We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Bayou La Batre/Mobile
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Bayou La Batre/Mobile
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayou La Batre
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Yikes! Make sure that all your vaccinations are current before checking in. Shower curtain falling out of wall and faucet hanging from the sink. Non smoking room reeked of smoke and "bubba-sweat" and I found myself sticking to the sheets when sitting on the bed. I complained to the owner who became very defensive and told me to turn on the AC to clear the room smell, not to worry about the repairs and room cleanliness. Aborted my stay and bailed to the local Comfort Inn for a long, hot shower, clean sheets and complimentary happy hour.

Room Tip: Now known as the GuestHouse International Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 6666OrangeCountyCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 17 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

You could tell the motel had been nice at one time but nothing had been repaired in a long time. We had booked a Jacuzzi room and when we got there were told the Jacuzzi rooms hadn't worked in ages. Though they had failed to mention that the week before when we checked our reservations. In general the hotel is run down. We stayed the two nights we had paid and then moved on down to Tillman's Corner for the same price and had a much nicer motel. Also if you go there and there is no desk clerk in the lobby, try out back as she is probably smoking a cigarette in her car where she can't see the front door. Wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Go to Tillman's Corner or into Mobile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We got two rooms. One smelled like sewage. The air conditioner started to leak water all over our kids room. The hanging rack fell off the wall. The flat screen kept turning itself of whenever we tried to change channel. We notified owner and they never fixed anything. Bathrooms are filthy. I asked housekeeping for a broom to clean bathroom myself and they said they don't even have one. You have to run the water for about thirty minutes before it will work. So dont get in a hurry to take a shower. Internet doesn't work and the pool is closed! We booked for a week. It's just not worth the hassle. There are plenty of other hotels off the interstate!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Campersonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The hotel has recently been remodeled. The bed is extremely comfortable, and the TV is brand new. Very big spacious room. It's July and the AC works great. However I do have some major problems. The WIFI doesn't work at all, and the door doesn't like to shut and lock. Also the housekeepers don't clean the bathrooms very well. I went to the store, and bought bleach to clean the bathroom with. The room was nice, and clean just not the bathroom.

Room Tip: Corner room is very large and extremely sunny. There is a (very small) balcony and the sun shines ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessicaw2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Nice comfortable clean room, friendly service. Close to eating places and stores. We were there for a weekend vacation were able to go to Blessing of the Fleet. There was a lot of noise one night from other people staying but not enough to discourage us from staying there again. Close to stores and to eating places.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Unbelievable as it is , I have to travel to Bayou La Batre on business sometimes. I stayed here once and that will be the last time ever.
The room just felt dirty the minute I walked in. The first night, there was a very crowded and loud party in the room above me and I'm pretty sure that's where the 3 am obscene phone call came from.
In my morning shower, I could see the dirt from the carpet on the bottom of my feet running down the drain as black water. When I left my room to go to work I was accosted by a shirtless drunk.
When I got in that night I flushed the toilet and it rose to the lip of the toilet and thankfully stopped. The desk clerk told me there was nothing wrong with the plumbing, then admitted there was a plumber on the way.
The carpet somehow seemed to get dirtier during the week, or maybe I was just getting paranoid.
There is very little to eat in town except fast food or fried food and the rest of the week was not not much different from the first 24 hours.
There are plenty of hotels by the interstate.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Captsteve15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

In-room central air unit contaminated with mildew-like black spots (see picture).

In-room coffee pot filthy with dust and dirt.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leonredbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Bayou La Batre/Mobile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Bayou La Batre/Mobile

Address: 13155 N Wintzell Ave, Bayou La Batre, AL 36509-2131 (Formerly Bayou La Batre Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Alabama > Bayou La Batre
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayou La Batre
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Bayou La Batre/Mobile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Bayou La Batre/Mobile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayou La Batre Hotel Bayou La Batre
Bayou La Batre Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing