We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Matiz Barao Geraldo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Matiz Barao Geraldo
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Campinas
Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights due to a meeting at Embrapa-UniCamp. It is located walking distance to several good restaurants, a large grocery store. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice, clean and comfortable with all the basic amenities, free internet. My room was on the first floor facing the street and it was a bit noisy at night. However, other colleagues that had rooms on the other side of the hotel said it was quiet there. Breakfast buffet was good, they had a variety of things. I'll probably stay there next time I visit Campinas.

Room Tip: First floor rooms facing the street can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rovaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    102
    43
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
12
9
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

A good basic transit hotel. Has all the basics, but nothing flashy. Was there for 2 nights for business. Was comfortable, but chose to eat out nearby as the restaurant did not have a large selection. Rooms were clean, staff helpful and budget price made it useful for my needs.

Room Tip: Rooms are all similar. Ask for ground floor if you have heavy bags - no lift/elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao_Paulo_Brazil
Level Contributor
277 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

trong Point: Comfortable hotel that offers good dinner. Clean and good internet link. It is on the same street of the small town bars agitated, beer houses and small mall. You can go walking. Near-UNICAMP University. If transit is good at Bandeirantes Highway you arrive at the refinery REPLAN in 30 min.
Weakness: I found it very expensive for the daily patterns of the region since the demand is great and I think that is the best in town for those who are passing the cost to business is high. I thought the service at check in slow (20 min).
It has on-site parking and behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms behind, who are on the side of the street parking, are quieter. The hotel has only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fernando_Vasques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boalsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here one night when visiting UNICAMP. It was a nice hotel, efficient check-in, friendly staff, clean rooms. The breakfast had a good selection of items. Overall, we felt that the hotel was a bit pricey, but it was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Internet is not reliable. Its slow and drops frequently. Only Wi-Fi available and very weak signal on the second floor. The situation get even worst from 6PM on. If you need to work on internet or Skype forget it - or wait until 11PM when signal gets better.

March is still warm. Air-conditioning system is dated, noisy and smells smoke from cigarettes, even if your room is a non-smoking one. If you leave the window open you will get the company of mosquitos during the night.

Pretty far from downtown, but close to a main highway. Just a few options of restaurants and fast-food around. Not so sure about how safe this location is actually. Pretty dark road, lots of woods besides the hotel, security guards at the front door.

Might be a good option if you really need to stay close to the university (Unicamp).

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel if you are coming to Campinas on a business trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank hotels_and_flights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Campinas hotels

Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

For whom intend to stay near UNICAMP, the place is perfect. Other people may feel a little bit far from downtown. Near main roads, restaurants. Perfectly convenient. Breakfast included (as most of brazilian hotels), nice staff, modern and clean. What else do you want for a business trip?

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edson_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seulo, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Good...But Ridiculously Expensive! Contributor, 5/31/11
I´d been for 4 nights in this hotel. The apperance and the room are good, as well the people from the service. But I´d leave as fast as I can becouse of the price R$180 by day! This is more than U$112 by day, trully expensive for 3 stars hotel. Fortunately I wasn´t who had to pay for the stay, was my company. Another annoying feature was the price of the International calls. I´d made 2 calls inside Sur America for no more that 10 minutes in all but they charged me more than R$90 = U$57 which is more than U$5 by minute. This is of couse MORE THAN THE DOUBLE THAN AN AVERAGE PHONE COMPANY WILL CHARGED YOU. But the MOST Shameful and what really pisses me off was charged me for making 2 phone calls from my room the dowstairs reception! R$5,4=U$3.4 even if it was U$0.1 I will reject this kind of behaviour. The final cherry of this running-pie was the breakfast which following my counter attack thinking I refuse to take. They say It´s the NEW AMERICAN WAY...so...the Braekfast IS NOT INCLUDED! and you have to expend R$14=U$8,75 more if you a coisant + coffe. So...even been 12000 miles away...you´ll pay more than in USA and with no breakfast, at least you wanna wast more in this place. Definitely 4 me...a never return place!!

Room Tip: Try to find a more cheaper place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCGmarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campinas hotels
Vitoria Express Dom Pedro
#9 of 40 in Campinas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Comfort Suites Campinas
#5 of 40 in Campinas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
City Center
Ibis Campinas
Ibis Campinas
#7 of 40 in Campinas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Campinas
#2 of 40 in Campinas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Hotel Malibu Inn
#13 of 40 in Campinas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matiz Barao Geraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matiz Barao Geraldo

Property: Hotel Matiz Barao Geraldo
Address: Avenida Albino Jose Barbosa de Oliveira 1700 | Barao Geraldo, Campinas, State of Sao Paulo 13084-551, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Campinas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Campinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matiz Barao Geraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Matiz Barao Geraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Matiz Barao Geraldo Campinas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing