We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a Sofitel quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Guaruja
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not really a Sofitel quality”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a good hotel, but does not comply with a Sofitel quality in terms of facilities, maintenance, service and courtesy, as I have seen in other places such as Cartagena. This hotel should get another brand from the Accor group, maybe a Mercure. I had several problems at this hotel - difficulty in getting a bed for my son, no clear policy for non-smoking rooms, outrageous charge for parking only charged at the end of my stay, rude waiters at restaurants, etc. I tried to speak with a manager twice, and the best I got was to talk to the head of the reception. The only excellent part of the stay was the location - near São Paulo. But there are others hotels with a much better service at the São Paulo seaside.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    531
    167
    54
    43
See reviews for
749
317
27
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with top notch service and infrastructure. Breakfast and lunch included plan where very good. Kids club was amazing, our 2 year old son loved everything. Great weekend with the family. Will have a do over for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I use to go to Pernambuco Beach since the seventies, when the old Jequitimar hotel stood in the site of the actual Sofitel Jequitimar.

Transformation was dramatic in comparison with the old days. This is a world-class resort, with all facilities a family might expect, all located in the fanciest part of the beach, where the sea covers a sand strip known as "Mar Casado" (Wed Sea), just one hour drive from São Paulo.

I have only one remark about the price, in comparison with similar resorts from other parts such as Aruba and Curaçao, where you find the same package for about 1/3 of the price. Despite this detail, it´s an excellent hotel and I recommend it to all travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach have a nicer view but lack a bit of sunlight, because they are oriented to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caetas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

A super hotel, easy driving distance from São Paulo. An amazing beach. Beautiful sunrises for ocean facing rooms. The bed is super comfortable. The TV is not very good. Food is excellent. Pool side service very friendly. When there I had a terrible cough and in the morning I was suprised by a knock at the door and it was one of the wonderful receptionists who had brought me a complimentary hot orange tea for me. The staff at the hotel are so helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank UK-SW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We spend a full week here with our 2 kids. The staff was always very friendly and helpfull. The hotel was pretty empty during the week because out of season which was great because it gave the kids a lot of space to play. Also the kidsclub was really good.

Overall great stay and we plan to come back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomassw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelJequitimar, Manager at Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We very much appreciate the response of our survey regarding your stay at the Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be extremely pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This Sofitel, in addition to excellent service, good food is very well located. The site is charming and this comes at a certain cost.Great place to enjoy a long weekend and forget all daily worries. Personnel is first class and more than willing to help if need be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelJequitimar, Manager at Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We very much appreciate the response of our survey regarding your stay at the Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be extremely pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

For the second time I've stayed in this hotel for business. Right on top of Guaruja sandy beach together with pool area, is a plus if you go there for leisure. Facilities also try to take advantage of prime location, like the restaurant balcony overlooking the bay. But having in mind poor construction, some areas require maintenance. Room area was large, comfy bed, basic furniture and apparently clean. But bathroom shows signs of some deterioration, with several mold spots at shower area. This is not at all acceptable for a hotel charging in average over US$ 400 per night. Restaurant was fine if you are a Buffet fan. Breakfast was good with a wide variety of choices. Service at a average level. Altogether nothing that justifies the classification of a 5 star hotel or even Sofitel brand recognition.

Room Tip: Room with balcony with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guaruja hotels
3.7 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Transamerica Prime Guaruja
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Guaruja
Grand Hotel Guaruja
#1 of 25 in Guaruja
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Ilhas do Caribe
Hotel Ilhas do Caribe
#2 of 25 in Guaruja
459 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ferraretto Hotel
Ferraretto Hotel
#8 of 25 in Guaruja
360 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Ilhas da Grecia
Hotel Ilhas da Grecia
#6 of 25 in Guaruja
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar

Property: Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar
Address: Avenida Marjory da Silva Prado, No 1100 | 1100 Lote A - Praia de Pernambuco, Guaruja, State of Sao Paulo 11444-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Guaruja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Guaruja
#2 Spa Hotel in Guaruja
#3 Family Hotel in Guaruja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Jequitimar Guaruja is a 5 star hotel in Guaruja, located 130 km from Sao Paulo International Airport and 90 km from Congonhas Airport. Surrounded by the Atlantic Forest, in the Pernambuco Beach, the most charming Guaruja Beach in Sao Paulo, Brazil. The hotel offers 301 rooms and a Spa. A dream holiday location for couples and families, this hotel in Guaruja also features a major convention centre for events of up to 1,600 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Jequitimar Guaruja Hotel Guaruja
Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar Brazil - Sao Paulo
Guaruja Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing