We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very inviting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monreale Hotel Classic
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Campinas
Nova Lima, MG
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not very inviting”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The check-in desk was not very organised, it took me quite a bit queueing for service. The room was of very good size but really needs updating. The bathroom had an annoyingly flickering light. At some point I noticed that I could pretty much hear people talking next door and even listen to what they were watching on TV; the reason was that there was a whole in the wall for passing the cables (rather shabby job). Breakfast wasn't great but acceptable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trouveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    157
    136
    31
    10
See reviews for
82
23
9
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during a business trip.
I checked in early in the morning after an overnight flight, and the early check-in was no problem. Staff at the reception was friendly, but spoke very little English though.

The room size was ok, but the furniture (except for the floor) looked quite old and would need refurbishing urgently. Same goes for the bathroom. Water pressure and temperature was not really convenient. No hair dryer was available in the bathroom. Sleeping quality of the bed was good.

Wifi is working well and with good speed. The TV is small and offers mainly Portugese channels (only English channel is CNN).

A/C can be turned off in the room and window can be opened (although window is very small), but unfortunatley there is no balcony and rooms are not offering a very nice view (either towards the street or a dodgy backyard).

Pool area is very small (only one deckchair and 4 or 5 normal chairs) and facing the street. Pool seemed well maintained, but the water didn't look very clean (bird feathers and kleenex in the water).

Breakfast was ok, service seemed nice, but was not speaking any English either. Only tried the restaurant once for a snack, but the quality of food was not really good.

Overall the hotel seems to offer good value for money - if you only stay there for sleeping. Otherwise the location close to a main road and with no bars or restaurants around doesn't offer a lot of opportunities for the free time.
If you stay there you should definitely have a car, as it's also not recommended to walk there at night alone in the street in this area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Rooms have a good size, but you can hear everything that happens in the rooms nearby and on the corridor so it will be noisy and you might not be able to sleep soundly. Furniture in the lobby and the rooms are old. Bathroom was really disappointing not only because of the mold in the bathtub but also because of the poor water pressure (it was like taking a shower with a water bottle that's how lousy and poor the flow from the shower was).
You will need a car since there are no nearby restaurants or bars within a walking distance.
Free wifi with good speed.
Breakfast buffet is average.
Hotel staff is nice though.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellabella907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Campinas hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a Hotel that needs urgent TLC. The bathrooms and furniture in the bedrooms are clearly from the 1980s and have not been renovated since. The rooms are super noisy, you can hear your neighbor's TV, the elevator, the coming and going of the staff and other guests; so basically I did not sleep well the couple of nights I slept here. There were a couple of things that really annoyed me: my room had a mini bar with mold in it, the bathtub was peeling or loosing its paint and also had mold, and the shower had no water preassure it took me forever to rinse my shampoo since the water flow is honestly minimal. All that being said, the staff is nice and the price here is lower than the Mercure which is a block away (I will definitely stay there rather than here if I ever come back to Campinas). My last comment is that you will need a car or get a cab to have dinner or drinks nearby, as it is not within walking distance of any nice restaurants or bars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabelavv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great hotel, it's not that expensive considering the other hotels on the area. Monreale gives you the comfort you need without overpricing everything. The restaurant serves a great breakfast, I was particularly happy when I couldn't find my favorite tea and a butler just went inside their kitchen to find a mint sachet for me (the little details make the difference). Definitively worth staying in this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renatita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goiania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed on Monreale just for one night for a conference in Unicamp. It was very interesting the bus station centre it's located a 4 blocks and you can take a bus to AirPort and to University for only $ 2,00. There is one shopping center very close (Iguatemi) with a X-3D movie by cinemark. Staffs were friendly. Definitely, I'll stay back on my next trip.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takaoka13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campinas hotels
Hotel Malibu Inn
#11 of 40 in Campinas
139 reviews
Hotel Dan Inn Cambui
#13 of 40 in Campinas
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vila Rica Campinas
#19 of 40 in Campinas
215 reviews
City Center
Mercure Campinas
Mercure Campinas
#5 of 40 in Campinas
1,123 reviews
SonoHotel
#28 of 40 in Campinas
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monreale Hotel Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monreale Hotel Classic

Property: Monreale Hotel Classic
Address: Avenida Aquidaban 280, Campinas, State of Sao Paulo 13026-510, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Campinas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Campinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monreale Hotel Classic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Monreale Hotel Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monreale Hotel Classic Campinas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing