We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Undiscovered GEM of Brazil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Grande Hotel Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Guaruja
Certificate of Excellence
Hollywood, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Undiscovered GEM of Brazil”
Reviewed November 25, 2006

I was in Sao Paolo on business and decided to stay for a three day weekend nearby, at the beach.While at first I preferred nearby Santos, an industrial coffee port of Brazil, which has the biggest beach side park I have ever seen, my local partners all advised to take a chance with the Casa Grande in Guarujá, about 10 miles from Santos. The reception staff was very friendly - I am kind of a picky person especially for the bath facilities - so when I asked for a physical tour of the rooms the guided me from standard to superior rooms and a one bedroom suite.

The hotel is spread out on the very end of the beach, there is almost no ped traffic crossing in front. The pool is huge, the breakfast facilities are excellent (some 25 different cold and warm dishes and fruits available every morning, on the beach side terrace), and the "playa" is spectacular. Everything is clean and the staff is very attentive (all front office people speak English). I took long walks on the Guarujá waterfront, amazed by the soccer loving people who played their favourite sport at 11 pm on the lighted sea shore !

Once you're here, you have to taste Braziian coffee and the numerous cocktails & local desserts. An absolutely relaxing journey !

  • Liked — Location & staff attention to detail
  • Disliked — That I couldn't stay longer
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for an upgrade when you check In, worths it
  • Stayed October 2003, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Farago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    404
    118
    41
    22
See reviews for
451
235
31
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2006

Whilst some of the hotel is a little faded for a five star which is a member of Leading Hotels of the World - the service is exemplary, food (with a wide slection of typesand styles of restaurant) excellent and location outstanding. There's a three mile stretch of ocean-washed beach just across the street. It's a great antedote to Sao Paulo - including the traffic.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bedroom - lack of desk for laptop even though broadband provided in all rooms
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2006

Stayed Friday PM to Sunday PM.

A good hotel which looks like it was renovated a few years ago, and just needs to be kept in better condition. EG the Beech hut staircase was rotten, beech umbrellas broken, pool decking needed tighterning and entrance hall is unimaginative.

Staff very friendly.

Good facilities eg tennis, pool, gym.

Many kids. When I went in August there was a convention that eat in their own restaurants - this meant main restaunts were dead i.e. soleless.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank 888Neil888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 3, 2006

Unbelievable. This is by far the best hotel that I have stayed in whilst in Brazil. Everything about it is geared up for an English speaking tourists like me and my Fiancé. From the receptionist to the lady in the drug store, communication was never a problem.

The food was excellent. The breakfast especially.

The room we had was not the biggest, but still quite spacious. Here a king size bed is made up from two ¾ beds. The bathroom is magnificent with a huge shower. The pool is large enough to cater for everyone that was there.

Then we come to what was the highlight of my stay in Brazil. The service that this hotel offers on the beach. Sure it became really crowded as we were there during the busiest period, but this hotel has the vision to cordon off a section of the beach. They have ample loungers, umbrellas, towels and the little ‘shade huts’ are just what the doctor ordered.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guaruja hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Guaruja
Grand Hotel Guaruja
#1 of 25 in Guaruja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Transamerica Prime Guaruja
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilhas da Grecia
Hotel Ilhas da Grecia
#6 of 25 in Guaruja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ilhas do Caribe
Hotel Ilhas do Caribe
#2 of 25 in Guaruja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ferraretto Hotel
Ferraretto Hotel
#8 of 25 in Guaruja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Tree Towers Guaruja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Grande Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Hotel Resort & Spa

Property: Casa Grande Hotel Resort & Spa
Address: Avenida Miguel Stefano 1001 | Enseada, Guaruja, State of Sao Paulo 11440-530, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Guaruja
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Guaruja
#2 Family Hotel in Guaruja
#3 Romantic Hotel in Guaruja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Guaruja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Grande Hotel Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel • Casa Grande Hotel Resort & Spa is a 5 star resort seaside, built in authentic colonial Brazilian style. It is located in an area of 45,000 m2. • 265 room, Suites and 3 Villas- bungalows, all of them fitted with wi-fi and most of them with a private balcony. The 6 luxury suites have a contemporary style deco and private balconies with pool and ocean view. • Helipad • Two tennis courts and a multi-sports court • Spasissimo: a complete Spa that offers medical and aesthetic treatments. • Seven restaurants and bars = award winning Thai Restaurant directly on the beach, Atlantico Seafood, the French Bistro, and a choice of the best Brazilian gastronomy. Spa Restaurant for a balanced menu. Pool and beach bars, Lounge piano bar. • Convention center with 1,000 m2 distributed in modular meetings rooms, terraces with ocean view • Exposition center: almost 3828 m2 for events, conventions, fairs, workshops and dinner-parties • High speed internet/wi fi in all areas • Kids Club • Discos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Casa Grande Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Grande Hotel Resort And Spa
Casa Grande Hotel Guaruja
Casa Grande Hotel Resort & Spa Guaruja, Brazil - Sao Paulo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing