We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why are they working at the receiption ?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Matiz Guarulhos Aeroporto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Matiz Guarulhos Aeroporto
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Guarulhos
Frostproof, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Why are they working at the receiption ?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

The hotel seems to be located very close to the airport. However, it takes a quarter of an hour to drive with the hotel bus (if it isn't broken).
Although I had done my reservation hotel.com and paid in advance, I had to fill in a long form. The clerk at the reception then had to type in this information into a system. The check in lasts at least half an hour !! There is no sign visible that the reception desk wishes to assist you.
From your room you can see the jets landing. Fortunately the windows are well isolated and you can’t year the jets.
There is a buffet for breakfast or for dinner. Don’t try it. It isn’t worth.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    318
    245
    81
    34
See reviews for
223
171
103
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Hotel Matiz is conveniently located around 10 mins drive from Guarulhos airport and accessed by a shuttle bus which runs every half hour (except after 5.30pm where there is an hour and a half wait). The rooms are divided into executive and standard but to be honest if there is any difference it is not noticable so don't bother going for executive. The restaurant offers a wide variety but specialises in the buffet which is impressive. The breakfast is also worth having. All in all its a pretty average hotel which I'd describe only as OK.

Room Tip: If you arrive at the airport at 5.30pm be prepared for a long wait for the bus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iverm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed there with my 4 year old daughter back in Dec 2013 and it was very close to the airport and they also have shuttle bus every 20 min. The check-in was VERY slow. My room was clean and comfortable. Restaurant was good. Unfortunately breakfast was not included, but it was worth paying it.
I was glad to know they accept pets , I travel with my 2 little dogs often. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drika_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I booked the Executive Double Room on Booking.com, with a specific request for a quiet room.
On arrival, the very courteous woman at the desk assured me I wouldn’t hear any outside noise, as the windows were sound proof.
The room was on the first floor, at the very back, above the restaurant. The noise from the trucks on the highway went on all night long. Impossible to sleep!
The shower was mouldy and toilet bowl heavily stained from the water that ran non-stop.
There are 2 lifts, one of which was not in use. Fortunately I left heavier bags with concierge and only had carry-on luggage, which I had to carry down the stairs.
The courtesy bus, which I booked the night before, was full to more than capacity and many people had to stand, even children. It only makes on stop at the arrivals area of the airport, which is not very convenient, when all passengers were departing.
Overall, a very disappointing experience. Apart from the proximity to Guarulhos airport, there’s nothing positive to say about this hotel. I won’t stay here again and will not recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guarulhos hotels

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

I was travelling on business and looking for a hotel close to the airport for an overnight stay.
This hotel is a short taxi/but journey from the airport (15 mins) and is only marginally further away that the more expensive hotels such as the Marriott. I did not eat at the hotel so I cannot comment on the restaurant. The rooms were average size for a business hotel , but I was pleasantly surprised by the decor and amenities in the room which were very tasteful and well thought out - even tea and coffee facilities with china cups !.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neocis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had an excellent stay in Hotel Matiz. We were in Sao Paulo for a conference, and spent a couple of days to celebrate my birthday before traveling back to the USA. The staff was excellent, and the hotel accommodations were above our expectations. The hotel was clean, bright, and comfortable. Great food in the buffets for breakfast and dinner, with a variety of choices to make. We will definitely stay again when in the area. Our compliments to all who made our visit so enjoyable.
Earl and Sharon

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s48535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
66 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I was only one afternoon this hotel considering the proposal for "day use" while waiting for a connection at Guarulhos airport. For a transit hotel, I recommend it. Attentive and helpful staff, always anticipating my needs. There is a bus service without cost between airport and hotel. The journey takes around 15 minutes on days without much movement. Clean rooms, hot shower, without much refinement. Breakfast well served, with very varied table. The window of the apartments points to the end of the runway of the airport, so for those lovers of aviation, will be a good option to stay. One last detail: though close to the airport runway, there's no noise ... I recommend to all

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mocreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guarulhos hotels
Monreale Hotel
#4 of 17 in Guarulhos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Ibis Guarulhos
Ibis Guarulhos
#9 of 17 in Guarulhos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,475 reviews
Hotel Panamby Guarulhos
#3 of 17 in Guarulhos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matiz Guarulhos Aeroporto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matiz Guarulhos Aeroporto

Property: Hotel Matiz Guarulhos Aeroporto
Address: Rua Pedro de Toledo, 1000 | Jardim Santa Lídia, Guarulhos, State of Sao Paulo 07140-000, Brazil (Formerly Jardim Sao Geraldo )
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Guarulhos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Guarulhos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matiz Guarulhos Aeroporto 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matiz Guarulhos Hotel has comfortable and very well-equipped apartments in Standard and Superior categories. It is the budget hotel closest to Guarulhos International Airport, only 8km from it, with free shuttle service. Another differential is Rick's Restaurante & Bar, opened in November 2009, which offers 250 seats and themed buffet options from Monday to Friday or a la carte menu, besides, there is a spacious area for events with capacity for up to 350 people. It is the first hotel to offer the Self Check-in service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Matiz Guarulhos Aeroporto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Matiz Guarulhos Aeroporto Sao Paulo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing