We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved to come back!”
Review of Pousada do Atoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada do Atoba
Ranked #22 of 253 Florianopolis B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
198 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“We loved to come back!”
Reviewed March 14, 2011

It was our second time in Pousada do Atobaba, and it was like coming home! The place is still very well kept and some renovation has been done (Kitchen in the chalet has been enlarged, new matresses and so on) and the guest familiy is nicer than ever. Alica and her sister speak perfect english and other languages too. She helped us again with hitel reservations in Brazil, which we could not do ourselves.

This time we came in march, which means late summer in southern Brazil. The temperature was very convienient, not to hot so we did not need air condition, but still warm enough to swim. We love to come back again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schaefer1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    33
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
58
81
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We have been at Pousada Do Atoba for 11 days and its been great. when i first arrived on the island i staid in a nice pousada in Rio Vermelho, however there was nothing around the Pousada to do. I searched Trip Advisor and found Pousada Do Atoba and once again, Trip Advisor's contributors did not let me down. big thanks to all those who take there time to give there comments.
It is difficult to say anything more then what others have said, but suffice to say the rooms are clean and comfortable, the location is excellent for the beach with a few little resturants and bars within walking distance and only a10 min bus ride into Engleses. actually, we went everywhere by bus (Floripa, Jurere, Lagoa, Vio Vermelho, Praia Mole). but what was outstanding for me was the the staff and breakfast :-). the breakfast had everything we could have wanted and plenty of it. the staff were always friendly and helpful, even if they could not understand my aussie accent, but the owners were awesome. Special HUGE thanks to Aline who helped us out so many times at different hours of the day and night. wihtout her english skills we would have struggled in so many ways.
Definitely a must stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pel579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

There might be places closer to the beach, but the atmosphere and the friendliness of this family busineess beats it all! The staff is so helpful, giving suggestions for restaurants and beaches and helping to organize rental cars, bookings and more.

The porperty is well kept, the breakfast with homemade pastries is delicious and the rooms are spotless clean.

My recommendation for Florianopolis!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolferl1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Very nice and clean hotel. Aline spoke perfect english and couldn't do enough for us. She was more than helpful and even got her Dad to drop us to the bus stop. Her mam makes a gorgeous breakfast too. Nearby beaches are perfect and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niakav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. We've been travelling round south america for 3 months and we've learnt to trust reviews from people we think sound like us. This was a perfect example.

The pousda is small, friendly and spotless. It's located a short walk to the beach and it's up in the north of the island so It's quiet and relaxing. When we wanted to explore the island we hired a car (which Alina also organised for us). We totally mis timed the weather and so it rained on us quite a bit but instead of being stuck in impersonal hotel we were lucky enough to have found this place. They have cable TV ( the films in english saved us!) and Alina, who runs the place, couldnt have been more helpful or kind. One night she even ordered us takeaway and specially opened up the kitchen for us to make coffee.

I use tripadvisor a lot when travelling and I try to write reviews when i think people weve met along the way have been really amazing (or really terrible....) and so I wanted to highlight how great Alina and this little place is. Book it, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zmrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2010

My partner found pousada Atoba here on Tripadvisor and I'm so happy she did, we originally planned to stop for 3 nights but extended it to 6. The apartment was lovely with cable TV and wifi in the room which looks out onto the pool area and it's only 5 mins walk from Santinho beach. It's a quiet area but that was exactly what we wanted, we spent our days eating the delicious breakfast (it's really good), running on the beach, sunbathing by the pool and watching movies on TV in the evening.

Santinho beach is lovely and quiet and from there a 1 hour hike over the hills leads to mozambique beach which is also beautiful and well worth a visit. We stopped here in low season and were able to have an apartment for the same price as the standard room and on our final day we were allowed a late checkout free of charge. The owners were really friendly and helpful, they helped to book our bus tickets to Sao Paulo and told us about the area. Before stopping at Pousada Atoba we had stopped in a hostel on the island which was fun but cost the same as Pousada Atoba and was nowhere near as nice. I really enjoyed my time there and would highly recommend it as a great place to chill out.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimAmphlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We are travelling around South America for 6 months, and 3 months in Pousada do Atoba remains an absolute highlight! Originally planning to stay for just 3 days we ended up lengthening our stay to a week.
Alina, the owners' daughter, is multi-lingual and is constantly going out of her way to help in every way possible. The breakfast is second-to-none in this price range including freshly baked cakes, delicicious jams and plentiful cut fruit.
Location is great with views from many rooms down to the ocean (in the distance). My husband and I were upgraded to a suite for the 2nd half of the week for the same price as double room. This had a small kitchenette and living area and a great hammock on front porch overlooking pool. Also has share kitchen, great for longer stays, and free wifi access from all rooms.
Highly recommended. Be sure to explore some of the other beaches on the island also, by bus (or car). Alina and her parents are more than happy to assist with helping you to organise this.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
City Center
Hotel Porto da Ilha
Hotel Porto da Ilha
#2 of 96 in Florianopolis
1,181 reviews
Pousada Oceanomare
#38 of 96 in Florianopolis
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Favareto
#2 of 8 in Ingleses
166 reviews
Pousada Mares do Santinho
#18 of 96 in Florianopolis
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Atoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Atoba

Property: Pousada do Atoba
Address: Servidao Ipe do Costao 146 | Santinho Beach, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88058-826, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 253 B&Bs / Inns in Florianopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada do Atoba 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil location, cozy and nicely landscaped. Comfortable Ensuite rooms and apartments, equipped with A/C, cable TV, telephone, mini-bar or kitchenette. Delicious Brazilian breakfast and linen included in room dailies. Pousada do Atoba is located in the north island. We are a 5 minutes walk to surfers paradise of Praia do Santinho, English and Spanish spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Pousada do Atoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Atoba Florianopolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing