We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authetically Brazilian”
Review of Rodeio

Rodeio
Reserve with
Rodeio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #897 of 38,371 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $42 - $51
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Jardins
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authetically Brazilian”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our Brazilian friends took us to this restaurant for lunch on a Saturday. It was my favorite food experience in Brazil.

The atmosphere was a bit dated but in a good way. It felt very homey and the details in the decor exotic and authentic. The tiled wall detail reminded me of Portugal.

The presentation, especially the presentation/cooking of the rice right by our table, was great. The sides (onions in vinegar, tomatoes and other vegetables in a vinegrette) were a great complement to the meats. The meats - delicious but one of the cuts was bit tougher than I hoped. The salad was okay. It was like a slaw but the seasoning was somewhat bland. The rice was fantastic and basically made my meal! The rice had some crispy potatoes or something that added texture and flavor to the rice. And the beans were good.

All in all, it was a great Brazilian BBQ experience without the all-you-can-eat feeling.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMK965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    116
    67
    30
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unacceptable, for a restaurant charging R$90 for a piece of steak”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were taken to Rodeio by friends as a special treat and could not have been more disappointed with the quality of the meat. My husband and I chose to share a fraldinha, ( skirt steak) which we often BBQ at home and love for its tender quality. The meat we were served at Rodeio was tough and my bit was definitely overcooked and I left most of it. I would have sent it back but did not want to embarrass our hosts. I will not be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CaluBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Amazing steak house in São Paulo”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Really the best steaks and service. Location excellent too. Pricey but worth every penny. Everything ordered was simply superb in presentation and taste. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKbusinesstravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but quite expensive”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The food was excellent, really have no complaints aside from the cost. The Picanha Fatiada for one person easily feeds a hungry couple. Everything was great and tasted awesome. My only complaint is the cost, which is abusive despite the great food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great meat”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Although the decoration of the Iguatemi unit is not really my favorite (the animal skin everywhere freaks me out) both that unit and the Jardins unit are very pleasant and have great meat and service. Just watch out for the (rather long) lines on weekends!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juliana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rodeio also viewed

 

Been to Rodeio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing