We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four months later....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Campinas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melia Campinas
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Campinas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Four months later....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Here I am, back to Tryp Campinas, four months later. The last time I was here I used an internet stick. This time I had to rely on the hotel's internet and realized how bad it is. Okay, internet is free, but keep in mind hotels here in Brazil are ridiculously expensive. It's really difficult to find in Brazil the ideal combination of good hotel + good internet access.

If you need to have access to a fast and reliable internet you better bring your own internet stick or chose another hotel. Last week I've finally found an average hotel with an excellent internet service here in Campinas.

Because I'm always on business trips internet for me is important as important as a good shower and a clean bed. I'm downgrading Tryp Campinas this time from "Very Good" to "Average" due to the slow internet.

I really hope they will fix this problem. The hotel is good, the location is excellent, the staff is professional and polite.

Room Tip: Same problem once again with rooms facing the elementary school (noise from the back yard starting e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotels_and_flights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    511
    126
    35
    12
See reviews for
168
114
41
715
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

staff was rude.. I asked for another room because the bed was too small and I have problems on my arm. Mauro (staff) told me that it was not his problem.
I booked a room for just one and they gave me a room with 2 small beds.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerz-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for five nights. I was traveling on business and wasn't expecting as nice a location as this hotel is situated in. The room was very clean. The lobby was very clean and roomy and easy to maneuver around in. The restaurant was nice but it is a typical hotel restaurant. Food was good and the menu was also in English. The pool was nice and the exercise equipment they had was very good. The location is close to many local restaurants within easy walking distance. There is also a Starbucks two blocks away. The most outstanding thing I liked about this hotel was the staff. Larissa and Mauro were extremely helpful and wanted to help in anyway possible to make sure the stay was enjoyable. I plan on staying at this hotel again during my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

This hotel has the best rooms, restaurant, and location of any in Campinas, however, the internet is HORRIBLE!!!! I've never been more unsatisfied with a hotel's internet in 20 years of international travel. IT's supposed to be the #1 or #2 best hotels in Campinas, and they advertize high speed internet... That is a lie. We travel on business, and need true, high speed internet and I doubt I'll stay here again because of it. It's too bad, it's a nice hotel - a little pricey, but good all around. Also, the mini bar chick was stealing the hotel maid's tips.. after I complained, she won't refill the mini bar...

If it weren't for the HORRIBLE internet, I'd give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Good hotel located in a convenient and safe area. Several options of restaurants, bars, coffee shop (Starbucks) and bakeries just a few blocks away. Breakfast is good so is the room service. Reception staff is kind and efficient. Pricewise it's slightly cheaper than Mercure and much cheaper than Royal Palm Tower. Brazil is becoming an expensive country to visit.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the back yard if you need to stay working in your room. There's a high school...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotels_and_flights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Very good hotel. Big and comfortable beds, clean rooms, very quiet at night. Close to stores and restaurants. Great breakfast. However, I needed them to post a postcard for me (something ive never had a problem with anywhere else in the world) and they were not helpful at all, the person checked many things in the computer and after 10 long minutes said she couldnt do it and acted as if it was something so difficult to be done, I had to come back the following day and ask someone else, which I found annoying. But i would stay again, good experience overall.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alessandra06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São José dos Campos, Brasil
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed on this hotel for 3 weeks on a business trip.
The room is good, the breaksfast is very good.

But the best thing about this hotel it is location.

It's on the Cambui region of Campinas. This is the busiest night life neighborhood on Campinas.
With a short walk from a lot of restaurants, bars.
You'll find something to do every night and very close from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaioPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campinas hotels
City Center
Mercure Campinas
Mercure Campinas
#6 of 40 in Campinas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm Tower
Royal Palm Tower
#10 of 40 in Campinas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Ibis Campinas
Ibis Campinas
#7 of 40 in Campinas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Comfort Suites Campinas
#5 of 40 in Campinas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Hotel Malibu Inn
#13 of 40 in Campinas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Campinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Campinas

Property: Melia Campinas
Address: Rua Severo Penteado 140 | Cambui, Campinas, State of Sao Paulo 13025-050, Brazil (Formerly Tryp Campinas)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Campinas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Campinas
#2 Green Hotel in Campinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Campinas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Melia Campinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Campinas Hotel Campinas
Sol Melia Campinas
Melia Campinas Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing