We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Campinas”
Review of Melia Campinas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Campinas
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Campinas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tuxedo Park, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Location in Campinas”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you need a place to stay in Campinas, we found this hotel to be an excellent choice.
We were able to use our AMEX points and got a great room on the 7th floor with all the amenities.
Room was clean and quiet with good linens, "pillow menu" to choose out of 6, which we did. The air conditioner was a little loud but I was prepared with ear plugs!!!
The shower water pressure was great and I was surprised to see that the room had a very good hair dryer too.
Breakfast was very busy earlier in the morning but by mid morning most people were already gone and we had the place to ourselves.
The pool was always clean and they serve lunch outside by the pool too. We stayed for 8 nights and never saw it crowded.
Check in and out was fast and courteous with valet parking working 24 hours.
The location is great. In the middle of the best neighborhood there is within walking distance to stores, cafes and restaurants but at the same time a quiet location.
Ask the front desk for the restaurants that will pick-you up and drop you off. There is several of them. We liked the most the Catedral do Chopp (meet and tap beer).
We will come back for sure.

Room Tip: higher floor to minimize the street noise and get the better views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keila Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRYPCampinas, Gerente geral at Melia Campinas, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Mrs. KeilaTuxedoPark

Thank you so much for choosing the TRYP Campinas as your choice in Campinas. We would like to thank you for the kind comments concerning your last stay with us. We are glad that our Premium Room facilities were perfect for your needs, as our location and leisure area. We will be looking forward to welcome you back many other times in the future!

Best Regards, Jacques Bezençon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    525
    130
    36
    14
See reviews for
177
127
41
747
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here two nights on business recently. The hotel is well located in a relatively quiet areas that has a few bars and restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are large, very clean and comfortable. There was a large breakfast buffet with a good variety although not all of it looked very appetising. Overall an very good hotel for business stay in Campinas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyW1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRYPCampinas, Gerente geral at Melia Campinas, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Mr. TonyW1961,

Thank you for choosing TRYP Campinas. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope to welcome you again at TRYP Campinas! We will be looking forward to welcome you back at TRYP Campinas! Best Regards , Jacques Bezençon – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spend four nights in the Tryp Hotel, in Cambui, Campinas in early January 2013. This was a great location and close to restaurants. The Entrance and Lobby area was very impressive. However the bedrooms were very average for a 4* star hotel and the bathrooms were small. The internet connection was very poor and very slow (but it was better than no connection at all). The staff were friendly and could speak some English. We had breakfast one of the mornings and unfortunately it was very average and most the equipment in the dining room is also old and worn. However on check out the hotel receptionist tried to charge us for breakfast on two mornings. They did rectify this mistake, but it was done in such a manner that that they were just doing it to shut me up. (Of course this could be a langauge barrier, that I felt different than the way they meant it) but I did not like this attitude This is a hotel that could do with a big face lift. Once again the location is Excellent and the neighbourhood is very safe. Overall our experinece was enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Group T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRYPCampinas, Gerente geral at Melia Campinas, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Group T,
Thank you for choosing TRYP Campinas for your stay in Campinas. We are glad to receive your comments about our location. We would like to kindly ask you to accept our sincerely apologies to not correspond your expectation with our staff receptivity. Your impressions are greatly appreciated and help us to improve the quality of our services. We have immediately taken all the necessary measures in compliance to the responsible area in order to improve this aspect for your next stay. It will be a pleasure for us to have a new opportunity to welcome you back at TRYP Campinas. Best Regards, Jacques Bezençon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
195 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My first stay in Campinas and I am pleased to have stayed in Tryp. Very clean and well managed. Personnel are multi-lingual which helps those of us who are not fluent in Portuguese. I was a little disappointed in the quality of the work out equipment; four treadmills and an elyptical, but the pool is great for lengths. Breakfasts are buffet style which allows you to get in and out quickly. Well positioned in the city too. Colleagues mentioned their air conditioners did not get cool enough but I did not agree with that criticism. I was comfortable with the temperature.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNutFromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRYPCampinas, Gerente geral at Melia Campinas, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Mr. TravelNutFromPA,

Thank you for choosing Hotel TRYP Campinas for your first stay in Campinas. It is a pleasure to receive your comments specially about our housekeeping and breakfast services. We would like to apologize for not having fully met your expectations with our Fitness Center and we will be working to improve our equipment. We will be looking forward to welcome you back at TRYP Campinas! Best Regards, Jacques Bezençon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very comfortable room, polite and helpful staff, excellent breakfast with many options to chose from, nice swimming pool, small but well equipped gym, great location close to restaurants and shops, what else would you ask from your hotel in Campinas? My teenage daughters loved staying here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecrescia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas011, Gerente geral at Melia Campinas, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Mrs. Ecrescia, thank you for choosing TRYP Campinas. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and thank you for sharing your daughters´experience with us. We hope to welcome you and your family again at TRYP Campinas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Overall the hotel is good, it's hard to get to by car if you have never driven in Brazil. There are a lots of good restaurants and local pizzerias and bars near buy, Starbucks is 2 blocks away (opens at 7AM not earlier).
I have tried breakfast and room service and the food is good. The restaurant downstairs is noting over the top yet decent food with good service and a good option if you had a long day at the office. The staff speaks decent English and the communication was never a problem, I have asked about local shops and they are well aware of the local knowledge.
The taxi service is very decent during weekdays and it looks like a lot of local and international business folks choose this hotel because of the neighborhood. I feel the rooms are smaller than a normal hotel in US and they have a light colored carpet and the carpet appears very used and dirty, Bathroom and the shower is good.
I have noticed a long line for checkouts on Thursdays and Fridays.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street as the apartments are looking right into your room. Stay away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravifour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas011, Gerente geral at Melia Campinas, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Ravifour
Thank you so much for choosing the TRYP Campinas as your choice in Campinas. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our service, the staff, the restaurant and the surrounding area of the hotel.
We hope, soon, have a pleasure to welcome you again at TRYP Campinas! We take this opportunity to thank you for your comments, which help us to improve the quality of our services. Yours sincerely, Jacques Bezençon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have stayed at this Tryp many times over the past few years. I always find it a pleasant place for business travel in Campinas. As many other reviewers have indicated, it is in a great location since it is within walking distance of a number of restaurants, and a Starbucks is only a couple blocks away.

Additionally - the hotel is not on a main traffic artery, which makes the nights much quieter and restful. I have stayed at another hotel in Campinas where this was not the case and the traffic noise kept me awake most of the night.

The only reason I give this a 3 rating instead of 4 is due to their exercise facility. It is sorely out of date and some of the equipment is non-functional. As a road warrior trying to keep in shape, this is an important feature to me, but may not be as important to others.

Given the choices in Campinas, this is where I recommend you stay if you are traveling on business in or around Campinas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas011, Gerente geral at Melia Campinas, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Mr Jupperman,
Thank you for choosing TRYP Campinas as your stay in Campinas. We are very glad to receive your high evaluation about our services and location: Cambui neighborhood offers the best restaurants and bars of the city.
We would like to apologize for not having fully met your expectations with the Fitness Center. We will be looking forward to welcome you back many other times in the future! Best Regards, Jacques Bezençon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campinas hotels
City Center
Mercure Campinas
Mercure Campinas
#6 of 40 in Campinas
1,118 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm Tower
Royal Palm Tower
#11 of 40 in Campinas
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Malibu Inn
#12 of 40 in Campinas
138 reviews
City Center
Ibis Campinas
Ibis Campinas
#8 of 40 in Campinas
1,721 reviews
Comfort Suites Campinas
#4 of 40 in Campinas
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Campinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Campinas

Property: Melia Campinas
Address: Rua Severo Penteado 140 | Cambui, Campinas, State of Sao Paulo 13025-050, Brazil (Formerly Tryp Campinas)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Campinas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Campinas
#2 Green Hotel in Campinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Campinas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Campinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Campinas Hotel Campinas
Sol Melia Campinas
Melia Campinas Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing