We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Guaruja
Certificate of Excellence
São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I have been to the hotel several times but service has decreased a lot. The hotel is receiving too many companies groups and is forgetting its private clients. Except for the kids club, which continues to be excellent, all other services were not satisfactory. Guests in the spa were speaking loudly in their mobiles, reception services were unfriendly, food was not good and the room had many missing or broken items. It is a pity, because the beach is very nice and my kids love the place. Definitely, this is not the service you expect for the price you pay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brasil80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelJequitimar, Manager at Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Google Translation
Prezada Sra.,

Apreciamos imensamente seus comentários referentes à sua hospedagem no Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar. É sempre muito positivo receber as impressões de nossos hóspedes.

Com relação a seus comentários sobre os eventos, lamento muito o transtorno causado em sua hospedagem. Tentamos fazer com que, na medida do possível, grandes eventos não interfiram com o restante dos outros hóspedes. A equipe será reorientada para que os hóspedes sejam avisados de grandes convenções no momento da reserva, para que fiquem cientes das atividades que podem ocorrer durante sua estadia.

Suas pontuações sobre as refeições serão compartilhadas com nossa equipe de Alimentos e Bebidas. Uma das prioridades deste setor, e do Hotel como todo, é o constante desenvolvimento, por isso sua colocação será levada em consideração no aprimoramento dos menus e das receitas.

Trabalhamos diariamente na formação de profissionais treinados e altamente capacitados, para que os padrões de qualidade do serviço sejam cumpridos, atendendo as expectativas de nossos clientes. Após receber sua avaliação, reforçaremos os treinamentos e as reorientações para que possamos continuar a melhorar a qualidade de nossos serviços e oferecer uma experiência memorável a cada um de nossos hóspedes.

Agradecemos que tenha nos contado seus problemas e esperamos que nos dê a oportunidade de melhor serví-la num futuro próximo.

Sinceramente,

Ana Maria Santos
Gerente Operacional
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    531
    167
    54
    43
See reviews for
749
317
27
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
215 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

good service, superb breakfast and lunch. (i didn't had the opportunity to try the les epices, french restaurant)

I recomend for couples with young children or anyone who wants to rest in a very beautiful resort with great service and a beautiful beach.

I arrived on saturday and left on tuesday. Avoid weekends if you can, the service is good, but on weekdays it's just great. I had a few issues with hot water and room service but it was quickly solved.

Room Tip: the superior room has a great view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andremodesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

It is really surprising that there is virtually no offering of premium, luxury hotels in the coastal areas that are nearest of São Paulo city. Sofitel is really a great option, as the rooms, food and leisure equipment live up to its brand, and it is located in the nearby town of Guarujá. Although the town itself has been better in the past, the area around the hotel is beautiful and safe. The beach is beautiful (not the most gorgeous in the area, but enough for most cases) and connected to the hotel. However, I feel the lack of competition makes the service lazy sometimes. I experienced, for instance, a lost room service dish that took almost 100 minutes to arrive and false information from staff telling it would arrive soon. These things happen many times, but should not at a high-priced hotel like this. The overall experience was very good, though, and I would stay there again; but I would prefer to test other similarly premium hotels when they decide to open up in the region.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caminhante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 18, 2011

I simply loved it! It is quite close to São Paulo. The beach is calm and quite. But the nicest part is Kids Club with the personal group of educators. Wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas (SP)
Level Contributor
175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Probably the best luxury hotel in the coast of Sao Paulo.
It doesn't have the same quality of a Sofitel in Paris, Quiberon, Buenos Aires, or Sao Paulo but it stands out among competitors in the region.
Maintenance problems have begun to appear, but the dedication of the staff almost overcomes this issue.
Lovers of good food and wine will be disappointed with the quality of bars and restaurants. Still, the cuisine is good and is much better than local competitors.
I recommend it especially for family travels.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmirNeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We have been to this hotel several times in the last 12 months but not during the Brazilian winter. We were recently back and very pleasantly surprised. There is a great deal of energy in the staff that was not so apparent the last few times we were there. No request went unattended. There have been some shuffling around of employees and in spite of the fact that some are really new and hence not as experienced, service in general is much better.

Rooms have been refreshed and are quite comfortable. Breakfast remains excellent whereas the lunch buffet is good but could be better. This is a Sofitel after all. Beach service has improved considerably, there is a logic in the way chairs, umbrellas, etc are set up and also a very efficient food and beverage service.

Reasonable gym and good spa with sauna.

Shopping mall is quite convenient.

Room prices is actually outrageous at US$500/night aprox. but it is half board.

There is a new internet service but I haven't tried it. When it is free I may do it.

Kids' Club is key to this property. It is still far from a first class KC which is something that I fail to understand why. And the only reason I can't give it 5 stars. This is essentially a family hotel with conventions added.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefoureyedpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Service should be better for a Hotel this price. Specially at restaurants and bars. Food at Brisa Restaurant should be better (lunch and dinner, breakfast is OK). Exception is the French restaurant, great food but lousy reservation and seating service. When you pay $400 for a room, you expect spetacular service. Not the case.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heliopadula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guaruja hotels
3.7 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Transamerica Prime Guaruja
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Guaruja
Grand Hotel Guaruja
#1 of 25 in Guaruja
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Ilhas do Caribe
Hotel Ilhas do Caribe
#2 of 25 in Guaruja
459 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ferraretto Hotel
Ferraretto Hotel
#8 of 25 in Guaruja
360 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Ilhas da Grecia
Hotel Ilhas da Grecia
#6 of 25 in Guaruja
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar

Property: Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar
Address: Avenida Marjory da Silva Prado, No 1100 | 1100 Lote A - Praia de Pernambuco, Guaruja, State of Sao Paulo 11444-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Guaruja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Guaruja
#2 Spa Hotel in Guaruja
#3 Family Hotel in Guaruja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Jequitimar Guaruja is a 5 star hotel in Guaruja, located 130 km from Sao Paulo International Airport and 90 km from Congonhas Airport. Surrounded by the Atlantic Forest, in the Pernambuco Beach, the most charming Guaruja Beach in Sao Paulo, Brazil. The hotel offers 301 rooms and a Spa. A dream holiday location for couples and families, this hotel in Guaruja also features a major convention centre for events of up to 1,600 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Jequitimar Guaruja Hotel Guaruja
Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar Brazil - Sao Paulo
Guaruja Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing