We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”
Review of Melia Campinas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Campinas
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Campinas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We needed to stay in Campinas for one night, to attend a wedding in a nearby church. Tryp Campinas emerged as the first choice. Guia Quatro Rodas, brazilian best travel guide, rates this one in third. That´s a good position. The best one á a resort out of town, very near the roads that lead you to S. Paulo, almost a 100 km away.
Thyp Campinas presented us, a couple with two kids, with two apartments. They aren´t big. ´Bed is ok, with six pillows, very comfortable. TV set is LCD, not very big becouse you are very close. Good choice of channels.
Breakfast is good, with all the things I like, such as yougurt, milk, fruits, bread,
The staff was helpful. They speak english very well.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tzanoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,221)
There are newer reviews for Melia Campinas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2009

The Tyrp hotel is well located in Cambui district a good and safe part of Campinas .
I have arrived to the hotel nearly a two hour journey from GRU airport .
I was immediatly told told that the Air conditioning system wil not be working for few days
because of pre-arranged service . As I have booked my stay directly with the hotel
few days before arrival they must have known about the schedulaed service for the
cooling system . I was given a good room at a high floor and was given an early check in without charge which I have appreciated after Two long flights and a bus ride from the Airport. However, the weather was hot and my room did not have a window combined
with lack of A/C made my stay uncomfortable to stay the least .
Most people at the reception spoke good english and the service have varied from very
helpful to almost rude but overall I have to say it was reazonable service . Once I asked a member of staff if there are other hotels in Cambui , Campinas and I was told no.
I was actually considering moving to another hotel because of the airconditiong system
or lack of it .Upon my returm I have found out that there is another hotel In Cambui called Vitoria hotel ( I may be staying there next time ).
The breakfast was good and the restaurent had a nice sunny patio just outside the dining area . However , the breakfast area was closed for one day I think It was
Sunday.We were directly to a make sfift much smaller brakfast area . It was difficult to find a seat and once I found one I was obligated to eat quickly as there were many
families with children waiting to eat .
The 0800 free phone ( they charge a 1.5 Riyal per call) did not work from
the telephone in my room . I had to make an urgent call to AA to re-arrange my travel
and it cost me about 80 Riyal or 35 USD just one call .
I have tried the GYM only once and the machines barely funtioned after a struggle .
I cann,t say the hotel is bad and I cann,t say that I will not stay again in the future
But frankly I expected a higher standard of service from TYRP a member of Meila
hotel group as I had a good service from this hotel group over the years.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bullings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

The room is large and safe (includes a safety box), but pretty dirty. The carpet couldn't be in a worst condition, and one of the 3 days of my stay the bathroom was not cleaned at all, somebody just forgot it. I just decided to stay in the same room that night, but the day after I tried to change it with no results. The personnel was not attentive to my request. The breakfast buffet was included but poor compare with other in Brazil, but still ok in therms of quality. The hotel is located in a very nice residential area of Campinas (São Paulo), close to downtown. In the same street of the Hotel (to the right in the opposite side of the next block) is the best bakery of São Paulo. Overall the installations of the hotel are nice, but considering the cleanliness of the room I will not stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Joe42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

I stayed at the Tryp hotel in May while on a business trip. The Tryp is a very functional, clean hotel in the heart of Campinas and there are multiple restaurants in the surrounding area. I would consider this to be a 3-4 star hotel by typical US standards and the rooms have a very contemporary feel to them. I stayed in a non-smoking room that had two twin beds.

The hotel has a restaurant in it and serves a very typical Brazilian style buffet of light breads, meats, cheeses, and fruits. If you are looking for a 5-star buffet, this is not the place to eat, but it is efficient and adequate and from what I could tell the breakfast is included in the room rate. I actually enjoyed taking a cup of coffee, a few slices of bread and cheese outside to the cobble-stone, landscape courtyard each morning. Off of the courtyard is a lap pool as well as a small exercise facility (which I did not use).

I would recommend this hotel for either a tourist on a budget (I think my rate was around $90/night) or for a business traveler. I will return.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 1connection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

Great hotel for the business traveler. Easy to work in the rooms, good location, great staff. Breakfast in the morning outside on the patio was divine

Stayed: January 2008
Thank nrwtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2007

That's a great hotel...the large rooms and bathroom, clean towels and good quality bed.
The pool is large and there is a good space to get a tan.
Breakfest is very good too.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guilherme J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campinas hotels
City Center
Mercure Campinas
Mercure Campinas
#5 of 39 in Campinas
1,138 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm Tower
Royal Palm Tower
#12 of 39 in Campinas
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Ibis Campinas
Ibis Campinas
#9 of 39 in Campinas
1,748 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm Residence
Royal Palm Residence
#22 of 39 in Campinas
100 reviews
Hotel Malibu Inn
#11 of 39 in Campinas
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Campinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Campinas

Address: Rua Severo Penteado 140 | Cambui, Campinas, State of Sao Paulo 13025-050, Brazil (Formerly Tryp Campinas)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Campinas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Campinas
#2 Business Hotel in Campinas
Price Range: $91 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Campinas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Campinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Campinas Hotel Campinas
Sol Melia Campinas
Melia Campinas Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing