We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in an off-the-way location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palm Plaza Resort
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Campinas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Stayed at the Palm Plaza for just 1 night while on business in the area.
The hotel is impressive with a great number of options for leisure travelers; however, it is also good for business travelers since the area has only a few choices.
My room was located in the Palm Tower which is a kind-of-boutique type hotel inside the larger complex; they gave me a triple room which meant a king size bed plus a single, which of course, I did not need at all. Room was large with a standard size bathroom; cleaning was average at best.
Honestly, I had better rooms before at this hotel so I was a little disappointed...perhaps the conference on-site pushed me aside this time, despite what was requested in my reservation...
Breakfast was good with a large buffet and many choices available.
Wifi worked fine.
I did not use any other services as my stay was short.

Room Tip: Good choice in the Campinas area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 2,176 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2011

I travel to Brazil fairly often for work; sometimes I stay in Sao Paulo, but sometimes I need to be closer to our factories, which is why I stay here (Campinas is only about 15 minutes from where I need to be). The Royal Palm Plaza is more of a resort compound than a hotel, and it's honestly a great place to pass the time. A local colleague of mine described it as a place where well-off locals take their families on holiday, and I think that's an accurate description.

The rooms are simple and a bit sparse, but clean and comfortable nonetheless. No real complaints there. The compound itself is fairly huge and spread out, which is enjoyable as you can walk around and stretch your legs if you feel like it. There's on-site shopping as well as activities. There are also several different restaurants, from the traditional buffet-style that is popular in the area, to formal sit down, as well as casual bar food served by the pool. The food is good, but not generally spectacular... you definitely won't go hungry though, as there is plenty of it.

The pool is gorgeous and really the highlight of the resort. Very big and plenty of lounges and seating surrounding it. Although its not a business hotel, I've had many pleasant business meetings by the pool... can't beat that!

The staff is very friendly and courteous, although most don't speak a lot of English, which can be frustrating. There is also armed security everywhere, which made me feel better.

Overall, it's a really nice place if you need to be in Campinas for some reason. Definitely makes what are otherwise very long and difficult business trips quite bearable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpaladino77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

It was my first time in this hotel. I went there with a friend for a congress and we stayed 2 nights. The check-in was very busy and after wait 15 minutes for check-in they gave us a smoking bedroom without at least ask us if we were smokers. After telling the manager he said he was sorry and would try to solve it. After 4 hours they gave us another room, but as the hotel was completed booked, we had to carry our own luggage in a hotel so called luxury 5 stars.The room is pretty aged, the carpet is old and there is a smell of humidity all over the room. When you decide to take a shower we have to cross the bath tube to go in. I hope you have good legs.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fernando F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPalmHR, Sandra Neumann - Diretora Geral at Royal Palm Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Regarding the rooms, 70% of all total rooms (500) are already completed renovated. The mentioned room and it´s building are already been reformed and they will be ready by next 2 months. Besides, the shower was inside the bath, but now we are changing for box only to more confortable and security of our guests. Also we are grateful for the valuation for all services mentioned, useful to increase our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Excelent hotel. I would rate it as excelent but in fact there is no another high level hotel in the area to make a comparisson...

Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
1  Thank acristina7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

It's a way out of town, but I was not there to see Campinas. Hotel is clean, bright, great pool area, good conference facility although AV disappointing. Rooms big, clean, comfortable and well-appointed. Great facilities for accompanying non-delegates, even kids - there is a mini-theme park within the hotel. Food and drink very good, service and facilities excellent. Highly recommended, but why no free wi-fi? This is an expected standard in a five-star hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StigB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Maybe things just started off on a bad note - long line at check-in, followed by being put into room 2205 - which - no joke - smelled like mildew / mold, and actually had mildew growing on a wall! Asked to have the room changed - was sent to one where the lock did not work, then sent to a room which was smoking ( the reservation was non-smoking), finally, fourth room was the one where I ended up staying.

The hotel has a beautiful pool area, so that's good, and although I was not there with kids, there were facilities for keeping young children entertained.

Beware that once on the hotel grounds, you are in a security cocoon. Which is good for security, but once you are off the property, it will be a taxi ride to downtown Campinas of about 25 minutes - several good restaurants there.

Restaurant in the hotel - one was under construction, so that left the restaurant that has the buffet - and the buffet only. Nothing off a menu. Food was OK. Service was not very attentive.

Another watch-out - this hotel hosts large conferences. If you happen to be there at the same time as a conference - watch out. The place will be mobbed. This same buffet restaurant was absolutely packed with people. And basic breakfast items such as eggs were gone - clean out - for a while, until the kitchen could catch up. They seemed ill equipped to deal with the large number of people to be fed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LettsGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

If you find yourself in Campinas, treat yourself and your family to a couple nights at the Royal Palm Plaza Resort. The rooms are spacious and elegant -- the highlight being a balcony overlooking the pool area. The staff is incredibly accomodating (with bags and crib), friendly, and English speaking (we were suprised by how many places in Brazil have few English speakers on staff -- even those catering to tourists). The pool area is clean, stylish, and immense with a nice waterfall. And when you tire of the pool, walk the entire grounds -- they are magnificent (and entertaining for older kids). The cocktail bar overlooking the pool area serves the best caipirinhas you'll find. After one or two drinks, stumble back to your room and shower up for a gourmet dinner. We dined at La Palette and really enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Additionally, the breakfast buffet is best in class -- overflowing with exotic fruit and every type of breakfast selection you can imagine. And grab an afternoon snack and espresso at Atelier do Café for the ambiance alone. The only negative is be sure to review you bill carefully -- fortunately, will some persistance, everything was resolved to our satisfaction at checkout.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Married_w_toddlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campinas hotels
Melia Campinas
#2 of 43 in Campinas
1,331 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm Tower
Royal Palm Tower
#17 of 43 in Campinas
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Red Campinas
#3 of 43 in Campinas
165 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm Residence
Royal Palm Residence
#26 of 43 in Campinas
105 reviews
City Center
Mercure Campinas
Mercure Campinas
#4 of 43 in Campinas
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Plaza Resort

Address: Avenida Royal Palm Plaza 277 | Jardim Nova California, Campinas, State of Sao Paulo 13051-092, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Campinas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Campinas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Campinas
Price Range: $230 - $622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm Plaza Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sua infraestrutura e unica e oferece diversas atividades e atracoes. Diversos bares e restaurantes, areas de lazer, salas de eventos e o servico atencioso e acolhedor que transmite a qualidade do hotel. Seja qual for o motivo da sua estada, a equipe Royal fara tudo para ser inesquecivel e inigualavel. Venha conhecer um dos melhores resorts de luxo do Brasil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Palm Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Plaza Hotel Campinas
Royal Palm Plaza Campinas
Royal Palm Plaza Resort Campinas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing