We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Mendes Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mendes Plaza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nice room, modern and well decorated; AC could be better at the corridors, but it was 40C outside so that did not help; layout is a bit weird, as from one side of hotel to another, you have to go to deck 6 and then you can cross... gym is rather small and erally more for a cardio work; restaurant Gardens had a la carte and buffet dinner; I have chosen a la carte and it was small limited selections of food and wine, but it was tasty; service was as expected, slow but friendly; bars were really good, good selection od drinks and good setting by the pool; I would reccommend for short stay to anyone, families included as I saw a lot of activities for kids too; additionally, hotel is located by shopping center which is really convenient;

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RI131RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 673 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Mendes Panaroma is located at the center of Santos,Brazil. There is a very nice shopping mall just next to hotel. there is even a direct door where you can go to mall from lobby. Hotel is in about 10 minutes walking distance to beach. It is at relatively safe place. Breakfast and dinner menu is pretty good. I have stayed 6 nights and can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are almost same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARIS_SAVCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night but I am glad that I choose this hotel. Outside is old and not very expiring but the inside makes all good. Fresh. Clean and good feeling. Nice pool and great 6 th floor. Will stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed two nights at this hotel which is joined to and shares facilities with it's sister hotel Mendes Plaza. The staff were very friendly and always willing to assist in any way and in English. The rooms are very slightly dated but clean and the beds very comfortable. The breakfast was more than adequate and had a reasonable selection. The roof top pool and fitness facilities are excellent. All in all would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EddieGCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

There is not much on offer in Santos. I would rate this as a three star. They have tried to update the rooms by redoing the bathrooms, painting the rooms and wall paneling but it didn’t look much different from when I here about 10 years ago. The rooms are still quite small and depressing – after a week here it was either get out or start taking some medication. They may be able to tart up the inside but there are still problems in that the windows are very thin and cheap so all the noise from the street passes through to the room. Similarly the walls between rooms are thin and cheap so you can hear the TV, people talking etc. Santos has been taken over by boom cars which are one of my pet hates. The boom cars are bad Monday to Thursday but just unbearable on the weekend – after a week I was starting to get used to them but still it affect the ability to get a good nights sleep. Internet was poor – the wifi was very very very slow – the cable wifi was much faster. The Thursday I was there the internet was not working – it cam back online on Friday morning. Room service was not bad considering it is a small hotel – the food was good, came relatively quickly. Breakfast was good, a lot of selection and plenty of room to move around – they seemed to have more staff than guests. I liked the pool area - it is clean are a relatively large pool – I’d say 20m x 20m. The front desk is a bit of a mixture between people who want to help and some with a bit of an attitude. There is not much on offer in Santos, it’s a bit of a decision between the Parque Balneario and the Mendes plaza – weighing it up I would go for the Mendes Plaza. In the end I decide to leave and go for a hotel in Guaruja – it was very difficult to find a hotel when I was there in May 2011 and they were very expensive(Sofitel Guaruja R$1050/night, Casa Grade Guaruja R$730/night) – including taxes the mendes plaza was R$310/night (approx$206).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank munizaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

This is a pleasant and well-run property conveniently located closed to Gonzaga Beach with several shopping malls nearby. The food was so good (half-board was included in a special package that we booked in our reservation) that staying at the hotel was a gastronomic tour in itself! The rooms were modern and well-appointed but what really stood out was the friendly and efficient staff - 10 out of 10 for taking care of us so well! They even obtained hard to get tickets for us to see a show at the local theater and promptly attended to all our requests. When you are in Santos I would recommend staying at the Mendes Plaza without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank world_traveler_roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

The service and rooms are great, mainly the breakfast. The other one Mendes Panorama is also good and cheaper!

Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank KatianeS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santos
0.4 mi away
Mercure Santos
Mercure Santos
#5 of 22 in Santos
941 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parque Balneario Hotel
Parque Balneario Hotel
#4 of 22 in Santos
606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Santos
Novotel Santos
#2 of 22 in Santos
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Guaruja
Grand Hotel Guaruja
#1 of 25 in Guaruja
390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Santos
Ibis Santos
#6 of 22 in Santos
1,359 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Santos
Comfort Hotel Santos
#3 of 22 in Santos
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendes Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendes Plaza Hotel

Address: Avenida Marechal Floriano Peixoto 42, Santos, State of Sao Paulo 11060-300, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santos
#1 Business Hotel in Santos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santos
Price Range: $85 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mendes Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mendes Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendes Plaza Hotel Santos, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing