We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grande Hotel Campos do Jordao
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Campos Do Jordao
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Restaurant terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have a holiday apartment near this hotel. In spite of the hotel without good but extremely expensive, disproportionately to their quality, I wish to record that twice in distant dates went to the hotel restaurant lunch and dinner.
The first time, we serve a Feijoada, a typical Brazilian dish made with beans and pig parts. It was without any doubt the worse that I ate and with an addendum the price exorbitant. If you give value to your money, look for any other restaurant that will be better than from hotel.
Whereas it could have been something abnormal searched dinner another time and the pattern remained. Horrible food and appalling price by exaggeration.
For sure this is a bad choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MrMoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    117
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
304
124
6
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flims, Switzerland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is of good quality and a hidden landmark of the area. Very basic and with little elements for decorations. It's more lodge style than a luxury palace hotel. The nature with the park around the hotel has the importance. Staff is very friendly and you can feel, that there is a hotel school integrated (behind). They have some new renovated rooms which we can higly recommend. Also some with wooden floor. Breakfast is rich and we asked to seat outside and it was possible. Parking is free and they park the car just some steps away. Because of that, we would prefere next time to park the car by ourself. The location of the hotel is perfect on a hill and it's a ten minutes walk to the center of capivari, which is the best part of Campos de Jordao. The price is high and you will get a fair value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is perfect hotel to visit with children. There are a lot of games to play, a big indoor space and at weekends, monitors look after the children. The restaurant is one the best of Brazil because there is a gastronomic college there. Excellent.

Room Tip: Wood view rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

From the moment we drove into the mountainside town of Campos Do Jordao, I knew I would love the stay, and the Grande Hotel did not disappoint. The pristine grounds, the welcoming, accommodating and friendly staff, the updated and modern interior and furnishings, the delicious and abundant food, everything was wonderful! I only wish I could have stayed longer to enjoy more of the grounds and amenities which were offered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Their service, location and room accomodations are excellent. They have music at the lounge area, and their events are varied. Had dinner at their dining room and their buffet is very generous. Location is one great asset as it is close to other restaurant and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo/Brazil
Level Contributor
161 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

SEnac hotels are known for the care and attention towards the guests. The food is also one of the big points of the place. The restaurants are superb, very, very fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tzanoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illoinois
Level Contributor
349 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Campos do Jordao, about two-and-a-half hours from Sao Paulo, is a lovely resort village that resembles an Alpine village more than something in Brazil. The Grande Hotel, which serves as a training ground for young hotel workers, is a phenomenal property. It is pricey, but staying there includes three meals a day - which are served buffet style with an absurdly wide choice of food at each meal. The quality ranges from good to excellent, the service is warm and very friendly, though English is not spoken by all staffers. The pool, squash courts, walking trails, etc., make this a superb hide-a-way spot for a week or so.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campos Do Jordao hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Renard
Hotel Le Renard
#3 of 36 in Campos Do Jordao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nacional Inn Campos do Jordao
Hotel Nacional Inn Campos do Jor...
#11 of 36 in Campos Do Jordao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.8 mi away
L.A.H. Hostellerie
L.A.H. Hostellerie
#1 of 36 in Campos Do Jordao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Carballo Hotel & Spa
Carballo Hotel & Spa
#5 of 36 in Campos Do Jordao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Vila Inglesa
Hotel Vila Inglesa
#4 of 36 in Campos Do Jordao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
6.8 mi away
Botanique Hotel & Spa
Botanique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 36 in Campos Do Jordao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Hotel Campos do Jordao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Hotel Campos do Jordao

Property: Grande Hotel Campos do Jordao
Address: Av. Frei Orestes Girardi, 3549 | Capivari, Campos Do Jordao, State of Sao Paulo 12460-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Campos Do Jordao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Campos Do Jordao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Campos Do Jordao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Campos Do Jordao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Hotel Campos do Jordao 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a distance of 175 km from São Paulo, Grande Hotel Campos do Jordão combines all the charm of a climatic resort with the sophistication and glamour of Capivari. A luxurious complex that masterfully balances comfort, elegance, award-winning gastronomy and personalized services inspired by the wishes of each guest.On business or on a pleasure trip with the family, all the details are designed to make the experience of each guest an unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Grande Hotel Campos do Jordao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Hotel Campos Do Jordao Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing