We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room.”
Review of Hotel Moncloa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Moncloa
Ranked #191 of 321 Hotels in Sao Paulo
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great room.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for about 3 days and really liked it.

The person doing the check ins was very helpful and tried to provide us with valuable information as far as distance to interesting places.

Room: Our room was very clean, bathroom was spotless and there was a safety box to store all the important documents (make sure you check it before you leave, don't want to leave anything behind). Even though we didn't really have a view, I always enjoy at least having a window so I can see outside and let the sunlight in.

Breakfast: It was your tipical OJ, bread, jelly.. but it was already included, no complains here.

Location: Well, this is pretty much up to you know. If you like to walk, then location won't be an issue as you are within a few blocks walking distance of interesting places. There is a mall pretty close to the hotel where you can find a pharmacy (should you need it, like we did) and there is a grocery store nearby as well (sometimes you just need a whole gallon and not a small bottle). Do know, I was walking ahead of my then fiancee (now husband) and a very good looking and nice lady took the time to offer her services while I was not watching.. not sure if this was just a random event or they do work nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yadyrra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    106
    81
    18
    6
See reviews for
19
47
44
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuiaba, MT
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I chose this hotel because it has a great rating here on TA but I was a little let down by the quality of the hotel.

The location is really great. The street is full of life in the nights and in the days it is close to many of the city attractions. Do not worry about safety, if you are accustomed to navigating city night life you will have no problems - But it does has it shares of drunks and girls.


As for the hotel it has an OK bed, a TV with many channels and the sound isolation is good (important being at that location). The rooms are kept nice and clean.

The rest of the hotel is really so, so.

The service gets the job done but you do not feel particularly valued. Breakfast quality is not good enough for the price. Rooms are a little too old and outdated.

One thing that particularly annoyed me is that you cannot turn the TV off or change the input. It is one of those locked types - They just locked it completely and do not give you are remote. So when there is power in the room, the TV is on - Also when you sleep - That is annoying and a waste of energy. Further I usually bring cables to connect my devices so I can watch my movies - But that is not possible and that cannot be changed according to the hotel.

All in all, I am really close to giving this hotel a 2. But location swings it to 3.

Room Tip: As high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The staff was very helpful and friendly, English speaking and Markus even speaks German. The price/value ratio is very good, room is clean and spacious. Location is central between Avenua Paulista and Praca de Publica. However, there is a walk about 15min to the metro stations. You are in the middle of a bar and party area, which is lively during day and night. Aiport Bus directly drops you there.
It can be really noisy during the night (bars and people outside, cars playing loud music, etc.), keep that in mind if you don't have a deep sleep. In contrast to other reviews, this area is also lively in the evening and I always felt safe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not point directly to Rua Augusta because of the noise there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sparefroh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Rooms to the back of the main street are quieter although the air conditioning was noisy. Excellent attention and nice breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Teo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world wide
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Plus points, its very central and the airport bus drops you off outside the door. It is easy to walk up to the center and tehre are cafes and bars about. On a weekend there are loads of clubs on the door step, but with that brings the night time dregs and i was stepping over beggars and drunks to try and get into the bank ATM which was a little worrying. During the week tehre is tumble weed blowing down the street by night ( not quite ) Noise can be heard from the other rooms at night so if your a light sleeper not so good. Room was clean and the bed comfortable and for the price was OK. No service on a weekend and ngiht time staff are not up to much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldlywise2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2012

this hotel is in the discothec street of sao paulo it s imposible to sleep with the music untill 4 am
the boss don t make discount
dangerous at night wit all the junkies and prostitutes in the street
you can find same prices with tha same quality in the center where ther is no noise
in the morning in the street there is all the garbage pee condoms and so one of the night
if you like risk and loose your money go there

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aldo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sao Paulo hotels

Taipei
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I've stayed in Hotel Moncloa from Apr 9th ~ 14th for business. I can tell you from my personal experience, their manager / reception staff members provide the best services and I couldn't have asked for anymore. I love their free breakfast and freshly brewed coffee for breakfast. They also serve free coffee after two in the lobby - a very nice touch in my opinion.

Their hotel is well-maintained and rooms are clean & fresh and within walking distance to Av. Paulista and to the newer side of the city. Hotel Moncloa is a great hotel and suits my business trip well. I will book at this hotel again if I am ever in Sao Paulo.

服務優質 客氣 5星級的服務但只需要3星級的價格 真的物超所值 . 地點離我參加的會場非常接近 真的提供了一個很棒的場所.

Sincerely,
Yao Peng Chang

Room Tip: Upper floors are definitely more suitable than lower floors if you wish to have a quiet room at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YPChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Consolacao
Augusta Boulevard Hotel Sao Paulo
Consolacao
155 Hotel
155 Hotel
#187 of 321 in Sao Paulo
275 reviews
Consolacao
Augusta Park Residence
Augusta Park Residence
#168 of 321 in Sao Paulo
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Consolacao
Braston Hotel Sao Paulo
Braston Hotel Sao Paulo
#224 of 321 in Sao Paulo
600 reviews
Consolacao
Ibis Budget SP Frei Caneca
Ibis Budget SP Frei Caneca
#68 of 321 in Sao Paulo
321 reviews
Consolacao
Braston Augusta
Braston Augusta
#300 of 321 in Sao Paulo
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moncloa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moncloa

Property: Hotel Moncloa
Address: Rua Augusta 646, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01304-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Consolacao
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 321 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Moncloa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Moncloa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Moncloa Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing