We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable, but not so good location”
Review of Mercure Campinas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Campinas
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Campinas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a standard Mercure hotel. The room is spacious, clean, has a good shower and bed.
I've heard though that it is not a safe location to walk around at night, so decided to have dinner at the hotel's buffet.
The buffet is just ok for the price (R$45,00), don't have too many options, but still better than ordering food in the room according to my colleagues who did so.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emi-BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo C, Gerente geral at Mercure Campinas, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear client,

Thank you for sharing your kind comments about Mercure Campinas with us and other. It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and approved our service, premises and food. We are continuasly working to improve the quality of our buffet.

We hope to continue being your choice in the city and welcome you back again to our hotel soon!

Sincerely,

Rodrigo Chediek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

Mercure - shame on you. Or should I say Accor Group (owners of Mercure hotels) shame on you to let your Mercure brand slide like this. Every Mercure I go to seems to be sliding into "poor" territory way too fast for its own good. You can track my trip across Brazil by looking at my latest reviews, so Mercure is definitely benefitting from being the hotel on the backside of some really bad ones in this review. This hotel has definitely aged from the photos. The lobby looks tired and the hallways upstairs need renovating badly, and a few of the lights didn't turn on when I went under them, clearly the bulb needing to be changed. as they are made to be automatic with movement.

There were a few things that I really appreciated after being in such awful hotels before this one, which is why the Mercure gets an average and not poor rating - like I said really benefitting from the awful experiences before it. I appreciated the fact they had at least one person behind the desk who spoke English which helped.

The sheets were very clean and very soft, which was a huge change from the other hotels. But, one HUGE problem was a spot on the pillow cover even it was clearly clean - so disgusting. I threw the pillow on the floor. Thankfully there was a clean pillow in a plastic bag in the closet. I am hoping this actually means it is indeed clean and they put it in the bag each and every time someone uses it and they don't reuse the bag or the pillow. I also appreciated that the blanket was nicely folded in a plastic bag as well. I am also hoping this means they launder it after each use and put it into the bag each time and don't just fold it and put it back into the bag. One can only hope this is what they actually do! The blanket smelled and looked fresh, clean, and fairly new and fluffy. Considering what I had to deal with in the Brazilian countryside (see reviews) it was a huge pleasure to use it. There was no indication that the bag meant it was new or laundered with a sticker or something I just hope. Mercure - what would it cost you to close the bag with a sticker that tells your clients the bag and the pillow have not been used and give us some peace of mind?

Like all hotels I have stayed in, in Brazil the bathroom needs renovation, but it was the least awful of all of them (with the exception of the Hilton in Sau Paolo, see that review). This one didn't smell of rust and didn't have any rot in between the tiles, so that was nice.

The breakfast was decent, it had some nice items, but a lot of the yogurts were left out too long and were room temperature and that is scary in a country like Brazil. More attention had to be paid to the milk and dairy products that were out way too long at room temp.

Also the elevators kept not working! Really? Elevators that are not in working order in a chain hotel? Unacceptable.

All in all I would never recommend you choose this hotel on your own, if your business puts you there overnight you will survive, maybe even 2 nights, if you have to stay more than 2 nights, change hotels for sure, Campinas is big enough there are better hotels in town. Mercure has to do a better job taking care of its hotels before it gets my seal of approval for a longer stay. After all it belongs to a huge hotel group who really has no excuse not to keep up its hotels at a standard it should be keeping them up to, especially in a city like Campinas.

Room Tip: They all seem to be the same...but the higher floors are always better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nygal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo C, General Manager at Mercure Campinas, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear client,

Thank you for telling us about your experience at the MERCURE CAMPINAS. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

It is always disappointing see that we could not have met your expectations. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address all the problems and prevent future occurrences.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Rodrigo Chediek
General Manager
Mercure Campinas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Last time I stayed and reviewed this hotel about 12 months ago I said that it was a good business class hotel. After all the Mercure brand is not the lowest in the world.

Unfortunately things have declined here.

Some staff appear to be making up their own excuses in answer to hotel policies which is obviously a training issue because they are factually incorrect. The valet parking staff seem to have new time consuming system which means that in prime times there are cars wishing to deposit or pick up guests queued way down the main road.

Breakfast was never anything to write home about but the lack of variation from day to day can be mind-numbing. If you stay for one night OK, anything longer be prepared to be institutionalised.

Rooms OK but no opening windows and a light out in the bathroom remained so during my stay. Therefore the cleaners need more traing to report these faults.

The cheeseburger through room service was distgusting and fell well short of the BRL16 charged.

Finally Mecure hotels in Brazil need to really think about minibar prices which bear no relation to actual costs.

Stays in Mercure hotels on this trip will make me seriously think of another brand in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank printer066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo C, Gerente geral at Mercure Campinas, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Mr.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Campinas. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Rodrigo Chediek
General Manager
Mercure Campinas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel with good room.
The receptionist was very proactive and fast. The restaurant is very good for dinner. I suspect that breakfast is not included in the price of room, but regardless of paying or not the breakfast is very complete.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I've paid a big money to poor quality of the hotel (it's old and there is no too much maintenance) and low level service (front desk - they don't know how to treat the customers).
It was my last stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brunotae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Honestly I believe the hotels of Accor group charge a high fare and offers just a fair service. The hotel Mercure is an example. It is possible to find a better hotel with low fare and a good quality of service in the region.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvajoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I had a three day conference here, so went where I was told by the company. I was pleasantly surprised.

The room was good sized - not huge, but well-utilized. The bed was the largest item which worked well. It was comfortable.

I was not a fan of the shower, since it only had the "rainfall" showerhead, coming straight down on me. Since I am very tall, it did not work out too well.

The restaurant food was good, and the breakfast buffet was quite large with a great number of options.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campinas hotels
Melia Campinas
#2 of 42 in Campinas
1,258 reviews
City Center
Ibis Campinas
Ibis Campinas
#10 of 42 in Campinas
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Palm Tower
Royal Palm Tower
#15 of 42 in Campinas
157 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm Residence
Royal Palm Residence
#24 of 42 in Campinas
104 reviews
Radisson Red Campinas
#7 of 42 in Campinas
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Campinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Campinas

Address: Avenida Aquidaban 400 | Acesso pela Avenida Francisco Glicério, Campinas, State of Sao Paulo 13026-510, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Campinas > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Campinas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Campinas
#6 Business Hotel in Campinas
Price Range: $68 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Campinas 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or leisure, Mercure Campinas offers what is best for your stay. Our guest rooms amenities include cable TV, hair dryer, free WiFi and air conditioning. Hotel features a bar, a restaurant and 24/7 room service for your convinience. On the rooftop we provide a solar heated pool, steam room and also a fitness center, where there's one of the finest views of the city. The exclusive floor for meetings and events offers six rooms, an auditorium with capacity for 80, free wireless internet and valet parking (paying). Mercure Campinas is near downtown, next to ibis hotel and only 50m from Lirabus bus stop, which transport to Viracopos, Guarulhos and Congonhas airports. The bus station is 3.2 km far from hotel, Viracopos airport only 17 km and Wet'n Wild water park 28 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Campinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Campinas Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing