We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much better than anticipated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Guarulhos Aeroporto Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Guarulhos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 19, 2013

after a long flight from heathrow to Sao Paulo,it was about 6 am when we landed. by the time we got through customs and collected luggage we made our way to the hotel shuttle bus area. The bus serves both the ibis and mercure airport hotels and arrives on the hour. it is a free service to the hotel but you are charged 7 reals each for the return journey. (about 3 pounds)
which we thought very reasonable. The hotel is about a 10 minute ride away from the airport,so cant really understand some of the complaints that its far away. we recently stayed at the novotel heathrow and that was about the same distance.
On arrival we were warmly greeted and expected to have to store our luggage and wait till noon to check in.Instead, a bellboy showed us to our apartment which was much bigger than expected and very clean.it had a microwave and a 2 ring electric stove, separate sitting area
bathroom and bedroom. the only thing is the beds are narrow but very comfortable. Breakfast was extremely good with lots of different choices,including a hot buffet. we are going back at the end of our S American journey for our cruise home and are looking forward to it. Cant really say what the surrounding area is like as we didn't explore.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donaldbovill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 841 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlosmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is somewhat close to the airport. We chose it because it had a shuttle to and from the airport which was very convenient for us. There was a small extra charge for taking it, but much less than taking a taxi. It arrives at the airport on the hour and leaves the hotel on the half hour. The room was nice, quiet and clean. It is within walking distance of a few restaurants.
We had an early flight into GRU and arrived at the hotel an hour before the official check in time started but they us check in an hour early.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel is not that close to the airport but to be closer expect to pay a lot more. 45 BRL taxi ride.

Location is uninspiring and my room overlooked industrial building housing a paint ball place.

Room consisted of small narrow lounge and kitchenette with fridge but the TV was only in the bedroom meaning you can only watch TV in bed or sat on the edge of the bed.....bad planning. Configuration of the lounge clostrophobic.

Mini bar prices too high BRL6 for small bottle of water.

Breakfast OK....normal.

Charge for airport shuttle which is kept a big secret and seems to only run every hour or so.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank printer066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Clean and very friendly hotel located near the international airport of Sao Paulo. Good breakfast, very tidy and the staff in general very, very friendly. There is a shuttle that goes into the airport that is extremely convenient.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardo G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Normally I stay at the Ibis Guarulhos when I am in the region. This time I choose the Mercure because of the prepaid weekend rate which made it cheaper than the Ibis. The Ibis is right besides the Mercure. But beware during the week the Mercure is much more expensice than the Ibis. The 2 rooms of the Mercure apartment are quite small and the bed is very small. the night I slept was extremly noisy because of some car racers in front of the building. The brekfast is just okay. As in the Ibis nobody helps you with the luggage. So overall it only justifies to go to the Mercure if the weekend rate is lower than the Ibis price. For that reason i prefer the Ibis and will go there next time again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed only for one night in order to continue our journey. It was a good stay. Staff is friendly and we received everything that we asked for. The only thing is that there was a mistake from the reception because they called us at 5:30am asking us if we order a taxi .. with a baby this is not handy. In general it is good hotel for a good price.
Tip. there is a subway around the corner and if it is not too hot you can walk to a big supermarket where you can eat nice food .

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank boltilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guarulhos hotels
Hotel Panamby Guarulhos
#3 of 18 in Guarulhos
1,097 reviews
City Center
Ibis Guarulhos
Ibis Guarulhos
#10 of 18 in Guarulhos
2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monreale Hotel
#4 of 18 in Guarulhos
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Guarulhos Aeroporto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Guarulhos Aeroporto Hotel

Address: Rua Barao de Maua 450, Guarulhos, State of Sao Paulo 07012-040, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Guarulhos > City Center
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Guarulhos
#4 Business Hotel in Guarulhos
#5 Family Hotel in Guarulhos
Price Range: $58 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Guarulhos Aeroporto Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 apartments. Located in the centre Guarulhos, 2 km from the shopping mall and the Bosque Maia botanic gardens. Only 10 km from the international airport and 20 km from the centre of Sao Paulo. Restaurant, swimming pool,sauna, fitness centre and 14 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Guarulhos Aeroporto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Apartments Guarulhos Aeroporto Hotel Guarulhos
Mercure Guarulhos Aeroporto Hotel Sao Paulo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing