We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Intercity The Universe Paulista
Nearby Hotels
$113
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$74
$66
Melia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Maksoud Plaza(Sao Paulo)
$126
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$69
$65
Melia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bourbon Convention Ibirapuera(Sao Paulo)(Great Value!)
$63
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Landmark Residence(Sao Paulo)(Great Value!)
$134
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Sao Paulo Morumbi(Sao Paulo)(Great Value!)
$64
ibis
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
HB Hotels Ninety(Sao Paulo)
$90
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
ibis Budget
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Internet
$44
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveler rating
246
327
95
21
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
327
95
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationseparate bedroomfree wifishort walksitting areadefinitely stay here againpleasant staycomfortable roomssubway stationkitchenettepaulistatvtrianonpauloconnectionreceptionistportuguese
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 704 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I'll keep it nice and short...

The rooms are awful and look nothing like in the pictures, i've stayed at better Holiday Inn's.

The towels in the room all had a bunch of hair on them and it took about 1 hour to get new towels.

In-front of a hotel there was a group of guys just hanging out looking like they were getting ready to either steal something or were selling drugs...made me feel very unsafe especially since some of them kept coming inside the hotel even though they didn't stay there.

Overnight we lost power and the alarm clock reset so we were late to out meetings.

At breakfast the milk was expired.

What was good about this hotel? The location. That's it.

Spend your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SV775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterCity_hotels, Manager at Intercity The Universe Paulista, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

Hello,
Thanks for your review.
We are sorry for any inconveniences you may have had in our hotel.
We would like you to know we are making improvements in our hotel.
We would like you to give us another chance to reverse the situation so you can have a new opinion on the hotel.
Have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My company contracted for several rooms daily at this hotel. I would not suggest staying at this hotel for security reasons first and foremost. Just two days ago, at 1030 am upon our check-in, a bag of one of my colleagues was stolen by a young man leaving the hotel who was not a registered guest. He just grabbed the suitcase and hurried out, as was later established by the surveillance tapes. The bag was just about two feet behind my colleague as he was receiving his key: INSIDE the hotel. The security guard outside claimed he never saw anyone leaving...yet a taxi driver that was waiting outside the hotel saw the thief running outside with the bag and right past the guard. The hotel manager blamed the victim for not keeping his hands on his luggage at all times while checking in! The victim lost a laptop/cell phone/passport/ cash, and assorted other expensive items. The police were useless.

Additionally the "safe" deposit boxes in the rooms were not functioning for most of the 14 people in our group. There are posted signs in the elevators stating that guests should not leave electronics in the room, but rather use the "safes" provided, (which do not work).
When I asked to leave my jewelry and passport with the front desk in a safe I was informed that the office has no safe available. This is a city with a high crime rate and it is unsafe to walk the streets with valuables.

Most of our group had a non-functional hair dryer/ clogged drains/poorly functioning climate-control/ poor lighting in the rooms,broken elevator, etc I could go on and on.
The staff are extremely friendly but totally helpless to assist in any way. The hotel manager is
irresponsible and detached.
I would recommend to stay ANYWHERE else. The security is non-existent, the services are pathetic, and basically no attempts have been made to improve the quality of the hotel.
Not one of the 7 different rooms I have stayed in over the course of the past 7 months have looked anything like the photos displayed.
The "gym" is not usable, and worse than I have seen anywhere in the world in any hotel I have stayed in.
The outside entrance has stairs made of flagstone, that are on a steep hill, so one side has 15-16 steps and the other side has 11, and this is extremely dangerous. They wash the steps with a hose every morning making them extremely slippery. Any vehicle unloading passengers and bags outside is forced to do this on a very busy street on a steep hill, and just exiting the vehicle is dangerous.
This is simply a terrible place to stay and not very clean also. Please find other accommodations.

Room Tip: no such thing at this place
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank finny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterCity_hotels, Manager at Intercity The Universe Paulista, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Hello,
Thanks for your comment. We are really sorry for the inconvenience your colleague experienced in the hotel. As soon as we heard of what happened, the hotel assisted the guest by being at his disposal at all times. The hotel even offered to go with him to the Police Station to report the incident.
We are deeply sorry this happened within our facilities, but we are aware these things may happen and that´s why we always warn our guests and ask them to keep an eye on their belongings when they are in the common areas, as well as in any other public places. We would like to have you here again, since we are sure you will be able to create a new opinion on our hotel.
Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Nice hotel central, free broadband internet, payed wifi. The bed is great, apartments clean, the shower is awesome... They also have a jacussi and a few gym equipments.
The breakfast is included and is very nice. The restaurant is open 24/7 which is also great. It´s quiet (if you take the higher floor rooms) when I go to São Paulo I always stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterCity_hotels, Manager at Intercity The Universe Paulista, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Hello Simone,
Thanks for your comment. We are happy to know you prefer our hotel.
We will be glad to receive you back in our hotel.
You can always count on us to support you.
Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The apartments are very clean, the beds are new and the service is OK.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterCity_hotels, Manager at Intercity The Universe Paulista, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Hello Rafsanches.
Thanks for your comment.
We will be glad to receive you back in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Hotel muito bom, com quartos grandes e confortáveis. Ótima cama, ótimo chuveiro, piscina, sauna, internet wifi grátis. Em geral, um bom negócio!
Very good hotel, with large and comfortable rooms. Great bed, great shower, swimming pool, sauna, and free wifi. Good value!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brunospba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterCity_hotels, Manager at Intercity The Universe Paulista, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012
Google Translation

Olá Bruno,
Muito obrigado pelo seu comentário.
Ficamos felizes em perceber a sua satisfação.
Estamos a disposição para recebê-lo sempre que precisar.
Grande abraço!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews