We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming and classy restaurant”
Review of La Tambouille

La Tambouille
Ranked #31 of 38,320 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, French, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Jardins
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A charming and classy restaurant”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A charming upscale restaurant, open for lunch and dinner.
Pluses:
- Very good service
- Good Italian and French recipes
- Very good wine list
- Charming building
Minuses:
- Probably as expected for a classy, premium restaurant, it is not the place to go if you want to be surrounded by a hip young crowd.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    137
    47
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sao paulo, brazil
Level Contributor
401 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great ambience, attentive service, fantastic nd tasty french and itlian menus. A favorite in Sao Paulo's best tradicional restaurants. Good wine selection. Do not go away without dessert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acukiert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best restaurant in SP”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Fancy, but not frivolous. Expensive, but not unreasonable. Traditional, but not outdated. Hype, but not stubborn.
SP if full of great restaurants. Some are very expensive, some are too flashy, some are just to show off. Tambouille is just right. I have been a frequent client since I was 5 years old, thanks to my father. And I still go there for very special occasions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little pricey, yet a great restaurant”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I found out this restaurant was founded about 42 years ago. Located in an upscale neighborhood of Sao Paulo, this place offers a great lunch/dining experience (French-Italian). Rather than tourists, this restaurant seems to be mainly visited by local hi-end families. The place is maintained in excellent shape, offering a sober, yet cozzy atmosphere (and yes, I agree with other reviewers as it may be a great romantic option too). I liked the menu that was not overwhelmingly long, with a good variety of dishes. Staff service is excellent and they seem to have enough or more than enough personnel to assit immediately.

Meal portions come in at the right size (not large - not small). I ordered the Sea Food Risotto, and it was delicious. I felt prices to be a little on the high side, even for Sao Paulo. Expect to pay around 75 USD per person for 1 main course w/ dessert and coffee (no alcoholic beverages). I took half a star out because of this.

The other half star I took out is due to the fact that, when I asked for the check, the waiter asked me if I had my car at the parking lot. I got there by taxi, so I said I didn't have a car with me. Yet, the account came in with a 10 USD charge for parking. In no way I think the restaurant wanted to purposedly make a charge hoping I didn't notice, but I would definitely expect the waiter to verify the check before bringing it in, especially after he had especifically asked about parking.

Anyway, all to all, I would definitely recomend this restaurant, just bear in mind it is a little pricey.

PS: Wit this being a formal place, not a lot of small children were present.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
312 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“The best in Itaim”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

French-italian restaurant, high level place, 5 star cuisine, created and owned by a Brazilian restauranteur known to be one of the best (he also owns Bar des Arts.). It is a place that is not visited by new-riches, it is really a traditional place,the kind where the clients arrive in cars with drivers. The food is obviously superb, but of course, it it an very expensive restaurant, be aware of that.

Helpful?
Thank Cristina Brasileira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tambouille also viewed

 

Been to La Tambouille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing