We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful but dangerous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Itapema
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful but dangerous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had a wonderful experience (for the most part) staying at the Plaza Itapema Resort and Spa recently, but unfortunately I almost died because the unsupervised beach adjacent to the hotel has no signs warning swimmers about the strong undercurrent just offshore. The water doesn't look dangerous, but once I was in up to my waste, I felt as if a giant hand had grabbed me and started pulling me out to sea and underwater. It's clearly posted that there is no lifeguard on duty, but nothing about the deathly riptide merely 15 feet from shore; I had a friend on shore who heard me screaming for help and he managed to attract the attention of two beefy hotel guests who managed--after what seemed a lifetime--to pull me out of the ocean. After regurgitating a couple gallons of seawater (OK, maybe a quart), I lived to enjoy the rest of my stay, avoiding the beach like the plague.

When I told the hotel management about this, they hardly acknowledged my experience. To tell you the truth, I'm not even sure they understood what I was saying because NONE of the staff spoke English and we couldn't find an English/Portuguese bilingual to tell them that they should post "DANGEROUS RIPTIDE" signs on their beach. The staff largely understood and spoke German, ahem, but English consistently got nothing but the proverbial I-don't-understand-you shrug.

Except for the near-death experience, the food and facilities were wonderful and, ironically, the thalassotherapy (salt-water based hydrotherapy in a modern spa setting) was my favorite part of my stay in Itapema!

Room Tip: Don't stay in any of the rooms on the second floor of the main check-in desk building. Thhey ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bozzart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    212
    67
    23
    10
See reviews for
298
77
5
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is very good. It has internet, tv, pool, sauna. The beach is in front of the hotel. The bedrooms are very good. There’s jacuzzi in the hotel. There is one inside the bathroom but smaller. The hotel is clean, and the food is very delicious. I recommend it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Santiago, Chile
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We had an excellent week with my wife and two of our childrens. We decided to leave in Chile with our parents our baby (one year and six months), because we were not sure about the installations and the kind of food. Notwithstanding, in the resort we verified that's ideal for families with babies. Very laudable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis Felipe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I stayed at Plaza Itapema Resort last week with my family and I can assure the resort is very good for travellers who look for close contact with nature and also look for some sightseeing nearby. The resort is beautiful and has a private beach to the guests. The landscape is gorgeous cause the beach occupies an comprehensive territory. The resort has also a marine where guests can hire launches,jet-skis etc...the staff is very friendly ans always willing to help. If you want to go for a drive you can visit the city of itapema (2km of distance), Camboriu (5km) and Blumenau, a typical german city, very picturesque just 30km from the resort. However, the hotel has just 1 restaurant that serves international food and the swimming pool could be bigger like most resorts. But those are not things that put down the hotel. All bedrooms are big and clean and there are some with 2 bathrooms and a living room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilda28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Itapema
2.3 mi away
Solis Praia Hotel
Solis Praia Hotel
#2 of 6 in Itapema
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
4.6 mi away
Reserva Praia Hotel
Reserva Praia Hotel
#12 of 55 in Balneario Camboriu
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
16.2 mi away
Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Resort
Ponta dos Ganchos Exclusive Reso...
#1 of 3 in Governador Celso Ramos
5.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Parador Estaleiro Hotel
Parador Estaleiro Hotel
#25 of 55 in Balneario Camboriu
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
21.2 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Ilha
6.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Camboriu
Hotel Mercure Camboriu
#6 of 55 in Balneario Camboriu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel

Property: Hard Rock Hotel
Address: Marginal Br 101 Km 144 144, Itapema, State of Santa Catarina 88220-000, Brazil (Formerly Plaza Itapema Resort & Spa)
Location: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Itapema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Itapema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Itapema Resort And Spa
Plaza Itapema Hotel Itapema
Hard Rock Hotel Itapema, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing