We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tucano House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tucano House
Ranked #29 of 252 Florianopolis B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Stayed here for a week in May. Can't say enough good things about it. No complaints at all. The staff are brilliant. So helpful and friendly. Always willing to oblige. The hostel itself is lovely. Clean and amazing food served each night for the guests. A chef actually comes in and for approximately 12 reals, you get a full meal. You also settle your bill for everything at the end. If you want a drink, you simply serve yourself and pay afterwards. Not many other places trust you to do that, but that's just the atmosphere that's created here and that's the type of people that seem to stay. I would recommend it to anyone. There is no other option in Florianopolis ( a really cool place) and I would say pay a visit just to stay in Tucano House. No comparison between it and other more expensive places in Rio and beyond.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobpott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    22
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
11
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Tucano House and Florianopolis is a great place. We spent a week there and could easily have stayed longer.

The hostel is nicely done up, it has a really homely feel about it, like you are a guest in someones home. its on a smaller scale that the website photos imply, the pool is tiny! But the outdoor area is very pleasant and there are nice hammocks to chill out in on the first floor balcony, a tv room and a kitchen where you can cook your own food.

E very night they lay on different sorts of food such as Italian one night, Mexican the next. We joined in on the bbq night which was amazing, all you can eat for R16.

Because its a small hostel in a residential area they are strict about noise after 11pm which i think is a good thing. Ive stayed at so many hostels where there is noise until 3 in the morning. They are also strict about alcohol being bought in from outside. Its not allowed and you have to buy alcohol from their bar. When we were there one guy got a warning for drinking his own booze and ignored so they went into his room and confiscated it. Not sure i agree with them going through his stuff to be honest. Despite this the staff are very friendly indeed, really nice people.

One thing that did irritate me were the amount of signs everywhere with 'do's and donts' they are everywhere! But i guess there is a lot of idiots out there so things have to be spelt out. The only other thing was we got moved around a lot but thats because we didnt book far ahead enough, make sure you book all of your nights at once or you'll end up in a dorm like us!

ooh one other good thing, on your 5th night you get a free night or a free evening meal! Plus the day trips they put on are great, they have a really cool Tucano VW van, would defo reccomend the trip to Campeche island.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephbyrdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

There is nothing bad to be said about this place..it is beaustifl and well laid out, spotlessly clean. Friendly adn helpful staff. Great atmosphere, well organized excursions. Good location. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

The best hostel on Floripa, the people are increible, and the beach is excellent for surf

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nachoskowron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

Great Hostel, close to the LAgoa Center, full of great people, runned by great staff. Wfacilities and acomodations hardly found in other hostels. Totally recomend it! you won't regret!

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dafnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

OK, so if you are 19, want to party every night, dont mind staying in 12 bed dorms with no air conditioning, a dirty pool with people snogging all over the place, then this is the hostel for you. I am 29 and found the whole thing pretty grim even though I´ve been backpacking throughout South America and stayed in loads of hostels. Maybe, just maybe if you get a double room in the main house its a different expereince, but if you get a bed in a dorm of the new bit then set yourself up for a breath holding experience. A few positives, the dog was really nice, the beds are clean, the people that run it are OK (very young but quite helpful) and they do try and stop the alcohol intake after mid night and during the day. The breakfast was very average. Florianopolis is a bit of a weird place. Think a poor mans Ibiza where everything is really spaced out, expensive and you need a car. Expect loads of traffic as well as there is only one road around the island. Praie Mole beach is a highlight and is about 10 mins from the hostel.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank whisper26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

This hostel was voted 2nd best in South American, but it is definately the best hostel I've stayed in during my 12 month trip of the Americas.
The price includes an awesome breakfast every mourning, if you eat well in the morning you could definately make it through to dinner :D They have a chef come in every night to make awesome dinners - this cost extra but are totally worth it.
It's a bit of a hike to the beach, but the buses are really frequent during the week so it's really not a big deal. The hostel is also really close to one of the best clubs in Floripa and the hostel always gets guests on the door :D
The staff are super friendly and really helpful. The hostel is run by a brother and sister in the childhood family home, which makes the hostel feel like a family.
My boyfriend and I had such a good time at Tucano, meeting heaps of different people and always being part of the family.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blade100121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
0.1 mi away
Geckos Hostel
Geckos Hostel
#7 of 486 in Florianopolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
3.0 mi away
No photo provided
Barra Surf
#51 of 252 in Florianopolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada do Museu
Pousada do Museu
#32 of 252 in Florianopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Pousada Schmitz
Pousada Schmitz
#56 of 252 in Florianopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
7.0 mi away
Green Mountain Pousada
Green Mountain Pousada
#80 of 252 in Florianopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pousada Yrape
Pousada Yrape
#194 of 252 in Florianopolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tucano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucano House

Property: Tucano House
Address: Rua das Araras 229 | Lagoa da Conceicao, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88062-075, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis > Lagoa da Conceicao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 252 B&Bs / Inns in Florianopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tucano House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucano House is much more than just a bed for the night, we are owned and run by a team of friendly, young local & International staff who will make you feel completely relaxed and part of the Tucano House family. Whether you decide to chill out on the breathtaking beaches or party hard in Floripa's famous nightlife you will enjoy the warmth of our hospitality & lust for the brazilian lifestyle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Tucano House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucano House Florianopolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing