review and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marechal Candido Rondon, PR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“the suggestion of what it should be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just another São Paulo dining experience: the suggestion of what it should be, at twice the price it would be anywhere else in the world.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Sampasoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela F, Public Relations Manager at Le Vin Bistro, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Sampasoul,

We're sorry to hear you were not impressed with Le Vin.

Please, feel free to let us know more details of your visit, as your opinion is very important to us. You can write to gabrielasampaio@levin.com.br

We hope you consider visiting Le Vin again. You'll be very welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Vin Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing