We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better stay at this hotel this time round”
Review of Hotel Anaca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Anaca
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Sao Carlos
La Jolla, California
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Much better stay at this hotel this time round”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

There has been a makeover of the hotel restaurant since I last visited nearly a year ago and there is now a Japanese restaurant at night - and the food is quite good - really enjoyed the sushi and sashimi.

I love being on the first floor so I can walk the stairs - but remember to press the light switch, otherwise it is very dark if the lights are not on! (Although there are two elevators, they are quite small, so I prefer to take the stairs so I do not need to wait for the elevator.)

The service at the front desk was much better this time as well - available and helpful.

Also, the windows open in this hotel which I enjoy, and they have a separate shampoo and conditioner in the toiletries which is different from my last visit. However, the beds still have the ridge down the middle of them (two single beds together) and just slept at one edge of the bed. The WiFi in the hotel worked much better this trip.

All in all a much better experience - and have no hesitation recommending this hotel if you are in Sao Carlos. You can see my rating for the hotel went from a "2" to a "4". Still a 3* hotel - so no 4/5* star hotel experience, but then you are not paying for this level of service either.

Remember Sao Carlos is a small town so everything, and I mean everything (including the pub around the corner) is closed on Sunday afternoons. There are great restaurants in the town but this time I ate at the hotel each night as needed to work late each evening - and as I indicated above, the Japanese restaurant was fine.

Staff were very pleasant and courteous and the hotel is clean and safe - which are the important factors for me when I am travelling.

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor - clean (as tile floors) and you do not need to wait for either of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieNarelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    66
    59
    13
    11
See reviews for
24
17
15
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have stayed at both the Ibis and the Anaca. There are not many choices in Sao Carlos. The Ibis has better rooms but the location is poor. The beds in the Anaca have a ridge down the middle and I never got one good's night sleep for the few days I was there. And the internet access at the Anaca is very hit and miss. The breakfast is quite poor at the Anaca, better at the Ibis. The gym at the Anaca is in the basement (and does not smell good), and the pool is tiny.

BUT, for location, you cannot beat the Anaca - many, amny different and great variety of restaurants to walk to and convenient for getting out and doing a bit of shopping in the evening after work.

It is a toss up between the two hotels. If the business trip is one or two days - stay at the Ibis. If for a longer period of time, stay at the Anaca.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieNarelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sao Carlos hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
washington dc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

This is the only decent hotel in town. The service is very friendly. The "ninja" bartender always pleases. Ask him for which nights to each sushi (he knows when the fish is fresh or frozen). Breakfast is delicious and well made. The gym leaves a bit to be desired, but there is a curves near to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmdalwadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo/Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I always stay at Anacã when I go to São Carlos and my father´s house is full with my brothers.

Anacã is said to be the best hotel in town. So, they relax and don´t improve the facilities.

My wife complains about the bed, too soft. Complains about the night lamps, too weak.

Breakfast is good. The locations is good. The staff is good.

But, overall, everything could be much better. The city deserve.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tzanoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Carlos hotels
1.5 mi away
Slaviero Executive Sao Carlos
1.9 mi away
Ibis Sao Carlos
Ibis Sao Carlos
#1 of 9 in Sao Carlos
632 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nacional Inn Sao Carlos
Nacional Inn Sao Carlos
#4 of 9 in Sao Carlos
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sao Carlos Othon Suites
Sao Carlos Othon Suites
#3 of 9 in Sao Carlos
85 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Graunas
Hotel Graunas
#8 of 9 in Sao Carlos
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parisi Hotel
Parisi Hotel
#6 of 9 in Sao Carlos
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anaca

Property: Hotel Anaca
Address: Avenida Sao Carlos 2690, Sao Carlos, State of Sao Paulo 13560-002, Brazil (Formerly Quality Hotel Sao Carlos)
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Sao Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Anaca 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Anaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Anaca Sao Carlos, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing