We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Old but well located and good service..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Joinville Business Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bourbon Joinville Business Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Joinville
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
223 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Old but well located and good service..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Integrated in a shopping mall, also just next to Gourmet street.
Hotel is quite old but renovated and offering a very good service.
Breakfast also of high quality.
Free internet and good selection of amenities..

Room Tip: ... They may be all ok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    272
    62
    18
    11
See reviews for
122
85
24
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times... the first couple times I had a room that smelled horribly of mold, but the trips were short, so I "put up with it" as my group wanted to stay there. The last time I stayed I requested a superior room on a high floor and had no issues with mold smell. The room was quite small for a superior, but ok to not have the smell. The air conditioning united blew air directly on you if sitting at the desk and it was very annoying to turn it off and on so you didn't have constant air.

The Wi-fi was excellent, Face time worked well, room was very clean, front desk staff - almost all of them - spoke excellent English, and the breakfast was quite good. I tried a different hotel while in town this last time and despite the rooms larger and nicer for an extended stay, help at the front desk and internet service will not bring me back to that hotel, but rather the Bourbon.

There are many excellent restaurants almost next door that you can easily walk to.

Room Tip: High floor (12th is as high as it goes), Superior room (they are updated and renovated - no mold sme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was my first real trip to Brazil and I was not sure what to expect. The staff at the Bourbon were extremely friendly and I had a lovely room - nice and clean too. The hotel appears to be well located with a shopping arcade attached and several bars within easy walking distance.

The food was a bit average but there is plenty of choice outside the hotel

Room Tip: Be polite to the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vonireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have been here just over a week and it is a lovely clean modern hotel with a few English speaking staff on the front desk and in the restaurant. There is plenty of food for breakfast (open until 10am) and only the hot food varies slightly from day to day. There is a fridge in the room (12th floor king size) bed which is very comfortable and there is also a safe. There are no drawers to put clothes away in and only 8 hangers in the wardrobe so you will be living out of your suitcase or displaying your clothes for all to see in the open bedside shelves. The air con is quiet and works well and has lot's of options. There is free wifi but it keeps connecting and disconnecting from my phone. You can hard wire your computer if you have a lead, it is not supplied. Usually one computer is fine on the wifi until it gets busy.....
There is a hairdryer and a 220v socket in the bathroom but no 110v socket and no coffee maker in the room. There is a walk in shower which we prefer to a shower over a bath and a curtain.
TV is satellite with lots of channels but there is only one English channel which is CNN. There is crisps, biscuits, chocolate in a basket and drinks in the fridge and prices in the booklet.
There is an excellent big shopping centre accessible from the hotel with a food hall in the middle and plenty of choice which is open until 10pm except Sun to 8pm.
On the upper floor there is a room full of atm's opposite the Burger restaurant.
The 'Local' supermarket is left out of the hotel front entrance and about a 20 min walk straight down the road or a 5 min car ride. It is a $10R taxi ride back and usually there is a taxi waiting.
There are lots of good restaurants all with big bars within walking distance. You maybe woken up at 4am with everyone leaving the bars on a Friday or Saturday night as the locals seem to carry on partying until dawn. All in I would recommend staying here and you won't need a car.

Room Tip: Make sure all electrical items can handle 220v and if you want tea or coffee in your room bring a 22...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapperswil
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I should preface this review with a disclaimer: I am told by locals it is the best place in Joinville. If that is true, someone should open a decent hotel in this city.
- the knucklehead at the reception desk, when I checked in spoke, no English, no French, no German - only Portuguese.
- the sheets were filthy, and I had to collect new one from the reception myself as no room attendants were on duty
- the hallway on the fifth floor stank of mildew

Next time I'll try the Mercure... Or sleep in my car.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at the Bourbon in September 2012 on business. It is in a nice safe location near a shopping center. The rooms are small but quite clean and good for my needs. WiFi was so/so. The restaurant was good for breakfast with a huge buffet. There are many places to eat in the neighborhood. The staff was very good natured about my poor attempts at speaking Portuguese.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthBendMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Brazil
Level Contributor
347 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Located in the city's heart, the hotel is a nice option either for leisure or business. No more than two blocks away from bars and restaurants and a shopping mall. Courteous, prompt service. Rooms are comfortable - air conditioner, free wi-fi, hair dryer, and mini bar - yet not veeeery spacious. Bathroom is impeccably clean and the shower is divine - will put you up and running in seconds, in the morning, or will reboot you after a hard day. Clean, soft towels and passion-fruit scented toiletry items and a very creamy soap bar complement the comfort. Breakfast is a show apart. Three large buffets offer a wide selection of fresh fruits, cold cuts, bakery items, jellies, butter, yogurt and more, much more. A fourth smaller buffet offer a nice selection of light items and gluten-free products.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Joinville hotels
Comfort Hotel Joinville
#3 of 24 in Joinville
4.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
City Center
Mercure Prinz Joinville
Mercure Prinz Joinville
#6 of 24 in Joinville
4.0 of 5 stars 391 reviews
City Center
Ibis Joinville
Ibis Joinville
#9 of 24 in Joinville
4.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Blue Tree Towers Joinville
Blue Tree Towers Joinville
#7 of 24 in Joinville
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
City Center
ibis Styles Joinville
ibis Styles Joinville
#4 of 24 in Joinville
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Hotel Tannenhof
#8 of 24 in Joinville
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Joinville Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Joinville Business Hotel

Property: Bourbon Joinville Business Hotel
Address: Rua Visconde de Taunay 275, Joinville, State of Santa Catarina 89201-420, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Joinville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Joinville
#5 Family Hotel in Joinville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bourbon Joinville Business Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bourbon Joinville is a reference in modernity and sophistication in one of the most charming destinations of the State of Santa Catarina. Joinville, or the “city of flowers,” hosts a famous Dance Festival. The hotel has exclusive access to Mueller Shopping mall, being located at only 15 minutes from the airport; 2 km from the Cau Hansen convention center; and 4 km from Mega Centro Expoville. It also provides easy access to Joinville’s tourism spots and important business and cultural centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Bourbon Joinville Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourbon Joinville Business Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing